Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA’s Centennial Celebration

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 18, 2016 in WLA 125
wla-centennial-72 wla125logo-small
The Wisconsin Library Association celebrated its centennial in 1991. As with this year’s 125th anniversary celebration, WLA’s annual conference took place in Milwaukee. The conference theme was “Celebrating Ourselves”.  In the introduction to the conference program, WLA President Peter Hamon wrote : “The choice for our theme became obvious. We serve our various publics every day, year in and year out.  All that service is dedicated to them.  This conference, however, is not.  Instead it honors you, those who came before you, and those who will come after.  You and yours have served Wisconsin for a century.  For these few days, let us celebrate ourselves.” It was at this conference that a resolution was passed welcoming back into the WLA community WLA’s disgraced first president Klas Linderfelt.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, May 29, 2017


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library celebrations archives Parcel post Katharine MacDonald Jones library education World War I Library Buidlings buil Brown Deer Public Library Anniversaries Amer Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries People Evansville Wisconsin caly film Digital Collections Beloit Public Library Uncategorized Larry T. Nix 20 Exhibits Buttons American Library Association Library people Postcards Bernard Schwab membership libraries Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Library Association Meter mail slogans Library e WAAL Klaus Linderfelt Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin 23 Anniversaries Wisconsin State Law Library Delia Ovitz John Miller Chancellor Elroy Public Library I Love Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Carnegie libraries Suring Area Public Library Nolan I. Neds Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services campaign James Huff Stout Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Edward Asahel Birge Pinback buttons Hall fo Fame 2012 Eratus Swift Wilcox Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Dorothea M. Krause library memorabilia S. Janice Kee 11 Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 24 Postcards 14 Council on Library and Network Development campa Lutie Stearns Milwaukee Public Library Milwaukee Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies caly film State Law Library Academic Libraries Library Artifacts Jerome P. Daniels Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 background ca bookworm Public libraries Campaign hall of Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 White House Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 DeForest Area Public Library COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Special libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Woman's Congress Ice Storm 22 WLA 125 Gilbert H. Doane 27 Zona Gale J. D. Witter UW-Milwaukee Libraries presentations Brown Deer Public Library Rusk County Community Library Jane K. Billings T. B. Scott Free Public Library Historical Register Publications Bookmobiles traveling libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2009 Public libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Cornelia Marving Pierce UW-Madison school of library and information studies library exhibit Charles Bunge National Bookmobile Day James Duane Doty Eager Free Public Library Gerald A. Somers Library Buildings WLA 125 Library Systems Madison Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Soughton Public Library state historical society Clinton Public Library anniversaries Cooperative Children's Book Center Milwaukee Art Museum Dianne McAfee Hopkins campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Lutie Eugenia Stearns 10 library legislation Hall of Fame 2015 Gertrude Thurow Orrilla Blackshear Cam CCBC caly film Frank Avery Hutchins Ripon Public Library William J. Wilson Middleton Public Library trav National Library Week Portage Public Library Marketing-Publicity bed and breakfast campaign Events Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Brown County Library Increase A. Lapham Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Historical Society Postcards Hall Hall of Fame 2012 Academic Librarians Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Events & Meetings Matthew S. Dudgeon Clarence Brown Lester Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2015 Library History Hall of Fame 2008 Inform Wisconsin Black River Falls School of Library and Information Studies Library Trustees Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Rapids Library people Centennial WHCLIS WWI Library War Service Appleton Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2016 McMillan Memorial Library 21 cam Public library systems WLA 125 Sarah Janice Kee Library People American Library Association Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand 28 Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2013 School libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo