Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Minnie M. Oakley (1861-1915) 2015 Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 12, 2015 in Hall of Fame

oakleyOakley served as Librarian of the Madison Public Library from 1884 to 1889 before going to work for the State Historical Society Library. Oakley was one of the founders of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1891. She was one of two librarians from Wisconsin who joined the American Library Association in 1886 (only the second and third to do so) when ALA met in Milwaukee. Oakley became Cataloger and Assistant Librarian at the State Historical Society where she worked for 19 years. She served as Secretary-Treasurer of the National Association of State Libraries. She later became Cataloger for the Seattle Public Library and Supervisor of Branches for the Los Angeles Public Libraries.

Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, July 26, 2017


Popular Tags

caly film DeForest Area Public Library Parcel post Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Cornelia Marving Pierce Evansville Wisconsin books-by-mail Ruth Ann Montgomery Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2010 Exhibits 23 Eratus Swift Wilcox Elroy Public Library Library people Hall of Fame 2009 Middleton Public Library Appleton Public Library library exhibit School libraries Madison Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 I Love Libraries Bookmobiles library legislation cam Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign Anniversaries Superior Carnegie Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Amer Hall Events & Meetings bookworm membership libraries library memorabilia Soughton Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns White House Conference on Library and Information Services buil Sarah Janice Kee Beloit Public Library campa Library celebrations 24 Wisconsin Historical Society National Library Week campaign Eager Free Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library Buidlings library education Buttons Larry T. Nix Uncategorized Manitowoc Public Library background American Library Association McMillan Memorial Library Increase A. Lapham Oshkosh Public Library Ice Storm Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries campaign hall of Hall of Fame 2016 Clarence Brown Lester Campaign Pewaukee Public Library Postcards Charles Bunge Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings trav Cooperative Children's Book Center Academic Libraries Brown Deer Public Library bed and breakfast Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Rusk County Community Library Black River Falls Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Black River Falls Jerome P. Daniels 27 Hall of Fame 2012 Library People ca caly film James Huff Stout Library Artifacts COLAND Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission World War I Orrilla Blackshear Lutie Stearns Campaign CCBC Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2015 Events William J. Wilson J. D. Witter Library e Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2014 Cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 14 22 archives WWI Library War Service James Duane Doty Woman's Congress T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 11 Library History Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 caly film Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Public libraries Milwaukee Public Library S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries anniversaries 28 Wisconsin State Law Library Brown County Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Public library systems Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wayne A. Wiegand Zona Gale Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Association American Library Association Library War Service Klaus Linderfelt Library people Postcards Publications Pinback buttons Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Irene W. Newman Tower Hill Wisconsin Richard E. Krug Meter mail slogans Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 Carl Spitzweg John Miller Chancellor 21 WLA 125 National Bookmobile Day Delia Ovitz Katharine MacDonald Jones state historical society Academic Librarians Dorothea M. Krause WAAL 20 Marketing-Publicity WHCLIS Brown Deer Public Library Hartford Public Library Gilbert H. Doane campaign Hall of Fame 2013 presentations Nolan I. Neds Library Systems Ripon Public Library Digital Collections People Hall of Fame 2015 State Law Library Centennial Jane K. Billings Matthew S. Dudgeon School of Library and Information Studies traveling libraries Gertrude Thurow Postcards UW-Madison school of library and information studies Library Trustees WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 10 Special libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Frank Avery Hutchins Library Buildings Council on Library and Network Development Historical Register Edward Asahel Birge Suring Area Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Carnegie libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2008 Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo