Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

The 1979 White House Conference on Library and Information Services

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 18, 2016 in WLA 125
The first White House Conference on Library and Information Services (WHCLIS) took place in Washington, D. C. on November 15-19, 1979.  Preceding WHCLIS each state in the nation held a pre-conference.  In September, 1978 148 delegates representing communities and institutions from around Wisconsin gathered in Madison for the Wisconsin Governor’s Conference on Library and Information Services.  The Governor’s Conference had been preceded by meetings of hundreds of citizens in ten areas of the state in June-July, 1978 to discuss their concerns and needs for library and information services. Four delegates selected at the Governor’s Conference represented Wisconsin at WHCLIS.  They were James White, La Crosse; Jenelle Elder, Milwaukee; Jan Coombs, Marshfield; and John J. Jax, Menomenee Falls. The delegates at WHCLIS passed 64 resolutions to improve the quality and access to library and information services.  A second WHCLIS took place in 1991.  It too was pre-ceded by state level conferences including one in Wisconsin that took place in Madison in February, 1991. 


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, April 27, 2017


Popular Tags

Hall Library Buidlings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Gertrude Thurow Postcards Madison Public Library Portage Public Library Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Appleton Public Library Publications Wisconsin Library Association Suring Area Public Library William J. Wilson WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Anniversaries Events & Meetings Buttons Parcel post Jane K. Billings Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library Artifacts 20 Klaus Linderfelt Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Katharine MacDonald Jones caly film archives library education bed and breakfast UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies American Library Association Library War Service Nolan I. Neds 21 Sarah Janice Kee 14 22 Ripon Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Capitol Fire 1904 10 bookworm trav Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2015 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Pinback buttons Campaign WAAL Lutie Eugenia Stearns S. Janice Kee CCBC Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2012 Ice Storm Hall fo Fame 2012 Orrilla Blackshear Bernard Schwab Frank Avery Hutchins National Library Week WLA 125 Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2010 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Carl Spitzweg library legislation WWI Library War Service Marketing-Publicity Library Systems ca Jerome P. Daniels Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Stearns Centennial Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Inform Wisconsin Library people Special libraries Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Woman's Congress Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide books-by-mail National Bookmobile Day Soughton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Middleton Public Library Postcards School libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission campaign UW-Madison school of library and information studies Eager Free Public Library caly film Superior Carnegie Libraries Public library systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clarence Brown Lester Pewaukee Public Library J. D. Witter Council on Library and Network Development Public libraries membership libraries state historical society Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 John Miller Chancellor Library People cam Brown County Library Library Buildings hall of Historical Register Beaver Dam Public Library Beloit Public Library Amer Cornelia Marving Pierce DeForest Area Public Library Cam Academic Libraries Increase A. Lapham 11 Events Wisconsin State Law Library Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 World War I Manitowoc Public Library COLAND Hall of Fame 2008 23 Academic Librarians Uncategorized Gerald A. Somers Delia Ovitz anniversaries Charles Bunge American Library Association Black River Falls Carnegie libraries People Ruth Ann Montgomery State Law Library Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee Libraries James Duane Doty caly film Wisconsin Library Bulletin Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 24 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Clinton Public Library presentations Rusk County Community Library traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2014 School of Library and Information Studies Anniversaries 27 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library people Postcards Postcards Wayne A. Wiegand Peter G. Hamon Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2015 background Irene W. Newman Milwaukee Art Museum Tower Hill Wisconsin WHCLIS Matthew S. Dudgeon Eratus Swift Wilcox Larry T. Nix Dorothea M. Krause Black River Falls Public Library buil Campaign campa Public libraries library exhibit McMillan Memorial Library campaign Meter mail slogans Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2011 Library e Wisconsin Historical Society 28 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Brown Deer Public Library campaign Events & Meetings James Huff Stout Brown Deer Public Library Richard E. Krug library memorabilia Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Campaign Digital Collections Library History Library Trustees WLA 125 Elroy Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo