Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Wilbur Lyle Eberhart (1922-2010), 2014 WI Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 07, 2014 in Hall of Fame
Lyle EberhartLyle Eberhart was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2014 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells. Eberhart was the first administrator of the Division for Library Services in the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction after the Wisconsin Free Library Commission was abolished. He served in this capacity from 1965 to 1981 which included the period when Wisconsin’s public library system legislation was passed and implemented.He was a founding member of the Chief Officers of State Library Agencies (COSLA), and served as its President (1980-81). He served as President of the Midwest Regional Library Network (1966-67). He was an active contributor to the professional literature of librarianship.
Eberhart was born on May 30, 1922, in Topeka, Kansas. He earned a bachelor’s degree with a joint major in history and English from Washburn College (Topeka) in 1945, followed by graduate study in American history at the University of Wisconsin from 1945 to 1949. He received a master’s degree in library science at the University of Wisconsin in 1951. From 1951 to 1959, he was a librarian at the Detroit Public Library, and was a branch library chief there until 1962. In 1962 he became a public library consultant in the Wisconsin Free Library Commission, a post he held until 1965 when he became administrator of the newly created Division for Library Services, Wisconsin's state library agency.  


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, February 21, 2018


Popular Tags

Bernard Schwab Cam Hall hall of trav Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2011 bed and breakfast Charles Bunge WHCLIS library exhibit presentations library education Council on Library and Network Development Library e Campaign Ruth Ann Montgomery John J. Jax CCBC Eratus Swift Wilcox 10 James Huff Stout library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2014 Milwaukee Art Museum Larry T. Nix Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Library Bulletin Peter G. Hamon Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 21 WLA 125 Bookmobiles Beaver Dam Public Library membership libraries Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Historical Society Clarence Brown Lester Campaign 14 Irene W. Newman Oshkosh Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library people Postcards Dorothea M. Krause Library Buidlings campaign Carnegie libraries Postcards School of Library and Information Studies Elroy Public Library Events Events & Meetings 11 Rusk County Community Library Anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library legislation Sandra Friedman Dolnick James Duane Doty Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library cam 28 Portage Public Library Lowell W. Wilson ca Public library systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pinback buttons Postcards Wayne A. Wiegand WAAL J. D. Witter Inform Wisconsin Cornelia Marving Pierce Dianne McAfee Hopkins Suring Area Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Milwaukee Public Library Milwaukee Public Library caly film Edward Asahel Birge Appleton Public Library background Special libraries McMillan Memorial Library campa Centennial Historical Register Hall fo Fame 2012 Zona Gale Library History Amer Hall of Fame 2012 Pewaukee Public Library 20 Gertrude Thurow Brown Deer Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Marketing-Publicity Publications Carl Spitzweg Beloit Public Library anniversaries WWI Library War Service Library People Lutie Eugenia Stearns WLA 125 Middleton Public Library Meter mail slogans Evansville Wisconsin books-by-mail campaign Katharine MacDonald Jones UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2013 Parcel post Hall of Fame 2012 Orrilla Blackshear Soughton Public Library Uncategorized caly film archives Academic Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins Hartford Public Library Digital Collections UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Postcards Sarah Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John Miller Chancellor Cooperative Children's Book Center traveling libraries Black River Falls Matthew S. Dudgeon Ruby Roeder Exhibits Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug Campaign People state historical society World War I National Library Week COLAND I Love Libraries Madison Public Library Brown County Library 23 Woman's Congress Gerald A. Somers buil 24 Eager Free Public Library Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2012 27 American Library Association Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Stearns Delia Ovitz Jerome P. Daniels 22 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library celebrations Public libraries Clinton Public Library Library Artifacts School libraries Anniversaries Tower Hill Wisconsin caly film UW-Madison school of library and information studies Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2010 Buttons Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Jane K. Billings S. Janice Kee Library Trustees Capitol Fire 1904 Library people T. B. Scott Free Public Library State Law Library Ice Storm campaign Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2015 American Library Association Library War Service Public libraries Library Systems Library Buildings Events & Meetings Academic Librarians WLA 125 Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2017 National Bookmobile Day William J. Wilson Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Library Association bookworm WLA 125 DeForest Area Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo