Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Middleton Public Library

Leonard B. Archer (1913-2003)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 07, 2013
in Hall of Fame

Leonard ArcherLeonard B. Archer was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Archer served as Director of the Oshkosh Public Library (1958 to 1978) and held as joint appointment as Director of the Winnefox Library System. He initiated bookmobile service for Winnebago County and was instrumental in establishing the Winnefox Library System. He was an advocate for intellectual freedom and served as chair of the Wisconsin Library Association’s (WLA) Intellectual Freedom Committee (1963-65). He was named Librarian of the Year by WLA in 1975. He was awarded the Chancellor’s Medal for work with the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh in developing a “people’s university” in the public library. After retirement he moved to Middleton, WI in 1978 where he became active with the Middleton Public Library as a member of the library board and the Friends of the Library. He also served on the board of the South Central Library System. Archer was born in Petersburg, VA. He received a BA degree from the University of Richmond and a library degree from Emory University. Prior to coming to Wisconsin he worked in libraries in the District of Columbia, Detroit, MI, Plainfield, VT, and Rutland, VT. Archer was married to Marion Fuller Archer, who was a children's librarian, author, and faculty member at the University of Wisconsin - Oshkosh. Meeting rooms at the Middleton Public Library are named for Leonard Archer and Marion Archer.

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.



Popular Tags

UW-Milwaukee Libraries John Miller Chancellor membership libraries 28 Beloit Public Library Buttons campaign Hall of Fame 2013 Gertrude Thurow Black River Falls 20 Council on Library and Network Development bed and breakfast Library Buidlings Brown County Library presentations Brown Deer Public Library Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Ruby Roeder Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2009 Academic Libraries Bookmobiles Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Centennial 10 Klaus Linderfelt Richard E. Krug Bernard Schwab Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Portage Public Library Postcards Lucy E. Smith Morris Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2015 Exhibits Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Manitowoc Public Library 23 Events & Meetings Gerald A. Somers traveling libraries Library History Uncategorized Appleton Public Library Suring Area Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Digital Collections Parcel post library memorabilia state historical society Eratus Swift Wilcox Nolan I. Neds Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2018 Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Bob Bochfer Evansville Wisconsin Lutie Stearns World War I WLA 125 Marketing-Publicity campaign WLA 125 caly film Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Special libraries Larry T. Nix Academic Librarians Matthew S. Dudgeon School of Library and Information Studies Irene W. Newman CCBC anniversaries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library People Pewaukee Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries books-by-mail American Library Association Campaign library education Ruth Ann Montgomery Milwaukee Public Library I Love Libraries Clarence Brown Lester Delia Ovitz Wisconsin Free Library Commission Dorothea M. Krause Inform Wisconsin Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 cam 14 Zona Gale Cornelia Marving Pierce National Bookmobile Day S. Janice Kee Louise S. Robbins 11 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week Hall Cam Historical Register Wisconsin Library Bulletin Publications Wisconsin Free Library Commission WWI Library War Service J. D. Witter Library Buildings Library Trustees Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2012 21 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2017 WLA 125 Superior Carnegie Libraries Gilbert H. Doane Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin State Law Library Anniversaries Carnegie libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Events Elroy Public Library John J. Jax bookworm Pinback buttons Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee James Duane Doty Postcards Sandra Friedman Dolnick Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Library e Wilbur Lyle Eberhart School libraries caly film Cooperative Children's Book Center Robert Bocher Frank Avery Hutchins UW-Madison school of library and information studies Orrilla Blackshear Milwaukee Art Museum Library Systems caly film William J. Wilson State Law Library Rusk County Community Library 22 Meter mail slogans Capitol Fire 1904 Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2008 Amer Ice Storm Sarah Janice Kee Postcards Lutie Eugenia Stearns James Huff Stout hall of campa 27 Jane K. Billings Eager Free Public Library campaign COLAND Katharine MacDonald Jones Edward Asahel Birge library exhibit Clinton Public Library trav WHCLIS Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs 24 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services WAAL People background Public library systems Peter G. Hamon Library people WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carl Spitzweg buil Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library Artifacts library legislation Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2018 Lowell W. Wilson Public libraries Charles Bunge Hartford Public Library Soughton Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Helen Adams Hall of Fame 2011 DeForest Area Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jerome P. Daniels White House Conference on Library and Information Services ca American Library Association Library War Service Tower Hill Wisconsin Increase A. Lapham Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Middleton Public Library archives Black River Falls Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo