Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged White House Conference on Library and Information Services

The 1979 White House Conference on Library and Information Services

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 18, 2016
in WLA 125
The first White House Conference on Library and Information Services (WHCLIS) took place in Washington, D. C. on November 15-19, 1979.  Preceding WHCLIS each state in the nation held a pre-conference.  In September, 1978 148 delegates representing communities and institutions from around Wisconsin gathered in Madison for the Wisconsin Governor’s Conference on Library and Information Services.  The Governor’s Conference had been preceded by meetings of hundreds of citizens in ten areas of the state in June-July, 1978 to discuss their concerns and needs for library and information services. Four delegates selected at the Governor’s Conference represented Wisconsin at WHCLIS.  They were James White, La Crosse; Jenelle Elder, Milwaukee; Jan Coombs, Marshfield; and John J. Jax, Menomenee Falls. The delegates at WHCLIS passed 64 resolutions to improve the quality and access to library and information services.  A second WHCLIS took place in 1991.  It too was pre-ceded by state level conferences including one in Wisconsin that took place in Madison in February, 1991. 


Popular Tags

Events School of Library and Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries School libraries Gertrude Thurow Digital Collections state historical society Middleton Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Beloit Public Library Hall WHCLIS campaign John Miller Chancellor Exhibits library exhibit caly film membership libraries Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2015 Pinback buttons Katharine MacDonald Jones 22 Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 buil anniversaries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services library legislation Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clarence Brown Lester Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 WLA 125 T. B. Scott Free Public Library John J. Jax White House Conference on Library and Information Services Public libraries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Ripon Public Library Carnegie libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins 20 Postcards Events & Meetings campaign Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2008 Campaign Lutie Eugenia Stearns Eratus Swift Wilcox Beaver Dam Public Library 21 American Library Association Library War Service Appleton Public Library National Library Week Library Buildings Milwaukee Art Museum Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends DeForest Area Public Library James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2012 WLA 125 library education Hall of Fame 2017 Library People Wayne A. Wiegand 27 Hall of Fame 2016 bed and breakfast Cooperative Children's Book Center archives Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2010 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 10 Hall of Fame 2014 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Carl Spitzweg Jerome P. Daniels Uncategorized Milwaukee Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery books-by-mail 28 presentations Anniversaries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins McMillan Memorial Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Lutie Stearns Brown County Library Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 National Bookmobile Day Suring Area Public Library CCBC 11 Madison Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Library Association WLA 125 Marketing-Publicity Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Rapids J. D. Witter Historical Register Black River Falls Orrilla Blackshear Campaign James Duane Doty Wisconsin Free Library Commission hall of Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Pewaukee Public Library Lowell W. Wilson UW-Madison school of library and information studies Postcards Woman's Congress Parcel post Academic Librarians Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians State Law Library Library Artifacts Cornelia Marving Pierce Klaus Linderfelt Milwaukee Public Library Campaign Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Library celebrations Inform Wisconsin trav American Library Association Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2013 bookworm Louise S. Robbins Library people Postcards Peter G. Hamon 24 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Ruby Roeder Buttons Library Systems Richard E. Krug Library History Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2011 William J. Wilson Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 caly film caly film Larry T. Nix Evansville Wisconsin Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2015 Meter mail slogans Public library systems Library people Portage Public Library Eager Free Public Library Library Trustees People Library e Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 23 Gerald A. Somers WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Free Library Commission Oshkosh Public Library campaign Manitowoc Public Library Special libraries Dorothea M. Krause S. Janice Kee Capitol Fire 1904 COLAND World War I I Love Libraries Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2012 Cam campa library memorabilia Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Black River Falls Public Library Bookmobiles Zona Gale 14 ca WLA 125 Ice Storm Edward Asahel Birge background Jane K. Billings Wisconsin State Law Library Centennial Rusk County Community Library Irene W. Newman Amer cam WAAL Council on Library and Network Development traveling libraries Public libraries Gilbert H. Doane Academic Libraries Publications Increase A. Lapham

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo