Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Robert (Bob) Bocher, 2018 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 02, 2018 in Hall of Fame
bob bocherRobert (Bob) Bocher dedicated his career to the use of technology to improve library service to the public, emerging as a state and national leader in this field.  He worked for decades to improve resource sharing throughout the state and saw the proliferation of library system and multi-system shared integrated library systems which helped make Wisconsin number one nationally in public library resource sharing per capita.
Bocher championed the development of library systems’ wide area networks through his tireless work with BadgerNet, WiscNet, TEACH and the federal e-rate programs to help bring fast and affordable advanced telecommunications to Wisconsin schools and libraries, including those in small and rural communities. Through this work, Bocher became both a state and national e-rate expert.
During his career with Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction and continuing on into retirement, Bocher lent his expertise to libraries nationally through his work with many information technology committees and as an ALA Fellow. He currently sits on the Board of Directors of the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC) which administers the federal E-rate program and the Universal Service Fund (USF).
Locally and statewide he was always available to answer questions and provide consultation with both library system and public library information technology projects. He always provided assistance with never ending patience and a smile. Bob Bocher actually gave a true and sincere meaning to the old cynical, bureaucratic line, “I’m from the State and I’m here to help.”


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, April 24, 2019


Popular Tags

Public libraries campaign Sarah Janice Kee Historical Register UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies COLAND 24 Special libraries archives bookworm Capitol Fire 1904 I Love Libraries Carnegie libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Buttons 23 Madison Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide People Gerald A. Somers Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Orrilla Blackshear Peter G. Hamon Rusk County Community Library DeForest Area Public Library Hall Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls Public Library Ruby Roeder Hall fo Fame 2012 T. B. Scott Free Public Library buil CCBC Sandra Friedman Dolnick caly film Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2016 Anniversaries Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2013 Publications presentations Library Buildings Charles Bunge Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin State Law Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library Artifacts Library celebrations Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Free Library Commission National Library Week Hall of Fame 2011 Bernard Schwab Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library people School of Library and Information Studies Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2014 20 Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Beloit Public Library William J. Wilson membership libraries Lutie Stearns Matthew S. Dudgeon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries caly film John J. Jax library education Library people Postcards Klaus Linderfelt J. D. Witter 22 Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Library e state historical society Academic Libraries WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library Trustees Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 10 Brown Deer Public Library anniversaries James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2010 Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2017 State Law Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin WHCLIS James Huff Stout Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library People Middleton Public Library campaign Exhibits Superior Carnegie Libraries Campaign Library Buidlings Wisconsin Library Association American Library Association Clarence Brown Lester Campaign Tower Hill Wisconsin hall of UW-Madison school of library and information studies Milwaukee Art Museum Evansville Wisconsin Woman's Congress traveling libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Black River Falls campaign Portage Public Library Postcards Library History Ripon Public Library WWI Library War Service WAAL Bookmobiles bed and breakfast Events & Meetings Cam Library Systems background Council on Library and Network Development Amer Larry T. Nix Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Helen Adams 21 Dorothea M. Krause Ruth Ann Montgomery WLA 125 Ice Storm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins School libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2015 Pewaukee Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Irene W. Newman Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends campa Manitowoc Public Library 27 Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Postcards Digital Collections Campaign Katharine MacDonald Jones trav Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wayne A. Wiegand Academic Librarians Louise S. Robbins National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Rapids caly film Jane K. Billings Gilbert H. Doane library exhibit WLA 125 S. Janice Kee Eager Free Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 28 Marketing-Publicity library legislation Hall of Fame 2015 cam Brown County Library Public libraries Centennial ca American Library Association Library War Service Zona Gale Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Lowell W. Wilson Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Lucy E. Smith Morris John Miller Chancellor Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Meter mail slogans Parcel post Nolan I. Neds World War I 11 Delia Ovitz Clinton Public Library Robert Bocher library memorabilia Soughton Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Milwaukee Public Library Public library systems Oshkosh Public Library Bob Bochfer Uncategorized Suring Area Public Library WLA 125 books-by-mail Pinback buttons 14 Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Events

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo