Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Wayne A. Wiegand

Wayne A. Wiegand (1946- ) 2015 Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 12, 2015
in Hall of Fame

wayne weigandWayne A. Wiegand, a native of Manitowoc, WI, is called the “dean of American library historians.” He is the F. William Summers Professor of Library and Information Studies and Professor of American Studies emeritus at Florida State University. While in Wisconsin Wiegand served as a professor in the School of Library and Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin-Madison from 1987 to 2002. Wiegand is an outstanding teacher who influenced numerous Wisconsin librarians and an innovative researcher who utilizes qualitative and flexible strategies from the broader fields of the social sciences and humanities in his research. At UW-SLIS Wiegand was a co-founder and director of the Center for the History of Print Culture in Modern America (now the Center for the History of Print and Digital Culture), a nationally respected print history research institution.  He is the author of numerous books and scholarly articles about the history of libraries and librarianship, a number of which have included significant aspects of the history of Wisconsin libraries.  His latest book, published in October 2015, is Part of Our Lives: A People’s History of the American Public Library.

Wiegand was born in Manitowoc, WI on April 15, 1946. He received a BA in history at the University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh (1968), an MA in history at the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee (1970), and an MLS at Western Michigan University and a Ph.D. in history at Southern Illinois University (1974). He was Librarian at Urbana College in Ohio (1974-1976), and on the faculty of the College of Library Science at the University of Kentucky (1976-1986). After teaching at UW-SLIS (1987-2002), Wiegand moved to Tallahassee, FL in 2003 where he joined the faculty of Florida State University. While at FSU Wiegand organized and for six years served as Director of the Florida Book Awards, now the nation's most comprehensive state book awards program. He retired in 2010 from Florida State University and currently resides with his wife in Walnut Creek, CA.

See: Wayne Wiegand's Library Trading Card.


Popular Tags

anniversaries Portage Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library James Duane Doty Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide American Library Association Library War Service T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2016 Postcards Wisconsin Library Association Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gertrude Thurow UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies National Library Week Library e Beloit Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Brown County Library Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2015 I Love Libraries Library People Library celebrations Brown Deer Public Library Lutie Stearns Edward Asahel Birge Elroy Public Library J. D. Witter Carnegie libraries Orrilla Blackshear Woman's Congress WHCLIS Ice Storm Jerome P. Daniels Oshkosh Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart background Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin Library Bulletin Clarence Brown Lester Superior Carnegie Libraries School libraries 24 library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2009 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 caly film Peter G. Hamon John J. Jax Zona Gale WLA 125 Meter mail slogans Klaus Linderfelt State Law Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Lutie Eugenia Stearns Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Public library systems Ruby Roeder caly film DeForest Area Public Library American Library Association campa 21 11 Bookmobiles Wisconsin Historical Society Council on Library and Network Development 20 state historical society Campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Exhibits Events & Meetings CCBC Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Sarah Janice Kee Special libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library History Tower Hill Wisconsin trav traveling libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Capitol Fire 1904 Jane K. Billings Dorothea M. Krause caly film Richard E. Krug Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Uncategorized Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce archives bookworm Black River Falls Evansville Wisconsin Library Buildings Rusk County Community Library Milwaukee Public Library Irene W. Newman Bernard Schwab 14 Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 Marketing-Publicity School of Library and Information Studies library exhibit S. Janice Kee Increase A. Lapham John Miller Chancellor hall of 23 Hall of Fame 2012 Madison Public Library cam Publications buil Library Trustees Hall Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Digital Collections Ripon Public Library 27 Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Inform Wisconsin Amer Charles Bunge Library Systems UW-Milwaukee Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Brown Deer Public Library Parcel post Library Artifacts Katharine MacDonald Jones bed and breakfast White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox presentations membership libraries Public libraries campaign Gilbert H. Doane Delia Ovitz Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2014 Anniversaries Appleton Public Library William J. Wilson Cam Milwaukee Art Museum WLA 125 Library Buidlings campaign World War I Gerald A. Somers WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin Rapids Centennial Hall of Fame 2010 Suring Area Public Library Postcards Library people Postcards Eager Free Public Library COLAND library legislation WAAL Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Historical Register 22 Postcards Events Milwaukee Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Cooperative Children's Book Center National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hartford Public Library Nolan I. Neds Academic Librarians Matthew S. Dudgeon Clinton Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Larry T. Nix McMillan Memorial Library Hall of Fame 2012 Black River Falls Public Library Anniversaries Carl Spitzweg Buttons 28 library education Soughton Public Library ca Hall of Fame 2013 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick books-by-mail James Huff Stout Middleton Public Library Pinback buttons campaign Library people Academic Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 People Public libraries WLA 125

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo