Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Cornelia Marving Pierce

Cornelia Marvin Pierce (1873-1957)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
in Hall of Fame

Cornelia Marvin PierceCornelia Marvin Pierce (then Cornelia Marvin) served as head of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission Summer School of Library Training during the summers of 1897 and 1898. In 1899 she became a full-time employee of the Wisconsin Library Commission as library instructor and director of the Summer School of Library Training. It was due largely to the success of the summer training sessions that the Commission established a permanent library school that is now the School of Library and Information Studies of the University of Wisconsin – Madison. In 1905 she left Wisconsin to become the first secretary of the Oregon Library Commission which became the Oregon State Library in 1913. She served as Oregon State Librarian until 1928. She married Walter M. Pierce in 1928. She is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography. She was included on the National Advocacy Honor Roll by the American Library Association in 2000 for her contribution as an advocate for library services in the 20th century.  Pierce was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Brisley, Melissa Ann. "Cornelia Marvin Pierce: Pioneer In Library Extension" The Library Quarterly, vol. 38, no. 3, April 1968: 125-153.


Popular Tags

Wisconsin State Law Library Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Dorothea M. Krause Pewaukee Public Library presentations Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Buttons Peter G. Hamon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Louise S. Robbins Wisconsin Library Bulletin Public libraries Rusk County Community Library books-by-mail 20 Irene W. Newman 21 11 J. D. Witter Lowell W. Wilson Library Trustees Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2015 Library People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Delia Ovitz 22 Clarence Brown Lester Amer 23 campa Cooperative Children's Book Center COLAND Council on Library and Network Development Public libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Brown County Library Events & Meetings Helen Adams Hall of Fame 2010 Library e John J. Jax Brown Deer Public Library campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services Bernard Schwab Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 archives UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Matthew S. Dudgeon Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2011 DeForest Area Public Library Special libraries Library people Hall fo Fame 2012 campaign bookworm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Library Artifacts Library History Events Hall of Fame 2013 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Ruby Roeder caly film Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library caly film Evansville Wisconsin American Library Association Library War Service Appleton Public Library trav T. B. Scott Free Public Library Parcel post Pinback buttons state historical society Robert Bocher Clinton Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Library Buildings Wisconsin Library Association School libraries Frank Avery Hutchins Historical Register Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Free Library Commission McMillan Memorial Library CCBC Richard E. Krug Anniversaries Inform Wisconsin Elroy Public Library Anniversaries ca traveling libraries Postcards Marketing-Publicity library legislation 27 Ruth Ann Montgomery Madison Public Library Gerald A. Somers People Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buidlings WLA 125 Suring Area Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Gilbert H. Doane National Library Week Oshkosh Public Library Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Events & Meetings Jerome P. Daniels Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Edward Asahel Birge Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2017 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 library memorabilia Library celebrations James Huff Stout S. Janice Kee Middleton Public Library Beloit Public Library cam WLA 125 24 Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Lutie Stearns campaign Academic Librarians 10 anniversaries Zona Gale Cam Carl Spitzweg Ice Storm bed and breakfast Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies caly film Digital Collections background School of Library and Information Studies Orrilla Blackshear Dianne McAfee Hopkins James Duane Doty World War I library exhibit Nolan I. Neds Campaign membership libraries Gertrude Thurow American Library Association Black River Falls Milwaukee Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Increase A. Lapham WWI Library War Service Postcards Publications Larry T. Nix Wayne A. Wiegand Hall of Fame 2009 Portage Public Library Hartford Public Library WLA 125 Postcards Hall John Miller Chancellor Library people Postcards Charles Bunge Library Systems buil Hall of Fame 2015 hall of Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends William J. Wilson WLA 125 Katharine MacDonald Jones State Law Library Wisconsin Rapids Campaign Manitowoc Public Library Soughton Public Library National Bookmobile Day Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Sarah Janice Kee library education Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Exhibits Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Academic Libraries I Love Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Lucy E. Smith Morris Jane K. Billings Campaign 14 Public library systems Wisconsin Free Library Commission Woman's Congress WHCLIS Lutie Eugenia Stearns Meter mail slogans Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 28 Centennial WAAL Eratus Swift Wilcox

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo