Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Marjorie Sornson Malmberg

Marjorie Sornson Malmberg (1914-2004) 2015 Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 12, 2015
in Hall of Fame

malmbergMarjorie Sornson Malmberg was the first official legislative advocate and paid employee for the Wisconsin Library Association.  Taking a leave of absence from her job as Director of the Appleton Public Library, she served as WLA's executive secretary and legislative representative at a salary of $150 per month.  She played a pivotal role in the legislative battle for a bill to provide state aid for a bookmobile demonstration project during the 1949 Wisconsin legislative session.  According to Benton H. Wilcox in his 1966 history of the Wisconsin Library Association, "... Mrs. Malmberg, without any previous experience, almost by her own efforts ... secured passage of the bill through both houses of the legislature ... ." She later became one of the early directors of the Washington Office of the American Library Association (1950), where she again played a major role in securing funding for libraries. Prior to her work for WLA, she served as director of the Chippewa Falls and Viroqua public libraries.

Malmberg was born in Cushing, WI on October 28, 1914. She attended Superior Teacher’s College (1932-34), received her B.A. from the University of Wisconsin in 1936, and a B.S. (in library science) from the University of Minnesota in 1938. She served as director of the Viroqua Public Library (1938-1942), the Chippewa Public Library (1942-1946), and the Appleton Public Library (1946-1949).  After her service to the Wisconsin Library Association she and her husband moved to Big Island, Virginia. In 1950 she became Director of the Washington Office of the American Library Association. The Malmbergs moved to Toledo, Ohio in 1960 where Margie went to work for the Public Library of Toledo and Lucas County. She retired there in 1976. She is listed in Who’s Who in Library Service 2nd Edition, 1943.

For more on Malmberg and WLA's finest hour Click Here.


Popular Tags

Louise S. Robbins Anniversaries Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 background campaign James Huff Stout Hartford Public Library Edward Asahel Birge 14 Campaign UW-Milwaukee Libraries campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Lucy E. Smith Morris Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Madison school of library and information studies Brown County Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library anniversaries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library people Dorothea M. Krause Academic Libraries National Library Week Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2013 Library People Public libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Centennial Clinton Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Wisconsin Rapids James Duane Doty Bernard Schwab presentations Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Library Association Lowell W. Wilson Jerome P. Daniels Matthew S. Dudgeon Campaign Special libraries John Miller Chancellor trav Clarence Brown Lester Gerald A. Somers Library celebrations Events Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Bookmobile Day Nolan I. Neds state historical society White House Conference on Library and Information Services Rusk County Community Library Amer ca Cornelia Marving Pierce Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2010 Inform Wisconsin library education Robert Bocher hall of Buttons Library Buildings Public library systems Milwaukee Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2017 S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2018 Dianne McAfee Hopkins John J. Jax Middleton Public Library Charles Bunge WLA 125 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Elroy Public Library WAAL 24 Pewaukee Public Library Ruby Roeder Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Woman's Congress Bookmobiles Larry T. Nix Oshkosh Public Library library exhibit Cam I Love Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Library Buidlings Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide bed and breakfast Klaus Linderfelt 28 buil archives Cooperative Children's Book Center Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2009 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Events & Meetings School libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Historical Register Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Superior Carnegie Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Madison Public Library WWI Library War Service People Hall of Fame 2018 WLA 125 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Digital Collections CCBC Hall of Fame 2012 Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Council on Library and Network Development Eager Free Public Library Library e School of Library and Information Studies campaign Beloit Public Library Ripon Public Library Academic Librarians library memorabilia Exhibits Ice Storm Manitowoc Public Library Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2012 William J. Wilson Library History WHCLIS Helen Adams Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Bulletin COLAND Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 Uncategorized Postcards Postcards Milwaukee Art Museum Soughton Public Library 23 Frank Avery Hutchins campa WLA 125 Richard E. Krug Public libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Zona Gale Library Artifacts Black River Falls Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2014 Publications traveling libraries American Library Association Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Gertrude Thurow J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2008 Library people Postcards 21 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2016 Library Systems Irene W. Newman Delia Ovitz Appleton Public Library 27 American Library Association Library War Service Pinback buttons 20 Events & Meetings cam books-by-mail Evansville Wisconsin Campaign World War I Bob Bochfer Suring Area Public Library caly film Katharine MacDonald Jones library legislation WLA 125 Sarah Janice Kee Orrilla Blackshear Eratus Swift Wilcox State Law Library 22 Portage Public Library bookworm Parcel post Postcards caly film Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Anniversaries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Meter mail slogans Lutie Eugenia Stearns 11 Lutie Stearns membership libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Black River Falls Public Library caly film Hall

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo