Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Hall of Fame

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation. Induction into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is granted to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the statewide improvement of library service in Wisconsin.  Inductees into the Hall of Fame are selected by the Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center.  The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame includes both librarians and library supporters.  Nominations of individuals to be included in the Hall of Fame come from the Steering Committee and the library community at large. The first ten individuals were inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008.  The inductions take place at the Annual Conference of the Wisconsin Library Association.

Click on name to see biography

2016 Inductees

Jane K. Billings (1916-2004)



2015 Inductees

Dorothea M. Krause (1909-2003)

Marjorie Sornson Malmberg (1914-2004)

Minnie M. Oakley (1861-1915)

Wayne A. Wiegand (1946- )

William J. Wilson (1948- )

2014 Inductees

Gilbert Harry Doane (1897-1980)

Wilbur Lyle Eberhart (1922-2010)

Peter G. Hamon (1945- )

Nolan I. Neds (1921-2006)

Gertrude Thurow (1906-1993)

2013 Inductees

Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003)

Katharine MacDonald Jones (1866-?)

Bernard Schwab (1920-1990)

Miriam Downing Tompkins (1892-1954)

2012 Inductees

John Miller Chancellor (1896-1980)

Zona Gale (1874-1938)

Richard E. Krug (1905-1983)

Clarence Brown Lester (1877-1951)

Cornelia Marvin Pierce (1873-1957)

Rachel Katherine Schenk (1899-1973)

Gerald A. Somers (1921-2003)

2011 inductees

Norman D. Bassett (1891-1980)

Orrilla Thompson Blackshear (1904-1994)

Daniel Steele Durrie (1819-1892)

Gilson G. Glasier (1873-1972)

Ginny Moore Kruse (1934- )

Walter Mcmynn Smith (1869 – 1938)

Ella T. Veslak (1897-1996)

2010 inductees

Wayne Bassett (1915-1988)

H. Vail Deale (1915-2004)

Leah Gruber (1907-1996)

Julia Wright Merrill (1881-1961)

Calvin Potter (1945- )

2009 Inductees

Charles A. Bunge (1936- )

Matthew Simpson Dudgeon (1871-1949)

Sarah Janice Kee (1908 -1998)

Henry Eduard Legler (1861-1917)

Klas August Linderfelt (1847-1900)

Charles R. McCarthy (1873-1921)

Margaret Ellen Monroe (1914-2004)

2008 Inductees   

Edward Asahel Birge 1851-1950  

Elizabeth Burr, 1908-1996  

Lyman Copeland Draper (1815-1891)

Theresa West Elmendorf (1855-1932)  

Muriel Laura Fuller (1912-1978)  

Mary Emogene Hazeltine (1868-1949)  

Frank Avery Hutchins (1851-1914)  

Lutie Eugenia Stearns (1866-1943)  

James Huff Stout (1848-1910)  

Reuben Gold Thwaites (1853-1913)



Popular Tags

Gertrude Thurow Anniversaries campaign library legislation Campaign membership libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends caly film UW-Madison school of library and information studies Superior Carnegie Libraries traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Historical Society National Library Week James Duane Doty Katharine MacDonald Jones WHCLIS Beaver Dam Public Library American Library Association Evansville Wisconsin Public libraries John Miller Chancellor Exhibits Orrilla Blackshear Eager Free Public Library Klaus Linderfelt 24 Amer Library Systems Public library systems Peter G. Hamon Postcards Cam Hartford Public Library Library People caly film Library Artifacts Wayne A. Wiegand Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Appleton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Public libraries Digital Collections Library History WLA 125 presentations Special libraries Jane K. Billings library memorabilia CCBC Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 Dorothea M. Krause Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Middleton Public Library 20 Centennial Woman's Congress Library celebrations Larry T. Nix Council on Library and Network Development WLA 125 Soughton Public Library 27 Edward Asahel Birge Library people Postcards Wisconsin Library Association Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Ice Storm School of Library and Information Studies Parcel post Pewaukee Public Library Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 Charles Bunge James Huff Stout Pinback buttons library exhibit Clinton Public Library Rusk County Community Library 10 bookworm Academic Libraries Hall Wisconsin Library Bulletin Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2015 T. B. Scott Free Public Library books-by-mail Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Postcards Meter mail slogans Elroy Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Gilbert H. Doane Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin State Law Library Milwaukee Public Library Richard E. Krug Publications Suring Area Public Library Carl Spitzweg 21 Hall of Fame 2008 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 11 WLA 125 Zona Gale Nolan I. Neds 23 Inform Wisconsin Uncategorized Madison Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign buil ca Library Trustees I Love Libraries Jerome P. Daniels UW-Milwaukee Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Buttons Tower Hill Wisconsin Dianne McAfee Hopkins caly film Hall of Fame 2016 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg S. Janice Kee background Hall of Fame 2015 American Library Association Library War Service campaign Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library e hall of campaign library education Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clarence Brown Lester Carnegie libraries state historical society Hall of Fame 2012 Irene W. Newman WAAL campa Brown County Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2013 Events DeForest Area Public Library Marketing-Publicity Postcards Portage Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Capitol Fire 1904 William J. Wilson Ruth Ann Montgomery Milwaukee Art Museum Library Buildings Bookmobiles Brown Deer Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 14 Library people archives World War I Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Eugenia Stearns State Law Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center National Bookmobile Day Historical Register trav Eratus Swift Wilcox Gerald A. Somers Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Oshkosh Public Library J. D. Witter Black River Falls School libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown Deer Public Library Academic Librarians People Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2010 cam Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Cooperative Children's Book Center 22 COLAND WWI Library War Service bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sarah Janice Kee Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2012 Delia Ovitz Events & Meetings Anniversaries Increase A. Lapham 28 Campaign Bernard Schwab Manitowoc Public Library anniversaries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo