Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wayne A. Wiegand (1946- ) 2015 Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 12, 2015 in Hall of Fame

wayne weigandWayne A. Wiegand, a native of Manitowoc, WI, is called the “dean of American library historians.” He is the F. William Summers Professor of Library and Information Studies and Professor of American Studies emeritus at Florida State University. While in Wisconsin Wiegand served as a professor in the School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison from 1987 to 2002. Wiegand is an outstanding teacher who influenced numerous Wisconsin librarians and an innovative researcher who utilizes qualitative and flexible strategies from the broader fields of the social sciences and humanities in his research. At UW-SLIS Wiegand was a co-founder and director of the Center for the History of Print Culture in Modern America (now the Center for the History of Print and Digital Culture), a nationally respected print history research institution.  He is the author of numerous books and scholarly articles about the history of libraries and librarianship, a number of which have included significant aspects of the history of Wisconsin libraries.  His latest book, published in October 2015, is Part of Our Lives: A People’s History of the American Public Library.

Wiegand was born in Manitowoc, WI on April 15, 1946. He received a BA in history at the University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh (1968), an MA in history at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee (1970), and an MLS at Western Michigan University and a Ph.D. in history at Southern Illinois University (1974). He was Librarian at Urbana College in Ohio (1974-1976), and on the faculty of the College of Library Science at the University of Kentucky (1976-1986). After teaching at UW-SLIS (1987-2002), Wiegand moved to Tallahassee, FL in 2003 where he joined the faculty of Florida State University. While at FSU Wiegand organized and for six years served as Director of the Florida Book Awards, now the nation's most comprehensive state book awards program. He retired in 2010 from Florida State University and currently resides with his wife in Walnut Creek, CA.

See: Wayne Wiegand's Library Trading Card.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, March 29, 2017


Popular Tags

UW-Madison school of library and information studies WAAL Wisconsin Historical Society World War I State Law Library People Delia Ovitz Madison Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Ice Storm cam Hall of Fame 2015 library education Academic Librarians Wisconsin Rapids McMillan Memorial Library Elroy Public Library Digital Collections Larry T. Nix Orrilla Blackshear Special libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2012 Clarence Brown Lester Evansville Wisconsin Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Postcards Gerald A. Somers background Bernard Schwab S. Janice Kee Edward Asahel Birge WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Exhibits Brown County Library Frank Avery Hutchins Suring Area Public Library Bookmobiles Lutie Eugenia Stearns Postcards trav Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Public libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Marketing-Publicity traveling libraries 24 Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2015 Capitol Fire 1904 Buttons Hall of Fame 2012 Historical Register bookworm Publications Library People Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries hall of Public library systems Richard E. Krug Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall fo Fame 2012 Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2014 James Huff Stout J. D. Witter Oshkosh Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Brown Deer Public Library Library Buildings Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 James Duane Doty Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Library Heritage Center buil Hall of Fame 2013 WHCLIS Centennial books-by-mail Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Manitowoc Public Library DeForest Area Public Library WLA 125 Beaver Dam Public Library School of Library and Information Studies 27 School libraries WWI Library War Service Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin caly film Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Black River Falls Library Buidlings Academic Libraries Zona Gale library legislation American Library Association Events & Meetings WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Association Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library campaign campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Bookmobile Day library exhibit Ripon Public Library Sarah Janice Kee 20 10 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox library memorabilia Tower Hill Wisconsin caly film presentations Cam Campaign Rusk County Community Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Events & Meetings campa Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Carl Spitzweg Library celebrations Cornelia Marving Pierce Library people Brown Deer Public Library Middleton Public Library campaign state historical society 23 Lutie Stearns Amer anniversaries Hall Gertrude Thurow Gilbert H. Doane 22 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Pewaukee Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission White House Conference on Library and Information Services 14 Pinback buttons Postcards bed and breakfast WLA 125 Public libraries Black River Falls Public Library Soughton Public Library Appleton Public Library Carnegie libraries CCBC Katharine MacDonald Jones Klaus Linderfelt Matthew S. Dudgeon Anniversaries Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2009 28 Library History archives Eager Free Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends COLAND 11 ca Inform Wisconsin Portage Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Parcel post Wisconsin State Law Library Jane K. Billings UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library Systems Beloit Public Library 21 Milwaukee Public Library Events Campaign William J. Wilson caly film Postcards Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library Trustees Meter mail slogans John Miller Chancellor Council on Library and Network Development Increase A. Lapham Woman's Congress I Love Libraries membership libraries National Library Week

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo