Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Bernard Schwab

Bernard Schwab (1920-1990)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 08, 2013
in Hall of Fame

Bernard SchwabBernard (Bernie) Schwab was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Schwab served as Director of the Madison Public Library from 1957 to 1981. Under his leadership the library built a new central library and five branch libraries were added. He established the Dane County Historical Records Center, the Municipal Reference Service, and the Madison Area Library Council. He helped to create the first Friends of the Library group in Wisconsin. The Madison Public Library was named Library of the Year in 1966. He served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1966-67 and was named Librarian of the Year in 1970. Schwab was chair of the Wisconsin Council for Library Development in 1973-74. Schwab was WLA’s representative to the American Library Association (ALA) and served on ALA’s joint committee on library service to labor. Schwab was born in Brooklyn, NY. He received a Bachelor’s degree from the College of the City of New York in 1943 and a Library Science degree from the Pratt Institute. Prior to coming to Madison he held several positions at the District of Columbia Public Library in Washington, DC. Before becoming Director he served as Assistant Director of the Madison Public Library from 1954 to 1957. After his death in 1990, the City Council changed the name of the central library to the Bernard Schwab Library.

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


Popular Tags

Katharine MacDonald Jones William J. Wilson Public libraries library education Library Systems Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Gerald A. Somers traveling libraries DeForest Area Public Library Hartford Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Centennial Campaign UW-Madison school of library and information studies James Huff Stout Madison Public Library Charles Bunge Wayne A. Wiegand Buttons Campaign Peter G. Hamon Black River Falls Public Library Irene W. Newman presentations American Library Association Library War Service Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Amer Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Marketing-Publicity Exhibits Gertrude Thurow campaign Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2010 14 Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2016 Bookmobiles Library People Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2008 School libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Free Library Commission Elroy Public Library People Hall of Fame 2012 campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Parcel post WWI Library War Service caly film Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Postcards Postcards Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Clinton Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Zona Gale Klaus Linderfelt 21 state historical society Larry T. Nix Dorothea M. Krause Hall fo Fame 2012 Library people Suring Area Public Library John Miller Chancellor 28 Public library systems Middleton Public Library Bernard Schwab Delia Ovitz Orrilla Blackshear Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library anniversaries J. D. Witter Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Nolan I. Neds Brown County Library Portage Public Library Soughton Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Ice Storm Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Rapids National Library Week library legislation ca Clarence Brown Lester COLAND WHCLIS Library Buildings Milwaukee Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Academic Libraries State Law Library Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL 27 10 Brown Deer Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon campa Edward Asahel Birge Hall Hall of Fame 2009 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Academic Librarians 23 Hall of Fame 2015 Superior Carnegie Libraries School of Library and Information Studies Cam Wisconsin Library Bulletin caly film library memorabilia Beloit Public Library Ripon Public Library Digital Collections Events & Meetings 22 Library people Postcards caly film Milwaukee Public Library Public libraries Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2015 Woman's Congress Lutie Stearns CCBC Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2011 books-by-mail Events & Meetings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Oshkosh Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign Postcards World War I Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2015 bed and breakfast WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2014 Appleton Public Library Sarah Janice Kee background library exhibit National Bookmobile Day Jerome P. Daniels Publications Events Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries trav 24 Pinback buttons membership libraries Richard E. Krug Historical Register Library History archives Lutie Eugenia Stearns Council on Library and Network Development cam Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Carl Spitzweg Milwaukee Art Museum Library Trustees hall of S. Janice Kee Wisconsin Library Association Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Historical Society Uncategorized buil Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls Ruth Ann Montgomery Special libraries American Library Association 11 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Carnegie libraries Eager Free Public Library Library celebrations Manitowoc Public Library 20 I Love Libraries WLA 125 Tower Hill Wisconsin Increase A. Lapham T. B. Scott Free Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries WLA 125 bookworm UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Evansville Wisconsin Gilbert H. Doane Inform Wisconsin Anniversaries Library Buidlings Rusk County Community Library James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2013

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo