Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Wilbur Lyle Eberhart

Wilbur Lyle Eberhart (1922-2010), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
in Hall of Fame
Lyle EberhartLyle Eberhart was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Eberhart was the first administrator of the Division for Library Services in the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction after the Wisconsin Free Library Commission was abolished. He served in this capacity from 1965 to 1981 which included the period when Wisconsin’s public library system legislation was passed and implemented.He was a founding member of the Chief Officers of State Library Agencies (COSLA), and served as its President (1980-81). He served as President of the Midwest Regional Library Network (1966-67). He was an active contributor to the professional literature of librarianship.
Eberhart was born on May 30, 1922, in Topeka, Kansas. He earned a bachelor’s degree with a joint major in history and English from Washburn College (Topeka) in 1945, followed by graduate study in American history at the University of Wisconsin from 1945 to 1949. He received a master’s degree in library science at the University of Wisconsin in 1951. From 1951 to 1959, he was a librarian at the Detroit Public Library, and was a branch library chief there until 1962. In 1962 he became a public library consultant in the Wisconsin Free Library Commission, a post he held until 1965 when he became administrator of the newly created Division for Library Services, Wisconsin's state library agency.  


Popular Tags

Pinback buttons John Miller Chancellor caly film Sarah Janice Kee buil Bernard Schwab Ripon Public Library WLA 125 McMillan Memorial Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library celebrations Library Buildings Tower Hill Wisconsin 22 Robert Bocher Cornelia Marving Pierce Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 24 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Superior Carnegie Libraries National Library Week Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries World War I membership libraries Klaus Linderfelt DeForest Area Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Sandra Friedman Dolnick Beloit Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission William J. Wilson Gerald A. Somers Oshkosh Public Library Portage Public Library ca Clarence Brown Lester COLAND White House Conference on Library and Information Services Inform Wisconsin Academic Librarians Anniversaries Campaign Bob Bochfer Jerome P. Daniels UW-Madison school of library and information studies Library History Library People Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings Cam Richard E. Krug Public library systems Amer Frank Avery Hutchins WWI Library War Service Public libraries Digital Collections Zona Gale Nolan I. Neds 28 library education James Huff Stout background J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2017 Events & Meetings Postcards Evansville Wisconsin caly film S. Janice Kee School of Library and Information Studies Larry T. Nix WLA 125 Marketing-Publicity Centennial library exhibit Wisconsin Rapids Academic Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Hall Campaign WHCLIS Edward Asahel Birge 11 People Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library people Postcards Library Systems Publications Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2012 Anniversaries Library e Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library Artifacts presentations CCBC Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 library legislation Eager Free Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2015 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Ruth Ann Montgomery Council on Library and Network Development Hartford Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Peter G. Hamon Campaign Buttons Parcel post Black River Falls Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Delia Ovitz Hall fo Fame 2012 books-by-mail Library Trustees caly film Postcards Ruby Roeder 20 National Bookmobile Day Lucy E. Smith Morris School libraries Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2018 Charles Bunge traveling libraries 23 Brown Deer Public Library Carl Spitzweg Rusk County Community Library Elroy Public Library Public libraries Middleton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear I Love Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Suring Area Public Library Ice Storm WLA 125 Milwaukee Public Library Special libraries Wisconsin Library Association 27 Soughton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gilbert H. Doane Helen Adams Louise S. Robbins Brown Deer Public Library James Duane Doty Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2011 Exhibits trav Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Lowell W. Wilson Gertrude Thurow Madison Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand library memorabilia bookworm state historical society archives campaign Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 Uncategorized bed and breakfast Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2009 campa State Law Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library people Lutie Eugenia Stearns campaign John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2008 Lutie Stearns campaign Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Meter mail slogans Wisconsin Historical Society Cooperative Children's Book Center Woman's Congress WLA 125 anniversaries Appleton Public Library 21 Katharine MacDonald Jones Historical Register Events Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Bookmobiles Increase A. Lapham 14 Capitol Fire 1904 Clinton Public Library Brown County Library hall of Hall of Fame 2010 Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2016 Carnegie libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox WAAL Manitowoc Public Library Library Buidlings Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs T. B. Scott Free Public Library American Library Association cam Jane K. Billings Dorothea M. Krause

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo