Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

John (Joe) J. Jax, 2017 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 10, 2017 in Hall of Fame
John (Joe) J. Jax was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells on October 19, 2017.  
Joe JaxJohn (Joe) J. Jax made major contributions to academic librarianship in Wisconsin and to the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA).  As Director of the Library Learning Center and Associate Professor at the University of Wisconsin – Stout for 32 years he was a leader on campus, in the academic community, and in WLA. He put the library at UW-Stout at the forefront of new technology, was a strong voice for the UW System, and a major player in the development of library cooperation and resource sharing both within the academic world and across all types of libraries.
During Jax’s tenure as director at the UW-Stout Library the first online catalog in the UW System was installed at the library amid opposition from those who wanted to retain the card catalog.  Jax was the lead planner for a new library building at UW-Stout, and became an ALA Registered, Certified Library Building Consultant. UW- Stout pioneered new technology for users with disabilities.  In addition to writing articles on the topic, Joe served as a reviewer of publications covering Adaptive Technologies for users (“Library Services for Students with Disabilities at the University of Wisconsin-Stout,” Journal of Academic Librarianship, July 1993).  He was well-known for nurturing his staff and supporting their involvement in WLA and other professional associations. The library was designated as WLA Library of the Year in 1983.
Jax served in leadership positions at every level of WLA including President (1982), WAAL Chairperson (1980), WLA Annual Conference Chairperson, and WLA Committee on Organization Chairperson. He served on the WLA Board during one of the most challenging periods – when school librarians split from WLA to form WEMA.  Jax was named WLA Librarian of the Year in 1986.
Other library leadership positions included serving as: Chairperson of the Council of Wisconsin Libraries (COWL); Chairperson of the Council of UW Libraries (CUWL); Wisconsin Delegate to the OCLC Users Council; and Wisconsin delegate to the White House Conference for Libraries in 1979.
Besides his work with libraries, Joe was an eleven year member of the UW-Stout men's basketball coaching staff and was inducted into the UW Stout Athletic Hall of Fame in 2004.  He also served on the Menomonie City Council, including a stint as president.
Jax was born on June 17, 1935 in Cazenovia, WI. He received a B. A. degree from UW-LaCrosse in 1958, and a MS in Library Science at UW-Madison in 1959.  He is a life member of both WLA and ALA. 
This Hall of Fame entry was adapted from content provided by Kathy Schneider Michaelis.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, April 24, 2019


Popular Tags

campa buil Lutie Stearns Evansville Wisconsin Capitol Fire 1904 Bob Bochfer WHCLIS bookworm T. B. Scott Free Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick 23 Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2012 state historical society 28 Irene W. Newman WLA 125 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries archives Soughton Public Library Clinton Public Library Events & Meetings Pinback buttons Wisconsin Library Heritage Center John Miller Chancellor 21 Postcards WLA 125 Library people Hall of Fame 2018 School of Library and Information Studies Larry T. Nix Digital Collections bed and breakfast 20 Buttons Jerome P. Daniels Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2015 Lucy E. Smith Morris Middleton Public Library Sarah Janice Kee 24 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Tower Hill Wisconsin National Bookmobile Day Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Historical Society Lowell W. Wilson Cam Brown Deer Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Dorothea M. Krause Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2015 Orrilla Blackshear Appleton Public Library library education Lutie Eugenia Stearns UW-Madison school of library and information studies Woman's Congress 14 Historical Register School libraries Marketing-Publicity Anniversaries Campaign Library History Wisconsin Library Association Library People Publications Black River Falls Dianne McAfee Hopkins Bookmobiles Carl Spitzweg WAAL John J. Jax National Library Week Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jane K. Billings 11 Exhibits Hall of Fame 2017 Hall fo Fame 2012 Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2015 anniversaries S. Janice Kee WWI Library War Service Cooperative Children's Book Center UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wilbur Lyle Eberhart campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2015 Wayne A. Wiegand Frank Avery Hutchins Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs 10 Wisconsin Library Bulletin library exhibit Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Amer Zona Gale Oshkosh Public Library Library Buildings Delia Ovitz Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg hall of Eager Free Public Library James Huff Stout Rusk County Community Library Public libraries presentations WLA 125 Increase A. Lapham membership libraries James Duane Doty American Library Association Library War Service traveling libraries Manitowoc Public Library COLAND Postcards Gertrude Thurow Richard E. Krug Robert Bocher Centennial Charles Bunge Nolan I. Neds Beaver Dam Public Library background Helen Adams CCBC Carnegie libraries Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Clarence Brown Lester J. D. Witter State Law Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Black River Falls Public Library Portage Public Library trav Pewaukee Public Library Public library systems Hall of Fame 2012 DeForest Area Public Library Campaign Academic Libraries Edward Asahel Birge caly film Academic Librarians Wisconsin State Law Library Meter mail slogans Special libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox ca Peter G. Hamon McMillan Memorial Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library memorabilia American Library Association Library Trustees Library people Postcards Library celebrations Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Uncategorized campaign Ruby Roeder Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Beloit Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Milwaukee Public Library caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Rapids Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2008 Gerald A. Somers William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2010 People Bernard Schwab Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gilbert H. Doane Library e Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2012 Louise S. Robbins I Love Libraries caly film Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library Systems World War I Campaign Anniversaries Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2015 22 Milwaukee Public Library Inform Wisconsin campaign cam Ripon Public Library Suring Area Public Library Events Parcel post UW-Milwaukee Libraries Brown County Library books-by-mail Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians library legislation Elroy Public Library Hall 27 WLA 125 Postcards

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo