Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Rachel Katherine Schenk (1899-1973)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, October 24, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Rachel SchenkRachel Katherine Schenk served as Director of the Wisconsin Library School (now the School of Library and Information Studies of the University of Wisconsin – Madison) from 1951 to 1963. Prior to becoming Director she was a faculty member at the school. While Director she was responsible for the implementation of the master’s program at the library school. After her retirement from the Madison library school she helped implement the library science program at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee. She received the WLA Citation of Merit in 1960.  She was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Robbins, Louise S. "Chapter 4 Leave It to Rachel: The Schenk Years 1951-1963" in Tradition and Vision: Library and Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin, A Centennial History (Univ. of Wisconsin, 2006).


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, July 20, 2019


Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2015 Gerald A. Somers Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Campaign American Library Association Library War Service Charles Bunge WLA 125 Gilbert H. Doane archives Wisconsin Library Association World War I 23 Wisconsin State Law Library state historical society Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 Milwaukee Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Delia Ovitz Events campa cam Gertrude Thurow Library celebrations caly film Centennial Carl Spitzweg Brown Deer Public Library Meter mail slogans 14 Hall fo Fame 2012 campaign Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2015 Lucy E. Smith Morris Pewaukee Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaign Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Free Library Commission Tower Hill Wisconsin James Huff Stout Hall Hall of Fame 2012 Eager Free Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Irene W. Newman Buttons 20 Campaign Library Buidlings Larry T. Nix campaign Library people Postcards Bookmobiles Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin T. B. Scott Free Public Library Robert Bocher Wisconsin Historical Society Library People Louise S. Robbins I Love Libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs hall of 27 Zona Gale Cooperative Children's Book Center Pinback buttons Woman's Congress Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2018 library legislation Hall of Fame 2008 Matthew S. Dudgeon Capitol Fire 1904 Wayne A. Wiegand campaign Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Library Bulletin COLAND Cam 28 Sarah Janice Kee Beaver Dam Public Library Carnegie libraries Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 S. Janice Kee Jane K. Billings Anniversaries Richard E. Krug Public libraries 11 Council on Library and Network Development Academic Librarians UW-Milwaukee Libraries books-by-mail Uncategorized Events & Meetings Evansville Wisconsin People Lutie Stearns National Bookmobile Day Ice Storm buil Parcel post William J. Wilson Clarence Brown Lester library exhibit presentations traveling libraries WAAL Library people Exhibits WLA 125 Wisconsin Rapids Edward Asahel Birge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Trustees Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 10 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins WHCLIS 21 Brown County Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies James Duane Doty library education Frank Avery Hutchins John J. Jax 22 Historical Register Peter G. Hamon caly film Wisconsin Free Library Commission Events & Meetings UW-Madison school of library and information studies DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 WLA 125 School libraries Amer Public library systems Clinton Public Library Academic Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries State Law Library Klaus Linderfelt Helen Adams caly film White House Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards Postcards Lutie Eugenia Stearns Black River Falls Public Library John Miller Chancellor J. D. Witter ca Bob Bochfer Special libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library History Beloit Public Library Ripon Public Library Publications Nolan I. Neds Ruby Roeder WLA 125 Increase A. Lapham Dorothea M. Krause 24 Orrilla Blackshear McMillan Memorial Library Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians bed and breakfast Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Brown Deer Public Library National Library Week Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Soughton Public Library Digital Collections Library Artifacts Elroy Public Library Black River Falls CCBC Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2013 Portage Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries background membership libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center anniversaries Lowell W. Wilson Postcards Hall of Fame 2014 Suring Area Public Library American Library Association Eratus Swift Wilcox Library e trav Katharine MacDonald Jones Cornelia Marving Pierce Public libraries Madison Public Library Library Systems School of Library and Information Studies Middleton Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2015 Sandra Friedman Dolnick bookworm Anniversaries library memorabilia WWI Library War Service Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2015

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo