Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Portrait of a Legislative Success Story by Charles Bunge

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, May 19, 2016 in WLA 125
As noted in an earlier blog post Charles Bunge, Professor Emeritus of the UW-Madison School of Library & Information Studies and member of the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame, made a presentation titled “Portrait of a Legislative Success Story: The Development and Passage of Public Library System Legislation in Wisconsin” at a program on February 8 of this year preceding WLA Library Legislative Day. Bunge also made the same presentation at the May conference of the Wisconsin Association of Public Libraries. Bunge has allowed the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center to post a copy of the text of his presentation on this website.  Passage of 1971 Senate Bill 47 has been described as “WLA’s greatest legislative victory”. The photograph above shows most of those (including Charles Bunge) who helped achieve this victory at the signing ceremony for the bill.


John DeBacher Friday, May 20, 2016

It was an informative and entertaining program, and emphasized the need to collect oral histories from our early system leaders and participating librarians while we can. Thanks, Larry

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, February 21, 2018


Popular Tags

Events & Meetings Library people Postcards Wisconsin State Law Library S. Janice Kee Hartford Public Library Bookmobiles Library Systems UW-Madison school of library and information studies Historical Register Academic Libraries Uncategorized Black River Falls Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Amer School libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 I Love Libraries Dorothea M. Krause Milwaukee Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Anniversaries Parcel post 10 Hall of Fame 2009 Centennial Campaign Exhibits archives Gerald A. Somers Brown Deer Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Sarah Janice Kee Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2015 caly film Jane K. Billings Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide UW-Milwaukee Libraries Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library 28 Madison Public Library People Digital Collections Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries School of Library and Information Studies Public libraries Anniversaries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart American Library Association membership libraries 27 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2013 Manitowoc Public Library Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2011 bed and breakfast J. D. Witter James Huff Stout Increase A. Lapham Library e Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Charles Bunge Irene W. Newman Black River Falls Pewaukee Public Library Eager Free Public Library Library Artifacts Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Library Association Academic Librarians Orrilla Blackshear library memorabilia 22 Postcards WLA 125 anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Ice Storm McMillan Memorial Library Library celebrations Wisconsin Rapids Milwaukee Art Museum Special libraries Public library systems Soughton Public Library WLA 125 Lowell W. Wilson 23 Peter G. Hamon Library Buidlings Evansville Wisconsin Library People Cooperative Children's Book Center Inform Wisconsin Nolan I. Neds WHCLIS WAAL 21 Appleton Public Library Events & Meetings Campaign Postcards WLA 125 campaign Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 library exhibit American Library Association Library War Service Library Buildings 11 hall of Pinback buttons Cam Edward Asahel Birge Council on Library and Network Development John J. Jax Jerome P. Daniels WWI Library War Service Clinton Public Library campaign World War I campa Beaver Dam Public Library campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries background Lutie Stearns Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 24 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Middleton Public Library Carnegie libraries buil Hall of Fame 2010 Publications Brown Deer Public Library James Duane Doty books-by-mail National Bookmobile Day Lutie Eugenia Stearns State Law Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Louise S. Robbins Capitol Fire 1904 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Carl Spitzweg Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends COLAND ca Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2012 Library Trustees Events caly film caly film Klaus Linderfelt Cornelia Marving Pierce Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Larry T. Nix Campaign Clarence Brown Lester Ruby Roeder Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 William J. Wilson Wisconsin Free Library Commission Woman's Congress Milwaukee Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Suring Area Public Library National Library Week bookworm Oshkosh Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2008 Beloit Public Library Meter mail slogans Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2017 14 Bernard Schwab Rusk County Community Library library education Library History 20 Library people Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall Ruth Ann Montgomery presentations WLA 125 CCBC library legislation Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Richard E. Krug Hall fo Fame 2012 Brown County Library state historical society Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Zona Gale Public libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Buttons Portage Public Library John Miller Chancellor traveling libraries cam Wayne A. Wiegand Delia Ovitz Wisconsin Library Heritage Center trav Gilbert H. Doane

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo