Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA’s Greatest Legislative Victory

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, February 02, 2016 in WLA 125
charles bungeIn December of 1971, the Governor signed into law SB 47.  This bill substantially revised the laws related to public libraries in Wisconsin and enabled the creation of single-county and multi-county public library systems in Wisconsin. It was largely responsible for ensuring that every citizen in Wisconsin not only has access to public library service but has access to the shared resources of all public libraries in Wisconsin.  The bill was passed after years of effort on the part of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA), the Wisconsin Division for Libraries in DPI, and the Wisconsin library community.  It was undoubtedly WLA’s greatest legislative victory.  Next week, one of the key players in making that happen, Charles Bunge, Professor Emeritus, School of Library and Information Studies, UW-Madison, will present a program titled “Portrait of a Legislative Success Story: The Development and Passage of Public Library System Legislation in Wisconsin”. The program will take place on Monday, February 8, at 7:00 p.m. at the Madison Public Library.  It precedes Library Legislative Day which takes place on February 9. The program is sponsored by the Task Force on WLA’s 125th Anniversary and the Legislative Day Planning Committee of WLA. Bunge is a member of the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame.
The text of Bunge's presentation can be found HERE.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, November 21, 2017


Popular Tags

22 Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Cornelia Marving Pierce Gertrude Thurow Library Buidlings McMillan Memorial Library Capitol Fire 1904 Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2012 campaign buil library exhibit Hartford Public Library Academic Libraries Increase A. Lapham Madison Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society campaign hall of Eager Free Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Uncategorized American Library Association Library War Service Parcel post Hall of Fame 2012 cam Ruby Roeder Historical Register library education WLA 125 caly film Rusk County Community Library National Bookmobile Day Larry T. Nix library memorabilia books-by-mail Public library systems CCBC Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown County Library caly film WAAL Clinton Public Library Digital Collections Library Systems Woman's Congress Brown Deer Public Library Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Orrilla Blackshear UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies background Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Events & Meetings Library People Soughton Public Library Special libraries Inform Wisconsin Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Rapids caly film 27 National Library Week Public libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Richard E. Krug Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Jane K. Billings Library people Postcards archives Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2011 membership libraries Library Buildings Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Campaign 24 John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2008 Academic Librarians WLA 125 Lutie Stearns UW-Milwaukee Libraries anniversaries Manitowoc Public Library Library Artifacts Pinback buttons Portage Public Library WWI Library War Service Campaign I Love Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Middleton Public Library Dorothea M. Krause DeForest Area Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 11 Hall Zona Gale Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries White House Conference on Library and Information Services State Law Library Suring Area Public Library Delia Ovitz Oshkosh Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies COLAND Ripon Public Library Sarah Janice Kee James Duane Doty Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 28 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Frank Avery Hutchins Lowell W. Wilson John J. Jax Council on Library and Network Development Pewaukee Public Library Buttons Peter G. Hamon trav Sandra Friedman Dolnick Louise S. Robbins People Clarence Brown Lester WLA 125 J. D. Witter Milwaukee Public Library bookworm Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 American Library Association Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Black River Falls Public Library Nolan I. Neds 20 Hall of Fame 2015 Wayne A. Wiegand S. Janice Kee Events Events & Meetings Irene W. Newman Appleton Public Library Ice Storm WHCLIS Hall fo Fame 2012 Library History Elroy Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Bernard Schwab Black River Falls Brown Deer Public Library Campaign Library people Hall of Fame 2017 Amer Wisconsin Library Association Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns 14 Dianne McAfee Hopkins bed and breakfast Carl Spitzweg Charles Bunge William J. Wilson 23 Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin State Law Library state historical society Hall of Fame 2012 campa Marketing-Publicity 10 Public libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Postcards Tower Hill Wisconsin Klaus Linderfelt Exhibits WLA 125 School of Library and Information Studies Edward Asahel Birge School libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2013 Anniversaries Publications Milwaukee Art Museum Cam Centennial Ruth Ann Montgomery Library Trustees Library e World War I Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Beloit Public Library presentations Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Meter mail slogans James Huff Stout Postcards ca Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2015 traveling libraries 21 Cooperative Children's Book Center library legislation

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo