Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Lucy E. Smith Morris, 2018 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 02, 2018 in Hall of Fame
lucy smith morris2-reducedLucy E. Smith Morris (1850-1935) was a native of Berlin, Wisconsin. She was a contemporary and colleague of charter Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame member Lutie Stearns. Lucy Morris advocated for the development of public libraries beginning in the late 19th century.  She worked to unite local women's clubs under the umbrella of the Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs.  At the group's first meeting in 1896, the group determined that the establishment of public libraries would be their top priority.  Within a year, over 100 free public libraries were established throughout Wisconsin.
Lucy Morris's efforts in promoting the expansion of public libraries resulted in her appointment as one of the founding members of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission.  Working closely with Lutie Stearns from 1897 to 1917, she supplemented the work of the Commission by recruiting volunteers from women's clubs throughout the state. She was active in the initiative to develop traveling libraries throughout the state and served as president of the Wisconsin Library Association for the 1899-1900 term of office.
Lucy Morris's contributions to libraries were recognized after her death by the Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs with the Lucy Morris Memorial Membership to the American Library Association. This honor was presented on May 15, 1936, during the Friends of the Library luncheon.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, December 19, 2018


Popular Tags

Gerald A. Somers UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies James Huff Stout Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Association COLAND caly film Lucy E. Smith Morris Peter G. Hamon Milwaukee Art Museum Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns state historical society Lutie Stearns Events & Meetings bookworm Lowell W. Wilson Bernard Schwab James Duane Doty Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2012 Council on Library and Network Development Hall Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2009 Public libraries library legislation Louise S. Robbins caly film Charles Bunge John Miller Chancellor Events & Meetings Nolan I. Neds 28 Clarence Brown Lester DeForest Area Public Library Amer T. B. Scott Free Public Library Library celebrations Madison Public Library William J. Wilson Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services S. Janice Kee 20 Library Buildings 14 Milwaukee Public Library Ruby Roeder library education Suring Area Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Postcards Cooperative Children's Book Center Oshkosh Public Library Elroy Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries School of Library and Information Studies National Bookmobile Day Campaign American Library Association Library War Service background Hall of Fame 2015 I Love Libraries State Law Library Brown Deer Public Library Special libraries Postcards Bookmobiles Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin State Law Library Ripon Public Library Cam Pewaukee Public Library World War I John J. Jax Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library exhibit Library Artifacts Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2018 Middleton Public Library Library Trustees Irene W. Newman ca Gertrude Thurow Appleton Public Library Pinback buttons books-by-mail campaign Manitowoc Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bed and breakfast campaign WAAL 27 Events Wisconsin Free Library Commission Exhibits Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Wisconsin Free Library Commission Black River Falls Public Library 23 Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Orrilla Blackshear Woman's Congress Library History Portage Public Library Parcel post membership libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Carnegie libraries trav People National Library Week Wisconsin Historical Society Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2018 Frank Avery Hutchins Eager Free Public Library McMillan Memorial Library presentations traveling libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services 11 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Clinton Public Library Jerome P. Daniels campa Library People Library Buidlings Campaign Dianne McAfee Hopkins Robert Bocher Hall of Fame 2008 WLA 125 Edward Asahel Birge School libraries Dorothea M. Krause Historical Register caly film Meter mail slogans Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends 22 24 Eratus Swift Wilcox Digital Collections campaign Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Delia Ovitz Brown County Library Sarah Janice Kee Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Academic Librarians CCBC cam Larry T. Nix buil WWI Library War Service Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library WHCLIS Hall fo Fame 2012 Centennial Evansville Wisconsin UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wisconsin Rapids Zona Gale Public libraries Anniversaries WLA 125 Academic Libraries Jane K. Billings Hall of Fame 2015 hall of Hall of Fame 2015 21 Wayne A. Wiegand Hartford Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Marketing-Publicity Ice Storm library memorabilia Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association Capitol Fire 1904 Publications Hall of Fame 2012 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends WLA 125 Campaign Public library systems Hall of Fame 2013 Bob Bochfer 10 Superior Carnegie Libraries Postcards Soughton Public Library J. D. Witter Library people Postcards Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs anniversaries Rusk County Community Library Helen Adams Ruth Ann Montgomery WLA 125 Library Systems Buttons Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Richard E. Krug archives Library e UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo