Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Origin of Wisconsin's Public Library Law (WLA 125)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, January 26, 2016 in WLA 125
erastus-swift-willcoxWisconsin's original public library law was introduced as Assembly Bill no. 87, 1872 on January 26, 1872 by Assemblyman Alexander Graham of Janesville, Wisconsin. It was approved by the Governor on March 22, 1872. The  Graham Bill was remarkably similar to a bill introduced in the Illinois Legislature on March 23, 1871 and signed into law on March 7, 1872.  So similar, in fact, that there is little doubt that Wisconsin's public library law was based on the one in Illinois.  A key provision is almost identical: "Every library and reading-room established under this act, shall be forever free to the use of the inhabitants of the city or village where located, always subject to such reasonable rules and regulations as the library board may find necessary to adopt and publish ...".
Erastus Swift Willcox (pictured above), while librarian of the Peoria Mercantile Library, a forerunner of the Peoria Public Library, conceived the public library law that was substantially enacted by both Illinois and Wisconsin in 1872 and which was a model for a number of other states. Although New Hampshire adopted a state public library law in 1849, a solid case has been made that Willcox's public library law was the first comprehensive state public library law. Willcox realized that the fees charged by mercantile libraries and other membership libraries were not only inadequate for funding library service but that they were significant barriers to library use by the general public. Little is known of Alexander Graham's motivation for introducing the Wisconsin law or the specifics of how he became aware of the Illinois bill. He was, however, a member of the Janesville Young Men's Association, a membership library which experienced some of the same challenges as those of the Peoria Mercantile Library. A major motivating factor in the passage of the Illinois law was the movement to create a public library for the City of Chicago. The City of Chicago passed an ordinance under the new act creating the Chicago Public Library on April 1, 1872. The Black River Falls Public Library was the first public library created under Wisconsin's public library law of 1872.
Originally posted on June 19, 2009


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, February 16, 2019


Popular Tags

Library Artifacts Meter mail slogans Robert Bocher Library people Digital Collections Orrilla Blackshear Lowell W. Wilson Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2018 Charles Bunge Cooperative Children's Book Center library exhibit state historical society WWI Library War Service Increase A. Lapham Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library History Middleton Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Publications Events & Meetings Suring Area Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library People American Library Association Library War Service Brown Deer Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Edward Asahel Birge trav library legislation Elroy Public Library John Miller Chancellor J. D. Witter Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries membership libraries Carnegie libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Cam Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee National Bookmobile Day campaign 23 WLA 125 background Postcards Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Bob Bochfer Library Systems Nolan I. Neds Oshkosh Public Library books-by-mail Portage Public Library Brown County Library Inform Wisconsin campa Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2008 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Uncategorized WAAL Beaver Dam Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2016 bed and breakfast Library Trustees WHCLIS Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Free Library Commission Peter G. Hamon Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Library Bulletin anniversaries CCBC State Law Library Milwaukee Art Museum Black River Falls Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2018 Madison Public Library Pewaukee Public Library People Louise S. Robbins caly film Larry T. Nix Special libraries Library Buildings Capitol Fire 1904 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Huff Stout WLA 125 Campaign Beloit Public Library presentations Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Campaign Hall of Fame 2014 Ruby Roeder Superior Carnegie Libraries 28 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Free Library Commission Delia Ovitz Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 Jerome P. Daniels 11 Hall of Fame 2015 Dorothea M. Krause library education S. Janice Kee Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends World War I Hall Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library WLA 125 Academic Librarians Library Buidlings Centennial Richard E. Krug School libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries buil Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin State Law Library Gertrude Thurow Rusk County Community Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Jane K. Billings Ice Storm Black River Falls Public Library Lutie Stearns Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 ca Ripon Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Bookmobiles Events Clinton Public Library Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2017 Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2009 24 10 Anniversaries James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2013 cam Gerald A. Somers Manitowoc Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center American Library Association Public libraries 14 Appleton Public Library 20 Public library systems John J. Jax Wisconsin Historical Society Irene W. Newman Soughton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies caly film William J. Wilson Lutie Eugenia Stearns Anniversaries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Parcel post WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Hall of Fame 2011 National Library Week caly film Milwaukee Public Library Hartford Public Library 22 Marketing-Publicity Wayne A. Wiegand Helen Adams traveling libraries Pinback buttons campaign Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 archives COLAND Council on Library and Network Development Lucy E. Smith Morris Library e Public libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Rapids Campaign DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Evansville Wisconsin Historical Register campaign Postcards I Love Libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg bookworm Amer Zona Gale Brown Deer Public Library Buttons Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries hall of 27 Hall of Fame 2012 Frank Avery Hutchins Hall fo Fame 2012 21 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Libraries Postcards

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo