Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Nolan I. Neds

Nolan I. Neds (1921-2006), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014
in Hall of Fame
Nolan NedsNolan I. Neds was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Neds served as Supervisor of Neighborhood Libraries and Extension and as Deputy City Librarian of the Milwaukee Public Library (1965-1982).  He was a champion of library service to the underserved in Milwaukee County, the state, and the nation. He was active in the Wisconsin Library Association and served as President (1970-1971) during a critical period for state library legislation and funding. He implemented an innovative Community Librarian Program at the Milwaukee Public Library.
A native of Columbus, Ohio, Neds graduated from Ohio State University and received a Master’s degree in library science from Western Reserve University in Cleveland, OH. During World War II he served in the Army in India and Burma. He joined the Milwaukee Public Library in 1951. He served as a State Chairman of National Library Week. He received the Librarian of the Year award in 1971 from the Bookfellows, Friends of the Milwaukee Public Library. His WLA activities included service on the WLA Scholarship Committee and serving as Local Arrangements Chairperson for WLA Conferences. In an article in the Wisconsin Library Bulletin for Winter 1984 Neds reviewed the extensive outreach activities of the Milwaukee Public Library.


Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2015 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Ruth Ann Montgomery Exhibits Katharine MacDonald Jones Milwaukee Public Library traveling libraries Public libraries Ice Storm Milwaukee Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Amer Library History Portage Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Edward Asahel Birge bed and breakfast library education Beaver Dam Public Library library exhibit background Library Systems T. B. Scott Free Public Library archives Library Artifacts Anniversaries Lutie Stearns People Wisconsin Library Association 21 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Oshkosh Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Woman's Congress Appleton Public Library School libraries library memorabilia DeForest Area Public Library library legislation Hall of Fame 2010 caly film Brown Deer Public Library Postcards Carnegie libraries Peter G. Hamon Louise S. Robbins caly film trav Hall presentations Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Dorothea M. Krause William J. Wilson S. Janice Kee National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Beloit Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall fo Fame 2012 Zona Gale Sandra Friedman Dolnick Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown County Library Library People Pewaukee Public Library Postcards Centennial Special libraries Academic Libraries Parcel post Cooperative Children's Book Center Library Trustees Lutie Eugenia Stearns McMillan Memorial Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bernard Schwab American Library Association Library War Service Milwaukee Art Museum Public library systems Hall of Fame 2012 Nolan I. Neds WLA 125 Manitowoc Public Library WLA 125 ca Hall of Fame 2009 23 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library Buildings Events State Law Library 24 Publications Hall of Fame 2013 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2008 Soughton Public Library WAAL American Library Association Jerome P. Daniels 14 Inform Wisconsin WWI Library War Service Library people Postcards 28 Historical Register James Huff Stout membership libraries Increase A. Lapham campa Superior Carnegie Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin J. D. Witter Library people Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2012 campaign Campaign Digital Collections Richard E. Krug COLAND Anniversaries anniversaries Cornelia Marving Pierce Matthew S. Dudgeon Orrilla Blackshear Marketing-Publicity Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Uncategorized buil Madison Public Library campaign 22 Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Postcards Suring Area Public Library Pinback buttons Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 Eager Free Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Eratus Swift Wilcox caly film Brown Deer Public Library John Miller Chancellor state historical society WLA 125 Delia Ovitz 20 Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Rapids Elroy Public Library 10 Gerald A. Somers World War I Ruby Roeder Sarah Janice Kee Carl Spitzweg Meter mail slogans 11 campaign National Library Week WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin Campaign Hall of Fame 2016 Buttons Library Buidlings Capitol Fire 1904 Cam Black River Falls Middleton Public Library Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane Academic Librarians School of Library and Information Studies books-by-mail CCBC bookworm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hartford Public Library John J. Jax UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 27 Charles Bunge Black River Falls Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Library celebrations WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2014 cam Ripon Public Library Larry T. Nix James Duane Doty White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 Library e Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Frank Avery Hutchins Rusk County Community Library hall of Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Clinton Public Library Events & Meetings Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2012 Wayne A. Wiegand I Love Libraries Jane K. Billings Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo