Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Library History

On This Day 1904

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, February 27, 2009
in Events

The Wisconsin Historical Society has a "Today in History" feature on its website that alerts the viewer to what happened on this day in Wisconsin history.  I just happened to note that this was the day in 1904 when the State Capitol fire occurred. That fire dramatically impacted the Wisconsin Free Library Commission and the State Law Library which we reported on in an earlier post.


Popular Tags

Council on Library and Network Development cam Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library People Hall of Fame 2017 Superior Carnegie Libraries 27 Clarence Brown Lester Library Systems Events & Meetings UW-Madison school of library and information studies caly film Soughton Public Library WLA 125 books-by-mail Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 20 Special libraries Black River Falls Cooperative Children's Book Center Academic Librarians UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies I Love Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Buttons Inform Wisconsin Public libraries Library people Postcards Hartford Public Library Madison Public Library 28 Library celebrations Portage Public Library 14 Library Trustees Events archives Hall of Fame 2014 Jane K. Billings campa Library Artifacts Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2012 American Library Association Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee WLA 125 Wisconsin Historical Society Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Library Bulletin Tower Hill Wisconsin Parcel post Black River Falls Public Library Peter G. Hamon Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Bernard Schwab Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin Free Library Commission presentations UW-Milwaukee Libraries campaign 21 Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Bookmobiles bed and breakfast School libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Gerald A. Somers library education Library Buidlings Campaign State Law Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2012 Brown County Library Carnegie libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins 23 hall of Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2009 Capitol Fire 1904 Publications anniversaries American Library Association Library War Service James Huff Stout library exhibit library memorabilia Postcards Oshkosh Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Manitowoc Public Library Library History Wayne A. Wiegand Richard E. Krug Campaign Library Buildings caly film Zona Gale Evansville Wisconsin Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library CCBC Middleton Public Library Elroy Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2012 Klaus Linderfelt John Miller Chancellor Dorothea M. Krause Cornelia Marving Pierce Brown Deer Public Library J. D. Witter Clinton Public Library WAAL Ruby Roeder Marketing-Publicity Centennial Charles Bunge caly film National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2008 Anniversaries William J. Wilson WWI Library War Service library legislation National Library Week Amer Library e Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends 24 Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2015 Historical Register Gertrude Thurow Sandra Friedman Dolnick Eager Free Public Library Anniversaries COLAND Digital Collections Uncategorized Irene W. Newman Lutie Eugenia Stearns Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Stearns Public library systems 22 Postcards Nolan I. Neds Exhibits Pewaukee Public Library Louise S. Robbins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pinback buttons Ice Storm Katharine MacDonald Jones WLA 125 Ripon Public Library background Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries DeForest Area Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg ca Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries trav membership libraries Postcards Wisconsin Library Association Public libraries Increase A. Lapham Sarah Janice Kee McMillan Memorial Library Rusk County Community Library Suring Area Public Library bookworm Campaign Carl Spitzweg buil People World War I Beloit Public Library WLA 125 John J. Jax WHCLIS campaign Events & Meetings Hall state historical society Meter mail slogans Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Academic Libraries S. Janice Kee 11 Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Larry T. Nix Hall of Fame 2010 Cam Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide traveling libraries Appleton Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery 10 campaign Delia Ovitz Library people Jerome P. Daniels School of Library and Information Studies Woman's Congress Wisconsin Free Library Commission

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo