Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52
Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs

Lucy E. Smith Morris, 2018 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 02, 2018
in Hall of Fame
lucy smith morris2-reducedLucy E. Smith Morris (1850-1935) was a native of Berlin, Wisconsin. She was a contemporary and colleague of charter Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame member Lutie Stearns. Lucy Morris advocated for the development of public libraries beginning in the late 19th century.  She worked to unite local women's clubs under the umbrella of the Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs.  At the group's first meeting in 1896, the group determined that the establishment of public libraries would be their top priority.  Within a year, over 100 free public libraries were established throughout Wisconsin.
Lucy Morris's efforts in promoting the expansion of public libraries resulted in her appointment as one of the founding members of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission.  Working closely with Lutie Stearns from 1897 to 1917, she supplemented the work of the Commission by recruiting volunteers from women's clubs throughout the state. She was active in the initiative to develop traveling libraries throughout the state and served as president of the Wisconsin Library Association for the 1899-1900 term of office.
Lucy Morris's contributions to libraries were recognized after her death by the Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs with the Lucy Morris Memorial Membership to the American Library Association. This honor was presented on May 15, 1936, during the Friends of the Library luncheon.


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Public libraries traveling libraries 20 Hall of Fame 2018 Lutie Stearns Cooperative Children's Book Center J. D. Witter 10 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Wisconsin Free Library Commission cam Hall of Fame 2009 Council on Library and Network Development 28 Events Centennial WWI Library War Service books-by-mail caly film American Library Association Library War Service Manitowoc Public Library Library Trustees Gertrude Thurow Amer Lucy E. Smith Morris WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2008 Clarence Brown Lester Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Wisconsin Rapids Irene W. Newman Beloit Public Library WHCLIS Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Gerald A. Somers Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Middleton Public Library COLAND Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Appleton Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2013 Academic Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin CCBC Hall of Fame 2012 11 Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Robert Bocher Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Brown Deer Public Library Postcards Gilbert H. Doane Library people Charles Bunge Library celebrations Helen Adams 27 Library e Pewaukee Public Library Nolan I. Neds Events & Meetings Inform Wisconsin School libraries campaign McMillan Memorial Library Bob Bochfer presentations I Love Libraries Cam Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2012 National Library Week Hall fo Fame 2012 John J. Jax bed and breakfast Dianne McAfee Hopkins National Bookmobile Day Pinback buttons Library People Carnegie libraries Library Buildings Historical Register membership libraries Black River Falls Postcards Soughton Public Library Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Library Association Evansville Wisconsin American Library Association Library Buidlings Woman's Congress ca Katharine MacDonald Jones Academic Librarians Anniversaries Public libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Library Systems Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2017 Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2016 WAAL Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Jane K. Billings 14 Eratus Swift Wilcox Bookmobiles School of Library and Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Increase A. Lapham Marketing-Publicity library exhibit Rusk County Community Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Buttons Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Elroy Public Library Larry T. Nix bookworm Black River Falls Public Library 21 Special libraries Library Artifacts Parcel post Publications Events & Meetings Oshkosh Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Superior Carnegie Libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies State Law Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends library memorabilia Library History People Lutie Eugenia Stearns T. B. Scott Free Public Library Louise S. Robbins James Duane Doty Suring Area Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Postcards 22 state historical society Madison Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Brown County Library background Public library systems Uncategorized trav Hall of Fame 2015 Orrilla Blackshear campa Meter mail slogans John Miller Chancellor WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library legislation Lowell W. Wilson Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2010 Campaign hall of Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Ruth Ann Montgomery Ripon Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Ruby Roeder World War I WLA 125 Portage Public Library caly film Hall of Fame 2011 archives 24 Wayne A. Wiegand Dorothea M. Krause Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eager Free Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Digital Collections White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hartford Public Library campaign Campaign Wisconsin Historical Society Peter G. Hamon Sarah Janice Kee Library people Postcards Beaver Dam Public Library anniversaries 23 Hall Clinton Public Library Zona Gale buil library education DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 William J. Wilson UW-Milwaukee Libraries Richard E. Krug Exhibits caly film James Huff Stout Ice Storm

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo