Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wayne Wiegand's Library Trading Card

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, November 04, 2010 in Library artifacts

wiegand-card-front-72.jpgDuring the Library History Seminar XII, a national meeting of library historians, which was held in Madison, WI, in September. Wayne Wiegand was surprised after his keynote presentation when he was presented with his own library trading card.  Wiegand is the F. William Summers Professor of Library and Information Studies at Florida State University, and is considered to be the dean of current library historians in the United States.  Wiegand is also a native of Manitowoc, Wisconsin and a former Professor at the UW-Madison School of Library and Information Studies. The trading card which is shown above is supposedly #64 in a set of 100 famous librarian trading cards.  The card is accompanied by a list of the 100 famous librarians as selected by by the Wayne Wiegand Library Trading Card Coordinating Committee (Jim Danky, Karen Krueger, Doug Zweizig, and Larry Nix).  Using a partially tongue-in-cheek baseball metaphor the back of the card begins "Wayne's first sand lot tryouts with a library team, the Manitowoc (WI) Library Mirros, showed the promise his subsequent career demonstrated."  Wiegand is perhaps best known for his biography of Melvil Dewey, Irrepressible Reformer.  In his presentations he often mentions that there are more public library outlets than McDonalds restaurants.  He is a strong advocate of approaching library history from the viewpoint of the "library in the life of the user" in contrast to the "user in the life of the library".  Wiegand plans to retire next year. The list of famous librarians includes, among others, Melvil Dewey, Herbert Putnam, Peggy Sullivan, John Cotton Dana, Margaret Monroe, Arna Bontemps, Benjamin Franklin, Lutie Stearns, Fred Glazer, Pope Pius XI, E. J. Josey, S. R. Ranganathan, Augusta Baker, and Callimachus. It also includes former librarians at the Manitowoc Public Library.

You can obtain a copy of the Wiegand trading card and the list of the 100 famous librarians by sending $5 (check or cash) to Larry T. Nix, 3605 Niebler Ln., Middleton, WI 53562.  All proceeds from the sale of the cards will go to the Center for the History of Print Culture in Modern America at UW-SLIS which Wiegand, along with Jim Danky, founded.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, March 29, 2017


Popular Tags

Cam Klaus Linderfelt Historical Register cam Brown Deer Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Exhibits National Bookmobile Day Milwaukee Art Museum library education Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2012 Elroy Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies WHCLIS Pewaukee Public Library caly film Postcards Academic Libraries Milwaukee Public Library People caly film Sarah Janice Kee Irene W. Newman ca 23 Hall Milwaukee Public Library Gerald A. Somers Centennial Carl Spitzweg 14 Hall of Fame 2010 Dianne McAfee Hopkins caly film campa Campaign Amer Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Library Buidlings Bookmobiles Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2015 DeForest Area Public Library archives Events Katharine MacDonald Jones Bernard Schwab Library Systems Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Middleton Public Library campaign Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2015 Soughton Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library state historical society T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Gertrude Thurow WWI Library War Service membership libraries Hall of Fame 2015 State Law Library Zona Gale Beloit Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center 28 Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends books-by-mail Matthew S. Dudgeon Black River Falls Postcards Larry T. Nix Delia Ovitz Lutie Stearns Wisconsin State Law Library Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2008 Richard E. Krug WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Charles Bunge campaign Wisconsin Rapids Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2013 Anniversaries Special libraries Events & Meetings WLA 125 Hall fo Fame 2012 anniversaries McMillan Memorial Library School libraries Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Library History Library People Campaign library legislation buil Woman's Congress Inform Wisconsin traveling libraries Public libraries Black River Falls Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Free Library Commission 20 Brown County Library James Huff Stout Parcel post Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services library memorabilia 24 Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Eratus Swift Wilcox Increase A. Lapham Capitol Fire 1904 UW-Madison school of library and information studies library exhibit World War I I Love Libraries J. D. Witter Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Uncategorized James Duane Doty Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries William J. Wilson Oshkosh Public Library Academic Librarians Events & Meetings Edward Asahel Birge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Appleton Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Public libraries Clarence Brown Lester Library Trustees American Library Association Jane K. Billings Postcards Digital Collections Tower Hill Wisconsin Portage Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Dorothea M. Krause Wayne A. Wiegand Anniversaries hall of Orrilla Blackshear bed and breakfast 11 Eager Free Public Library S. Janice Kee Campaign Peter G. Hamon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pinback buttons WAAL Ruth Ann Montgomery Gilbert H. Doane Library people Postcards Brown Deer Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wisconsin Free Library Commission COLAND John Miller Chancellor campaign Public library systems Carnegie libraries Ice Storm Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Rusk County Community Library WLA 125 Superior Carnegie Libraries Publications Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library people Hall of Fame 2012 trav Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2016 White House Conference on Library and Information Services National Library Week 10 Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Buttons 27 Library Buildings 22 21 Suring Area Public Library background UW-Milwaukee Libraries Madison Public Library Ripon Public Library presentations WLA 125 Hartford Public Library CCBC Marketing-Publicity Library celebrations School of Library and Information Studies

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo