Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA’s 125th Celebration

This year marks the 125th anniversary of the founding of the Wisconsin Library Association. A special task force has been established to plan for the celebration of this  milestone.  The members of the Task Force believe that it is not only important to recognize our past but also to envision our future. To help ensure that our celebration includes as many voices as possible, we are inviting Wisconsin's library community to consider ways to participate in this celebration by focusing on the history and contributions of all Wisconsin libraries.
The 125th anniversary celebration was kicked off at WLA's 2015 Conference in Middleton, and will continue throughout 2016. Another major kickoff event will occur on February 9th during WLA Legislative Day at 12 noon in the Capitol rotunda. This event which will occur just two days before the February 11th founding day of WLA is open to the public. So please encourage library staff, trustees, and friends to attend this event.
On the night before Legislative Day ((Monday, February 8) at 7:00 p.m. at the Madison Public Library, the Task Force and the Library Legislative Day Planning Committee will sponsor a special event, “Portrait of a Legislative Success Story: The Development and Passage of Public Library System Legislation in Wisconsin”, presented by Charles Bunge, Professor Emeritus, School of Library and Information Studies, UW-Madison (and WI Library Hall of Fame member).
The 2016 WLA Annual Conference in Milwaukee will provide an opportunity to conclude the celebration in grand fashion.
The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center website and blog will be the place to keep up with other activities related to this event.  Regular blog posts on the site will recount stories of Wisconsin's library history. Subscribe to the blog at http://heritage.wisconsinlibraries.org/ to follow these stories.
Other information about WLA's history and the 125th anniversary celebration can be found at the following links:
125th Anniversary Task Force Members
Paul Nelson, Chair
Sara L. Andrews, Wisconsin Historical Society
Roxane Bartelt, Retired Librarian
Janis Berg,DeForest Area Library 
Cate Booth, WLA Foundation  
John DeBacher, Department of Public Instruction 
Plumer Lovelace, WLA
Larry T. Nix, Retired Librarian 
Brigitte Rupp Vacha, WLA


Popular Tags

Centennial Black River Falls Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Library Bulletin library exhibit 27 campaign Campaign caly film 20 WWI Library War Service Uncategorized UW-Madison school of library and information studies campaign School of Library and Information Studies Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2010 books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Association Gerald A. Somers cam Hall of Fame 2014 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Eager Free Public Library WLA 125 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide World War I S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Beloit Public Library state historical society Cornelia Marving Pierce Hartford Public Library Library History Oshkosh Public Library Academic Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 14 National Library Week caly film Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2015 Woman's Congress anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Carnegie libraries Bookmobiles Exhibits Richard E. Krug Katharine MacDonald Jones Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Free Library Commission Irene W. Newman Edward Asahel Birge Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Carl Spitzweg 23 American Library Association Academic Librarians Milwaukee Public Library Meter mail slogans State Law Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Brown County Library William J. Wilson Charles Bunge Lowell W. Wilson Postcards Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Historical Society Inform Wisconsin library memorabilia Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries Postcards John Miller Chancellor caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library library legislation Library people Postcards Library Trustees CCBC campa Historical Register WHCLIS Cooperative Children's Book Center Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Matthew S. Dudgeon membership libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Cam Middleton Public Library traveling libraries People ca Gertrude Thurow Ice Storm Appleton Public Library Campaign bookworm Wisconsin Free Library Commission John J. Jax Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Marketing-Publicity WAAL archives Louise S. Robbins Sarah Janice Kee Council on Library and Network Development Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2012 Black River Falls Ripon Public Library Bernard Schwab Digital Collections Capitol Fire 1904 Anniversaries Publications 10 11 James Duane Doty Superior Carnegie Libraries Soughton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Larry T. Nix 24 Hall of Fame 2015 Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2013 Special libraries Jerome P. Daniels Parcel post Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2008 Jane K. Billings Hall fo Fame 2012 hall of Delia Ovitz 28 buil Hall Hall of Fame 2016 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library Buildings Madison Public Library Pinback buttons Library e Portage Public Library Elroy Public Library library education COLAND Suring Area Public Library Zona Gale Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library people American Library Association Library War Service Amer trav Rusk County Community Library background J. D. Witter National Bookmobile Day Nolan I. Neds Library Buidlings Campaign School libraries Evansville Wisconsin Library Artifacts WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Events & Meetings Lutie Stearns Pewaukee Public Library Peter G. Hamon Library Systems Buttons Public library systems Increase A. Lapham Klaus Linderfelt Clarence Brown Lester Postcards James Huff Stout Wisconsin State Law Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Gilbert H. Doane White House Conference on Library and Information Services bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2009 McMillan Memorial Library Clinton Public Library Manitowoc Public Library 21 Events presentations Ruby Roeder Wayne A. Wiegand 22 Orrilla Blackshear Anniversaries Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2017 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2011 Library People DeForest Area Public Library Dorothea M. Krause I Love Libraries Public libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo