Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin's Membership Libraries

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, March 08, 2016 in WLA 125

Milwaukee Young Men's AssociationMembership libraries, sometimes referred to as social libraries, were the predecessors of free public libraries. There were dozens of these libraries in Wisconsin before and after the passage of the 1872 public library law. Membership libraries originated in New England, and it was New Englanders who brought this concept to Wisconsin. Membership libraries were formed when a group of individuals pooled their resources to purchase books which could then be commonly shared. An annual fee was usually required to participate in the membership library. These libraries often struggled from lack of financial resources or strong leadership. Only about a dozen survived for more than ten years. Some of the membership libraries transitioned into public libraries. The oldest of the membership libraries was the Milwaukee Young Men's Association Library (see illustration at left) which turned its assets over to the newly created Milwaukee Public Library in 1878. The Madison Institute Library was formed in 1853 and was replaced by the Madison Public Library in 1875. The longest surviving membership library was the Waupun Library Association which existed from 1858 to 1904. This was largely the result of the efforts of one man - Edwin Hillyer, a Waupun attorney. The library was located in Hillyer's office and he served as Clerk and Librarian at least from 1859 to 1880. A comprehensive history of membership libraries in Wisconsin can be found in the 1973 University of Chicago dissertation of John C. Colson - The Public Library Movement in Wisconsin, 1836-1900.




No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, June 23, 2018


Popular Tags

Events & Meetings library exhibit Wisconsin State Law Library Eager Free Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Appleton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library legislation Manitowoc Public Library Council on Library and Network Development White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Art Museum Library Systems Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Free Library Commission Elroy Public Library Ruby Roeder Hall of Fame 2012 Soughton Public Library Lutie Stearns ca campaign Library people Library celebrations 11 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Delia Ovitz Cam Klaus Linderfelt Evansville Wisconsin hall of WLA 125 UW-Madison school of library and information studies cam Katharine MacDonald Jones Academic Librarians Increase A. Lapham Rusk County Community Library Bookmobiles S. Janice Kee archives Special libraries 27 John Miller Chancellor Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 State Law Library Exhibits Dorothea M. Krause Gerald A. Somers Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2015 21 McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eratus Swift Wilcox Brown Deer Public Library Marketing-Publicity Hartford Public Library campaign Postcards Capitol Fire 1904 Milwaukee Public Library Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2010 Orrilla Blackshear Public libraries James Huff Stout Matthew S. Dudgeon Library Buildings Wisconsin Rapids National Bookmobile Day campaign Hall of Fame 2017 Hall fo Fame 2012 Jane K. Billings Black River Falls Public Library Lowell W. Wilson American Library Association Library War Service Carl Spitzweg Historical Register Events Hall of Fame 2014 trav campa Meter mail slogans anniversaries School libraries People Gertrude Thurow Public library systems 20 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Anniversaries CCBC membership libraries Milwaukee Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Library History Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Library Bulletin Woman's Congress Wisconsin Library Association Marjorie Sornson Malmberg presentations Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 Library Artifacts Anniversaries Digital Collections Hall of Fame 2015 John J. Jax J. D. Witter William J. Wilson Library Trustees traveling libraries WLA 125 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library buil Brown Deer Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Bernard Schwab WLA 125 I Love Libraries state historical society books-by-mail Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Jerome P. Daniels library education Library e Superior Carnegie Libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries James Duane Doty Portage Public Library Hall Centennial Buttons Wayne A. Wiegand Hall of Fame 2016 Postcards Larry T. Nix Edward Asahel Birge Clarence Brown Lester WHCLIS 24 14 Amer Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2011 WAAL 23 library memorabilia Wisconsin Historical Society Clinton Public Library caly film Dianne McAfee Hopkins WWI Library War Service Uncategorized Campaign caly film Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Charles Bunge Lutie Eugenia Stearns WLA 125 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2013 Zona Gale 10 Library Buidlings Louise S. Robbins Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2009 Beloit Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Ice Storm Library people Postcards Gilbert H. Doane Public libraries Oshkosh Public Library bookworm Brown County Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Peter G. Hamon Parcel post Pewaukee Public Library Campaign caly film Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library People Carnegie libraries World War I Sandra Friedman Dolnick 22 Madison Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 bed and breakfast background COLAND Hall of Fame 2015 Publications Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week 28 Ripon Public Library Events & Meetings Ruth Ann Montgomery Richard E. Krug Sarah Janice Kee Middleton Public Library American Library Association Postcards Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Frank Avery Hutchins

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo