Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Library Legislative Day 1895

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, February 02, 2016 in WLA 125

WLA's Library Legislative Day for 2016 will occur next week on February 9th. Library legislation like everything else connected to Wisconsin libraries also has a heritage. In his 1966 history of the Wisconsin Library Association Benton H. Wilcox wrote about WLA's first legislative victory. Lutie Stearns attended the American Library Association meeting in Lake Placid New York in 1894 where she was introduced to the idea of a state library commission. Stearns brought back copies of legislation establishing such commissions in New Hampshire and Massachuttes and was enthusiastic about establishing such a commission in Wisconsin. Wisconsin's first library legislative champion Senator James Huff Stout introduced the necessary legislation early in the 1895 legislative session. According to Wilcox this legislation was the principal subject of discussion at WLA's conference in Madison on February 13 and 14, 1895. At that conference, WLA enorsed the legislation and appointed a committee to work for its enactment.  Wilcox writes: "The legislature was less than enthusiastic but by holding the requested appropriation to only $500 per annum for expenses, Senator Stout was able to bring it through, and it became law late in April, 1895. The Association had achieved its first notable victory." So WLA has been involved in library legislation for 121 years. The result of that early success was the creation of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission which is now the Division for Libraries and Technology. Both Stearns and Stout were inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008.

Information about this year's legislative day can be found HERE. An important feature of this year's legislative day will be the kickoff of WLA's 125th Anniversary Celebration in the rotunda of the State Capitol at 12:00 noon.



Larry Nix Thursday, February 04, 2016

This is a test.

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, September 25, 2017


Popular Tags

Elroy Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Library History Gerald A. Somers Suring Area Public Library Gilbert H. Doane 20 Library Systems WLA 125 10 National Library Week bed and breakfast Hall National Bookmobile Day Zona Gale Beaver Dam Public Library Library People Ruth Ann Montgomery 27 Hall of Fame 2015 Academic Librarians Dianne McAfee Hopkins Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2015 John Miller Chancellor buil Special libraries Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 library legislation background James Duane Doty campaign UW-Milwaukee Libraries Larry T. Nix State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bernard Schwab Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 Postcards Orrilla Blackshear Library Buildings Postcards Public libraries Jerome P. Daniels Hartford Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Milwaukee Public Library Uncategorized Milwaukee Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Capitol Fire 1904 Clinton Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library ca Public library systems School of Library and Information Studies library exhibit School libraries Manitowoc Public Library Delia Ovitz WAAL Katharine MacDonald Jones Evansville Wisconsin Jane K. Billings Library Trustees Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Charles Bunge Wisconsin Historical Society Amer campaign library education UW-Madison school of library and information studies Beloit Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin Rapids state historical society Campaign Library Buidlings campa Hall of Fame 2012 Nolan I. Neds White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign William J. Wilson caly film Council on Library and Network Development Middleton Public Library Public libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Milwaukee Art Museum WHCLIS Eratus Swift Wilcox Frank Avery Hutchins 21 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 CCBC COLAND Black River Falls Public Library James Huff Stout Irene W. Newman Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 24 Oshkosh Public Library J. D. Witter library memorabilia Exhibits membership libraries Gertrude Thurow 28 Hall of Fame 2010 McMillan Memorial Library Richard E. Krug Postcards Cooperative Children's Book Center I Love Libraries Carl Spitzweg Library people presentations Portage Public Library anniversaries Peter G. Hamon Historical Register trav caly film Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Buttons Brown County Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Sarah Janice Kee Parcel post Edward Asahel Birge Meter mail slogans Anniversaries Tower Hill Wisconsin Library e Lutie Stearns T. B. Scott Free Public Library Soughton Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Lutie Eugenia Stearns Campaign Bookmobiles World War I Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ice Storm Brown Deer Public Library Increase A. Lapham Inform Wisconsin traveling libraries Pewaukee Public Library Events Klaus Linderfelt Cam Wisconsin Free Library Commission archives Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2013 bookworm caly film WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Library Artifacts WWI Library War Service Carnegie libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Black River Falls 23 11 Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2016 American Library Association Library War Service Library celebrations cam Centennial American Library Association Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee books-by-mail 22 WLA 125 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library people Postcards Publications hall of Events & Meetings campaign 14 Pinback buttons Digital Collections Marketing-Publicity Madison Public Library Eager Free Public Library Events & Meetings People Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends S. Janice Kee Superior Carnegie Libraries Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2008 Rusk County Community Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo