Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

John Miller Chancellor (1896-1980)

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, October 20, 2012 in Hall of Fame

John Miller Chancellor had a distinguished career at the national level where he was an authority and proponent on adult eduction in public libraries. He served as the Adult Education Specialist for the American Library Association from 1934-1942. He resigned from ALA and moved to Wisconsin in 1943 where he became a farmer in Mount Horeb. He was appointed to the Wisconsin Free Library Commission at a critical point in the development of public libraries in Wisconsin. He served on the Commission from 1947-1951 and was its Chair in 1949-1951. He was a major contributor to the publication “The Wisconsin-Wide Library Idea for voluntary Education through Reading” (1948).  On the Commission he defended intellectual freedom during the McCarthy era. He was made an Honorary Member of the American Library Association in 1962. Honorary membership in ALA is conferred on individuals whose contribution to librarianship is "so outstanding that it is of lasting importance to the advancement of the whole field of library service".  Earlier positions included: reference assistant at the New York Public Library; readers advisor at the New Haven (CT) Public Library; and supervising librarian at the U. S. Bureau of Prisons. Chancellor was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012. Chancellor was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, August 17, 2019


Popular Tags

Sarah Janice Kee Lutie Stearns T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Publications Hall of Fame 2018 WWI Library War Service Wayne A. Wiegand campaign Hall of Fame 2014 Eager Free Public Library trav Evansville Wisconsin Library people cam Clinton Public Library American Library Association Library e archives Library Systems membership libraries Rusk County Community Library School of Library and Information Studies Postcards Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2010 ca 20 Matthew S. Dudgeon Black River Falls Public Library Larry T. Nix Ice Storm Hall fo Fame 2012 Postcards Pinback buttons Campaign John Miller Chancellor Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries library legislation Cornelia Marving Pierce state historical society Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 23 caly film background UW-Milwaukee Libraries Special libraries Amer Clarence Brown Lester Robert Bocher Capitol Fire 1904 anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 24 WAAL Ripon Public Library CCBC Tower Hill Wisconsin 28 hall of Pewaukee Public Library bookworm Events & Meetings Sandra Friedman Dolnick Beloit Public Library WLA 125 Richard E. Krug 11 10 Appleton Public Library Centennial S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2011 DeForest Area Public Library buil Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2013 Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Beaver Dam Public Library National Library Week Lucy E. Smith Morris Katharine MacDonald Jones Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs WHCLIS 21 Louise S. Robbins WLA 125 Ruth Ann Montgomery Hartford Public Library Brown County Library Historical Register Manitowoc Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin State Law Library William J. Wilson COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jane K. Billings Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2008 Parcel post Milwaukee Art Museum Library Trustees State Law Library bed and breakfast library education Klaus Linderfelt 22 Events & Meetings Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Ruby Roeder campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Gerald A. Somers Hall Nolan I. Neds Madison Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Gertrude Thurow Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Meter mail slogans Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2017 presentations Exhibits Library Artifacts Zona Gale Academic Libraries John J. Jax books-by-mail I Love Libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Milwaukee Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Middleton Public Library library exhibit National Bookmobile Day WLA 125 Jerome P. Daniels McMillan Memorial Library Charles Bunge School libraries Buttons James Duane Doty Library People WLA 125 Library Buildings Oshkosh Public Library Irene W. Newman Events caly film Public libraries Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2016 Peter G. Hamon Lowell W. Wilson Milwaukee Public Library Library Buidlings caly film Hall of Fame 2009 14 Carnegie libraries Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library celebrations Gilbert H. Doane Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Portage Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Campaign American Library Association Library War Service Increase A. Lapham World War I Black River Falls Orrilla Blackshear Public library systems Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 James Huff Stout J. D. Witter Elroy Public Library People Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Library Association campa Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 Inform Wisconsin Uncategorized Public libraries Bookmobiles Wisconsin Rapids library memorabilia Library History campaign Brown Deer Public Library Postcards Cooperative Children's Book Center Council on Library and Network Development White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign Marketing-Publicity Bernard Schwab Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Woman's Congress Bob Bochfer 27 Delia Ovitz Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Anniversaries Soughton Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Cam traveling libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Helen Adams

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo