Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Lucy E. Smith Morris

Lucy E. Smith Morris, 2018 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 02, 2018
in Hall of Fame
lucy smith morris2-reducedLucy E. Smith Morris (1850-1935) was a native of Berlin, Wisconsin. She was a contemporary and colleague of charter Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame member Lutie Stearns. Lucy Morris advocated for the development of public libraries beginning in the late 19th century.  She worked to unite local women's clubs under the umbrella of the Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs.  At the group's first meeting in 1896, the group determined that the establishment of public libraries would be their top priority.  Within a year, over 100 free public libraries were established throughout Wisconsin.
Lucy Morris's efforts in promoting the expansion of public libraries resulted in her appointment as one of the founding members of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission.  Working closely with Lutie Stearns from 1897 to 1917, she supplemented the work of the Commission by recruiting volunteers from women's clubs throughout the state. She was active in the initiative to develop traveling libraries throughout the state and served as president of the Wisconsin Library Association for the 1899-1900 term of office.
Lucy Morris's contributions to libraries were recognized after her death by the Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs with the Lucy Morris Memorial Membership to the American Library Association. This honor was presented on May 15, 1936, during the Friends of the Library luncheon.


Popular Tags

Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2010 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Free Library Commission traveling libraries Digital Collections Postcards Wisconsin Library Bulletin caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2018 People McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Charles Bunge state historical society Hall of Fame 2016 Buttons Public library systems Beloit Public Library Library people Postcards Bob Bochfer WLA 125 membership libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Marjorie Sornson Malmberg James Huff Stout Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Manitowoc Public Library Uncategorized Events Rusk County Community Library Library Systems cam Sandra Friedman Dolnick Dianne McAfee Hopkins John Miller Chancellor Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2014 archives COLAND Wisconsin Free Library Commission Gertrude Thurow 23 World War I Brown Deer Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Carnegie libraries Appleton Public Library School libraries Bookmobiles Meter mail slogans Hartford Public Library 20 Exhibits Woman's Congress American Library Association Library War Service 11 Matthew S. Dudgeon background Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Klaus Linderfelt William J. Wilson library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Public libraries Library People Eager Free Public Library Milwaukee Public Library bed and breakfast Council on Library and Network Development Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2015 Irene W. Newman Ruby Roeder CCBC ca Gilbert H. Doane Hall I Love Libraries James Duane Doty State Law Library Hall of Fame 2009 Larry T. Nix Anniversaries Academic Librarians Anniversaries Pewaukee Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Parcel post Clinton Public Library 10 Hall of Fame 2015 Peter G. Hamon Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2013 Elroy Public Library caly film anniversaries Oshkosh Public Library Library Trustees Evansville Wisconsin Campaign DeForest Area Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jane K. Billings Jerome P. Daniels 28 Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Black River Falls Helen Adams campaign Lowell W. Wilson Milwaukee Art Museum Library people Amer Ruth Ann Montgomery UW-Milwaukee Libraries Ice Storm Katharine MacDonald Jones UW-Madison school of library and information studies Carl Spitzweg Orrilla Blackshear Special libraries campaign Wilbur Lyle Eberhart J. D. Witter Louise S. Robbins Soughton Public Library 14 Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2008 Library e campaign Campaign John J. Jax WLA 125 Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2018 Beaver Dam Public Library Library History Richard E. Krug Suring Area Public Library bookworm Publications Postcards Sarah Janice Kee Historical Register Academic Libraries Middleton Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns WAAL Library Buildings Black River Falls Public Library Wisconsin Rapids WWI Library War Service Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2012 Increase A. Lapham Pinback buttons National Bookmobile Day Bernard Schwab White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wayne A. Wiegand Events & Meetings Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 27 Dorothea M. Krause books-by-mail Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Portage Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library WHCLIS campa Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library exhibit Clarence Brown Lester presentations Hall of Fame 2015 22 buil Capitol Fire 1904 Robert Bocher WLA 125 American Library Association Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin Library Association Library Artifacts Cam caly film Library celebrations 24 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library trav S. Janice Kee Edward Asahel Birge National Library Week Centennial Brown County Library Wisconsin State Law Library Public libraries WLA 125 Campaign 21 Madison Public Library hall of Library Buidlings Events & Meetings Ripon Public Library Postcards Lutie Stearns library legislation Delia Ovitz library education

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo