Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Zona Gale

Zona Gale (1874-1938)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, October 21, 2012
in Hall of Fame

Zona GaleZona Gale, a Portage (WI) native and Pulitzer Prize winning author, was a lifelong friend and champion of Wisconsin's libraries. She used her celebrity to promote libraries wherever possible. She was a member of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (1921-1932) and served as its Chair in 1921-1924 and 1926-1929. She also served as a member of the University of Wisconsin Board of Regents. She won the Pulitzer Prize for drama in 1921 for her play "Miss LuLu Bett". Her home was donated to the City of Portage in 1946 to house the Portage Public Library. She is a member of the Wisconsin Writers Hall of Fame. She received both a Bachelor's degree and a Master's degree from the University of Wisconsin - Madison. Gale was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Photo: Wisconsin Historical Society Digital Collection.


Popular Tags

American Library Association Library War Service library legislation Council on Library and Network Development Dianne McAfee Hopkins American Library Association Wisconsin Library Bulletin COLAND 11 campa Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2018 Events Anniversaries 28 Hall of Fame 2012 Ruby Roeder Helen Adams Library people Madison Public Library Publications Klaus Linderfelt Pinback buttons T. B. Scott Free Public Library WAAL Bookmobiles Elroy Public Library anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Cooperative Children's Book Center Oshkosh Public Library Library People Tower Hill Wisconsin WLA 125 WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2019 Dick Sorensen Hall of Fame 2013 Milwaukee Public Library Gerald A. Somers Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians World War I S. Janice Kee 20 library exhibit presentations 23 Campaign campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries cam Black River Falls Uncategorized Wisconsin Library Heritage Center caly film School libraries Lucy E. Smith Morris Exhibits Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2017 10 Eratus Swift Wilcox Library Trustees Eager Free Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends J. D. Witter Portage Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Sarah Janice Kee CCBC School of Library and Information Studies background Public libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Amer Evansville Wisconsin Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Delia Ovitz Robert Bocher Clarence Brown Lester library memorabilia UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Events & Meetings Sandra Friedman Dolnick Woman's Congress Ice Storm Matthew S. Dudgeon Digital Collections Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Association Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin State Law Library McMillan Memorial Library Jane K. Billings WLA 125 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Campaign Lutie Stearns Peter G. Hamon bed and breakfast campaign Wisconsin Rapids Bernard Schwab UW-Madison school of library and information studies Cornelia Marving Pierce Centennial James Duane Doty Public libraries Nancy Marshall Zona Gale Academic Librarians Superior Carnegie Libraries John Miller Chancellor Brown County Library caly film bookworm Parcel post Frank Avery Hutchins Gertrude Thurow Beaver Dam Public Library 22 Katharine MacDonald Jones Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 27 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide DeForest Area Public Library Charles Bunge Library History Hall of Fame 2015 Bob Bochfer Public library systems Anniversaries caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries People Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Pewaukee Public Library trav Marketing-Publicity 21 Orrilla Blackshear WWI Library War Service Richard J. Sorensen Beloit Public Library Library celebrations White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wayne A. Wiegand Library Artifacts Cam National Library Week state historical society I Love Libraries Postcards Irene W. Newman books-by-mail Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2008 Clinton Public Library buil Library Buildings membership libraries library education Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends National Bookmobile Day Black River Falls Public Library Nolan I. Neds Dick Sorensen Larry T. Nix Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug hall of Milwaukee Art Museum Meter mail slogans Carnegie libraries Suring Area Public Library Library Systems 24 Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2009 Library e Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Capitol Fire 1904 Buttons Dorothea M. Krause ca Hall of Fame 2015 William J. Wilson archives James Huff Stout traveling libraries Soughton Public Library Special libraries Postcards Gilbert H. Doane UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies John J. Jax Library Buidlings Rusk County Community Library Postcards Hall Hall of Fame 2015 14 campaign Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2012 Hartford Public Library Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Historical Register Increase A. Lapham Milwaukee Public Library State Law Library Jerome P. Daniels WLA 125

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo