Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Klas August Linderfelt (1847-1900)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 05, 2009 in Hall of Fame

Klas LinderfeltKlas August Linderfelt was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Appleton on October 22, 2009. Linderfelt served as the Director of the Milwaukee Public Library from 1880 to 1892. The construction of the new public library and museum building in Milwaukee in 1897 was due largely to Linderfelt’s initial planning efforts. He was one of the founders of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA) and was elected its first president in 1891. Linderfelt was an authority on library charging/circulation systems and he implemented an innovative charging system at the Milwaukee Public Library.  He was also an authority on library cataloging and was the author of Eclectic Card Catalog Rules which was published in 1890. Linderfelt was active in the American Library Association (ALA) and served as a councilor from 1883 to 1891. He played a major role in the local arrangements for the ALA Conference which took place in Milwaukee in 1886. In 1890 he was elected vice-president of ALA and in 1891 he was elected president.

In 1892 Linderfelt was arrested in Milwaukee for embezzlement. At his trial he was found guilty, but his sentence was suspended. Under the threat of additional charges, he fled to Europe where he spent the rest of his life. As a result of Linderfelt’s conviction for embezzlement, ALA expunged his election from their official records. Linderfelt resigned as President of the Wisconsin Library Association leaving the Association leaderless. As a result WLA held no annual conferences in either 1892 or 1893. Linderfelt was born in Sweden in 1847.  He received a doctorate from Upsala University in Sweden.  In 1870 he immigrated to Milwaukee, Wisconsin.  He died in 1900.  He is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography.

There is an informal group of the past presidents of the Wisconsin Library Association that holds a breakfast meeting on the Wednesday morning of the Association's annual conference. An urn with ashes (not human) was created to represent Klas in absentia. The newest past president takes custody of the urn after the meeting and keeps it until the next meeting.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, December 07, 2019


Popular Tags

Library people Postcards National Bookmobile Day Library People Events & Meetings Superior Carnegie Libraries DeForest Area Public Library Bookmobiles School of Library and Information Studies Suring Area Public Library WLA 125 Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 library exhibit WLA 125 Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2018 Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign Nolan I. Neds Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Library Bulletin James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2013 Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Louise S. Robbins Brown County Library books-by-mail Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin State Law Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission 14 Hall of Fame 2019 World War I WHCLIS Clarence Brown Lester Ruth Ann Montgomery American Library Association Library War Service Hall Klaus Linderfelt Katharine MacDonald Jones Black River Falls Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Nancy Marshall Ice Storm Beloit Public Library Clinton Public Library S. Janice Kee Wisconsin Library Association campa Public libraries 20 10 Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2010 Soughton Public Library Rusk County Community Library 23 Hall of Fame 2017 trav Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2012 Library Trustees buil Ripon Public Library John Miller Chancellor Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart presentations Parcel post anniversaries Lucy E. Smith Morris campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Elroy Public Library Library celebrations Public libraries Meter mail slogans William J. Wilson John J. Jax Events & Meetings background traveling libraries Appleton Public Library Hartford Public Library Increase A. Lapham Anniversaries J. D. Witter WLA 125 Wayne A. Wiegand Peter G. Hamon bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library education Centennial 28 Gilbert H. Doane Lowell W. Wilson James Duane Doty Lutie Eugenia Stearns 22 Larry T. Nix Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2012 Portage Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies 21 Hall of Fame 2018 Gerald A. Somers state historical society 27 Dick Sorensen Pinback buttons Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library Charles Bunge Sarah Janice Kee Matthew S. Dudgeon Anniversaries Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2012 Academic Librarians Postcards Marketing-Publicity WWI Library War Service Bernard Schwab Publications I Love Libraries caly film Library e American Library Association Uncategorized campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide COLAND Richard J. Sorensen Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Jane K. Billings Robert Bocher Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 24 Woman's Congress Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library Systems Wisconsin Historical Society Academic Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Amer School libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2016 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Dick Sorensen Zona Gale Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Public library systems Tower Hill Wisconsin Gertrude Thurow National Library Week Carnegie libraries Digital Collections Helen Adams Middleton Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Madison Public Library campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Buttons hall of Cam Exhibits Black River Falls Public Library Campaign Historical Register UW-Milwaukee Libraries Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2009 Council on Library and Network Development Library Buidlings Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin membership libraries cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Bob Bochfer Campaign Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Richard E. Krug WAAL caly film Evansville Wisconsin archives Eratus Swift Wilcox Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 library memorabilia People Pewaukee Public Library 11 ca Edward Asahel Birge Delia Ovitz State Law Library Library History Capitol Fire 1904 Frank Avery Hutchins library legislation Brown Deer Public Library CCBC bookworm Hall fo Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Carl Spitzweg Special libraries Ruby Roeder Library Artifacts caly film Library people Beaver Dam Public Library Events Eager Free Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo