Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Disaster Strikes the Newly Created Wisconsin Library Association

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, March 24, 2016 in WLA 125

linderfelt-72Just a little more than a year after the Wisconsin Library Association was founded and held its first conference one of the most bizarre events in American library occurred. In The Wisconsin Library Association (WLA 1966) Benton Wilcox writes:

“Disaster struck the infant Association in the spring of 1892 through the loss of its president, K. A. Linderfelt, who had also received in October, 1891, the even greater honor of election to the presidency of the American Library Association. Mr. Linderfelt had been born in Sweden and achieved an excellent classical education there before coming to America and Milwaukee in 1870. Here he had secured employment in the Milwaukee Female College as an instructor in Latin and Greek at a pittance of $400 per year, later increased to $600. In 1880 he was appointed librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library at $1,200. As recorded in the Library Journal, “In his twelve years of library administration he won a permanent place among eminent American librarians. A man of brilliant capacities and devoted to his calling, he was practically the creator of the Milwaukee Public Library, which he developed to a high efficiency.”

Unfortunately, in trying to maintain a standard of living comparable with that of the culturally elite of the city with whom he was associated, he became heavily involved in debt. In early 1892, the city having been spurred to a careful audit of its accounts by a defalcation discovered in one of its offices, a shortage of some $10,000 was found in the funds of the public library. Mr. Linderfelt readily acknowledged his guilt and aided the auditors in tracing the shortages. His staff and library board members showed their support by replacing the missing funds, and he was given a suspended sentence. Though Mr. Dewey offered him a position in his organization he returned to Europe, studied medicine, and died a practicing physician in Paris in 1900. The American Library Association expunged him from its records by accepting his resignation as of the day he had been elected its president. The Wisconsin Library Association, without machinery or heart for such decisive action, was left leaderless and apparently no one knew just what to do. As a consequence there was no annual conference in either 1892 or 1893.”

The Wisconsin Library Association forgave Linderfelt and welcomed him back into their fold at WLA’s Centennial reception in Milwaukee in 1991. It went even further and inducted him into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2009.  

Read more about Linderfelt.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, November 21, 2017


Popular Tags

campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bernard Schwab library memorabilia Pinback buttons Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2015 Increase A. Lapham Ripon Public Library American Library Association Library War Service 11 American Library Association Campaign Matthew S. Dudgeon library exhibit Public libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Exhibits caly film Brown County Library Digital Collections National Library Week 24 Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library e John J. Jax archives Delia Ovitz Academic Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 27 Library celebrations Wayne A. Wiegand 28 Ice Storm Amer Irene W. Newman Library Artifacts anniversaries campaign Hall of Fame 2009 Zona Gale John Miller Chancellor Library Buidlings Frank Avery Hutchins Library Buildings UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Library Systems Historical Register Gilbert H. Doane campa Charles Bunge Woman's Congress WHCLIS McMillan Memorial Library Library people Postcards Tower Hill Wisconsin UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2017 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hartford Public Library Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Madison Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Council on Library and Network Development Ruby Roeder Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2012 20 Hall fo Fame 2012 Library History Milwaukee Art Museum Carl Spitzweg Soughton Public Library Library people Meter mail slogans Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Black River Falls Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall State Law Library J. D. Witter I Love Libraries Rusk County Community Library Beloit Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Bookmobiles Sandra Friedman Dolnick Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Association Campaign James Huff Stout Uncategorized books-by-mail Elroy Public Library WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Gerald A. Somers Anniversaries Ruth Ann Montgomery 10 Richard E. Krug ca Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Katharine MacDonald Jones bed and breakfast background library education Wisconsin State Law Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 presentations Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 23 DeForest Area Public Library state historical society School libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Cooperative Children's Book Center library legislation Wisconsin Free Library Commission Carnegie libraries Postcards Larry T. Nix Centennial Inform Wisconsin Library People Publications Eager Free Public Library WLA 125 James Duane Doty Marketing-Publicity Cam Wisconsin Library Bulletin Parcel post World War I WAAL Peter G. Hamon Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 21 Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Klaus Linderfelt Capitol Fire 1904 Sarah Janice Kee Eratus Swift Wilcox Special libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Brown Deer Public Library COLAND Milwaukee Public Library caly film Clarence Brown Lester Lowell W. Wilson campaign Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Middleton Public Library Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Rapids caly film Oshkosh Public Library Events & Meetings Edward Asahel Birge Campaign William J. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 14 Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2013 cam Dorothea M. Krause hall of Brown Deer Public Library Events 22 Academic Librarians Manitowoc Public Library People National Bookmobile Day Black River Falls Public Library WLA 125 Superior Carnegie Libraries Clinton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear trav Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Buttons CCBC Public library systems Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Stearns buil WLA 125 traveling libraries membership libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2008 Postcards Postcards Hall of Fame 2010 Appleton Public Library Louise S. Robbins Public libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2015 WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Library Heritage Center S. Janice Kee

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo