Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services

The 1979 White House Conference on Library and Information Services

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 18, 2016
in WLA 125
The first White House Conference on Library and Information Services (WHCLIS) took place in Washington, D. C. on November 15-19, 1979.  Preceding WHCLIS each state in the nation held a pre-conference.  In September, 1978 148 delegates representing communities and institutions from around Wisconsin gathered in Madison for the Wisconsin Governor’s Conference on Library and Information Services.  The Governor’s Conference had been preceded by meetings of hundreds of citizens in ten areas of the state in June-July, 1978 to discuss their concerns and needs for library and information services. Four delegates selected at the Governor’s Conference represented Wisconsin at WHCLIS.  They were James White, La Crosse; Jenelle Elder, Milwaukee; Jan Coombs, Marshfield; and John J. Jax, Menomenee Falls. The delegates at WHCLIS passed 64 resolutions to improve the quality and access to library and information services.  A second WHCLIS took place in 1991.  It too was pre-ceded by state level conferences including one in Wisconsin that took place in Madison in February, 1991. 


Popular Tags

White House Conference on Library and Information Services 27 Wisconsin Free Library Commission membership libraries American Library Association Library War Service Portage Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Meter mail slogans School of Library and Information Studies Library People Jane K. Billings Library celebrations Dianne McAfee Hopkins J. D. Witter Hall fo Fame 2012 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Association Katharine MacDonald Jones Hartford Public Library State Law Library Library e 11 Cam Hall of Fame 2011 Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2018 People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Milwaukee Public Library COLAND Anniversaries Milwaukee Art Museum Uncategorized Gilbert H. Doane Library Buildings UW-Madison school of library and information studies Campaign 22 20 Council on Library and Network Development Superior Carnegie Libraries Clinton Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Inform Wisconsin Carnegie libraries Black River Falls Bob Bochfer Academic Librarians Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Brown Deer Public Library S. Janice Kee books-by-mail library education Lucy E. Smith Morris Library Trustees Marketing-Publicity caly film Brown County Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Postcards Eratus Swift Wilcox Richard E. Krug campaign Library Systems Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2012 John J. Jax traveling libraries Ice Storm Campaign Ruth Ann Montgomery Evansville Wisconsin Nolan I. Neds Hall Centennial Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Free Library Commission Sarah Janice Kee caly film Oshkosh Public Library Library History Anniversaries Buttons McMillan Memorial Library I Love Libraries Academic Libraries caly film School libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Suring Area Public Library 10 Hall of Fame 2017 state historical society Pinback buttons Public libraries Postcards Woman's Congress Pewaukee Public Library library memorabilia Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries ca Zona Gale Exhibits Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 28 William J. Wilson Milwaukee Public Library Gertrude Thurow Publications Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Helen Adams Parcel post Larry T. Nix Events Soughton Public Library American Library Association Robert Bocher WLA 125 Appleton Public Library Postcards campa Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Charles Bunge Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wisconsin Historical Society Bernard Schwab Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Cornelia Marving Pierce library legislation Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2012 National Library Week Tower Hill Wisconsin trav John Miller Chancellor Lutie Eugenia Stearns background Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2015 Digital Collections Orrilla Blackshear Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2015 campaign Historical Register Edward Asahel Birge Ripon Public Library Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2010 presentations Beloit Public Library bed and breakfast Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 World War I bookworm 24 archives CCBC Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Dorothea M. Krause Public library systems Hall of Fame 2016 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings WLA 125 Middleton Public Library Ruby Roeder Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library Buidlings Bookmobiles WLA 125 James Huff Stout campaign Irene W. Newman Special libraries Jerome P. Daniels Capitol Fire 1904 Delia Ovitz Beaver Dam Public Library Gerald A. Somers Library people Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2013 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2015 Elroy Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Madison Public Library National Bookmobile Day WHCLIS Black River Falls Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg WAAL hall of Manitowoc Public Library buil 14 DeForest Area Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Rapids Public libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center WWI Library War Service cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Amer James Duane Doty Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Lowell W. Wilson library exhibit 21 Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2008 Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 anniversaries 23 Clarence Brown Lester

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo