Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Miriam Downing Tompkins (1892-1954)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 08, 2013 in Hall of Fame

Miriam TompkinsMiriam Downing Tompkins was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Tomkins was a national leader in advancing the role of the public library in adult education. She was a pioneer in library work with labor unions. She served as Director of the Training Class of the Milwaukee Public Library 1919-1921 and Chief of Adult Education 1923-1929. Under her leadership the adult education department of the Milwaukee Public Library provided a national model for adult education in public libraries that included information service, group service, and readers’ advisory service. She later served on the faculties of the library schools at Emory University and Columbia University. She was a delegate to the International Conference on Adult Education in Cambridge, England in 1929. She was born in Kalispell, MT, and received B.A. and M.A. degrees from the University of Wisconsin – Madison. She is included in the Dictionary of American Library Biography


The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, January 18, 2019


Popular Tags

Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services library legislation National Bookmobile Day Louise S. Robbins 14 Hartford Public Library State Law Library caly film Meter mail slogans Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Clinton Public Library Carl Spitzweg Orrilla Blackshear anniversaries Uncategorized Exhibits Events & Meetings Events Pewaukee Public Library Pinback buttons S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2017 American Library Association Library War Service Nolan I. Neds Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buidlings William J. Wilson Historical Register Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Capitol Fire 1904 Academic Libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Manitowoc Public Library 11 21 Lowell W. Wilson Ripon Public Library John Miller Chancellor 28 Council on Library and Network Development Beaver Dam Public Library Peter G. Hamon WLA 125 School of Library and Information Studies Lutie Stearns Larry T. Nix campaign Library Artifacts bookworm Brown Deer Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries ca American Library Association People Beloit Public Library 10 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends 27 WLA 125 Library Trustees Publications background Special libraries WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Art Museum J. D. Witter traveling libraries WAAL Wisconsin Free Library Commission National Library Week Wisconsin State Law Library campaign Library People library exhibit CCBC I Love Libraries Wisconsin Rapids Sandra Friedman Dolnick bed and breakfast Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings WWI Library War Service Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Amer Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2011 Woman's Congress caly film Ruby Roeder Black River Falls James Huff Stout Oshkosh Public Library Postcards library education Anniversaries Eratus Swift Wilcox Digital Collections Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Marketing-Publicity campaign Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Klaus Linderfelt Hall fo Fame 2012 Suring Area Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Dorothea M. Krause WLA 125 22 archives 23 Clarence Brown Lester Public libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall Eager Free Public Library Madison Public Library Public library systems 24 School libraries Evansville Wisconsin White House Conference on Library and Information Services Buttons Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2008 buil Campaign James Duane Doty Portage Public Library Library celebrations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library Buildings books-by-mail Bernard Schwab World War I Frank Avery Hutchins Irene W. Newman Library e Jane K. Billings Soughton Public Library Inform Wisconsin Library Systems caly film Elroy Public Library Library History Public libraries COLAND Helen Adams Richard E. Krug Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin Library Association Postcards trav Cam Wayne A. Wiegand Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2013 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Lucy E. Smith Morris Library people Postcards Sarah Janice Kee 20 Milwaukee Public Library membership libraries Rusk County Community Library cam Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2016 Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2015 Gertrude Thurow Parcel post Increase A. Lapham Bookmobiles Carnegie libraries WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Charles Bunge UW-Madison school of library and information studies Zona Gale McMillan Memorial Library Ruth Ann Montgomery library memorabilia Library people state historical society Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Centennial Hall of Fame 2015 Appleton Public Library Delia Ovitz presentations Cornelia Marving Pierce Gilbert H. Doane Tower Hill Wisconsin Bob Bochfer Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Ice Storm Middleton Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Robert Bocher Jerome P. Daniels John J. Jax Academic Librarians Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs campa Superior Carnegie Libraries Brown County Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Historical Society Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 hall of UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo