Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Irene W. Newman

Irene W. Newman (1895 -2005), 2016 Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, October 13, 2016
in Hall of Fame
Irene W. Newman was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association annual meeting in Milwaukee on October 27, 2016
Irene Newman served the State of Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction for 43 years, first as the assistant supervisor of school libraries, and, after her appointment in 1937, as Wisconsin supervisor of school libraries, a position Irene held until her retirement in 1965. Under her leadership, libraries were established in the smaller high schools and at the elementary level. During this period, the place of libraries in a school was legalized and certified teacher librarians became compulsory. As supervisor, Newman served as secretary of the Wisconsin Reading Circle Board which directed the supplementary reading in the grades and professional reading for teachers. She served as president of the Wisconsin Library Association (1935-1936), a past treasurer of the Wisconsin Library School Association, and served on numerous committees on education and book selection, including the original committee for the Cooperative Children's Book Center.  Newman was a member of Sigma Kappa Social Sorority, from which she received a diamond anniversary certificate, and also the Alpha Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Honorary International Educational Society, for many decades. Other memberships included the American Library Association, the Wisconsin Alumni Association and its Half Century Club, the State Historical Society, Dane County Red Cross, St. Martins Guild, St. Anne's Altar Society of Holy Redeemer Church, the Madison Catholic Woman's Club, the Catholic Daughters of America, and the Madison Area Retired Education Association. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1917 with a B.A. degree, and from the U.W. Library School (now the School of Library and Information Studies) in 1918. She was the oldest living U.W. alumna for several years prior to her death. After receiving her library degree she worked with the Minneapolis Public Library system, and then returned to Madison to join the Wisconsin Library Commission. A large donation was made to the WLA Foundation from her estate in 2005. 


Popular Tags

Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Dick Sorensen Madison Public Library hall of Library Buildings Meter mail slogans Carl Spitzweg Lutie Eugenia Stearns archives Cam Larry T. Nix People UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Bernard Schwab Historical Register Library People DeForest Area Public Library Helen Adams Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Manitowoc Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Digital Collections Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Richard E. Krug Dorothea M. Krause 20 Council on Library and Network Development Library Artifacts Cooperative Children's Book Center library exhibit Hall of Fame 2015 Buttons Public libraries caly film Dick Sorensen Anniversaries Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign John Miller Chancellor library memorabilia Carnegie libraries Louise S. Robbins Zona Gale WAAL Sarah Janice Kee Centennial Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Increase A. Lapham National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2013 Edward Asahel Birge Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Parcel post books-by-mail Pinback buttons Bob Bochfer S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries trav Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2015 14 Wayne A. Wiegand Beaver Dam Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2009 Nolan I. Neds Hall Wisconsin State Law Library 28 Black River Falls Public Library Postcards membership libraries WLA 125 I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2014 Charles Bunge Beloit Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Suring Area Public Library CCBC William J. Wilson Clarence Brown Lester Events Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library e Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2017 COLAND 24 Wisconsin Library Bulletin UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 World War I Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign Events & Meetings Superior Carnegie Libraries Publications Evansville Wisconsin Pewaukee Public Library presentations McMillan Memorial Library Hall of Fame 2018 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 21 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John J. Jax Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library School of Library and Information Studies James Duane Doty buil Wisconsin Free Library Commission Middleton Public Library Black River Falls Irene W. Newman Campaign caly film Library people Library Buidlings Milwaukee Art Museum James Huff Stout Soughton Public Library Library celebrations Public library systems Exhibits campaign Academic Libraries anniversaries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Rusk County Community Library ca Wisconsin Historical Society campaign 27 Eager Free Public Library Ruby Roeder School libraries 10 American Library Association Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Bookmobiles Special libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Brown County Library J. D. Witter 22 Jerome P. Daniels Orrilla Blackshear Library Systems Eratus Swift Wilcox Amer Ice Storm Inform Wisconsin Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards caly film Delia Ovitz 11 American Library Association Library War Service Oshkosh Public Library Portage Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hartford Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Robert Bocher Woman's Congress Milwaukee Public Library Anniversaries Clinton Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Jane K. Billings Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Milwaukee Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services state historical society Hall of Fame 2011 Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2018 Hall fo Fame 2012 WWI Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lucy E. Smith Morris WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2019 bookworm library legislation Uncategorized traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2012 cam National Library Week background Klaus Linderfelt Brown Deer Public Library Library people Postcards Richard J. Sorensen Library History White House Conference on Library and Information Services Gertrude Thurow campaign Academic Librarians Lutie Stearns bed and breakfast Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 WHCLIS Appleton Public Library Library Trustees Events & Meetings Public libraries Nancy Marshall Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians campa State Law Library 23 Ruth Ann Montgomery library education

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo