Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Irene W. Newman (1895 -2005), 2016 Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, October 13, 2016 in Hall of Fame
Irene W. Newman will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association annual meeting in Milwaukee on October 27, 2016
Irene Newman served the State of Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction for 43 years, first as the assistant supervisor of school libraries, and, after her appointment in 1937, as Wisconsin supervisor of school libraries, a position Irene held until her retirement in 1965. Under her leadership, libraries were established in the smaller high schools and at the elementary level. During this period, the place of libraries in a school was legalized and certified teacher librarians became compulsory. As supervisor, Newman served as secretary of the Wisconsin Reading Circle Board which directed the supplementary reading in the grades and professional reading for teachers. She served as president of the Wisconsin Library Association (1935-1936), a past treasurer of the Wisconsin Library School Association, and served on numerous committees on education and book selection, including the original committee for the Cooperative Children's Book Center.  Newman was a member of Sigma Kappa Social Sorority, from which she received a diamond anniversary certificate, and also the Alpha Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma Honorary International Educational Society, for many decades. Other memberships included the American Library Association, the Wisconsin Alumni Association and its Half Century Club, the State Historical Society, Dane County Red Cross, St. Martins Guild, St. Anne's Altar Society of Holy Redeemer Church, the Madison Catholic Woman's Club, the Catholic Daughters of America, and the Madison Area Retired Education Association. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1917 with a B.A. degree, and from the U.W. Library School (now the School of Library and Information Studies) in 1918. She was the oldest living U.W. alumna for several years prior to her death. After receiving her library degree she worked with the Minneapolis Public Library system, and then returned to Madison to join the Wisconsin Library Commission. A large donation was made to the WLA Foundation from her estate in 2005. 


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, May 28, 2017


Popular Tags

bookworm Library Buidlings Library people Postcards DeForest Area Public Library Gertrude Thurow Zona Gale Cam Academic Librarians Portage Public Library 21 Pewaukee Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide archives WHCLIS I Love Libraries WLA 125 Madison Public Library School libraries Middleton Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2014 caly film caly film Eager Free Public Library campaign 10 traveling libraries Lutie Stearns Edward Asahel Birge Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2016 Anniversaries membership libraries Digital Collections Hall of Fame 2008 library legislation Library History 24 cam People Bernard Schwab Matthew S. Dudgeon Evansville Wisconsin campaign Library Artifacts Amer Marketing-Publicity UW-Madison school of library and information studies campaign WAAL Campaign Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies WWI Library War Service School of Library and Information Studies Eratus Swift Wilcox Public libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Library e Larry T. Nix Library People WLA 125 Library Buildings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 Tower Hill Wisconsin Peter G. Hamon Oshkosh Public Library Jerome P. Daniels bed and breakfast Academic Libraries Events Events & Meetings Soughton Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards John Miller Chancellor Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library 20 Meter mail slogans Library Systems buil Manitowoc Public Library Historical Register library memorabilia Publications Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown County Library McMillan Memorial Library Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2009 Dorothea M. Krause Beaver Dam Public Library caly film Clarence Brown Lester Public libraries Black River Falls Public Library trav Special libraries Rusk County Community Library National Library Week Anniversaries Superior Carnegie Libraries library education Wisconsin State Law Library Library people White House Conference on Library and Information Services 28 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Sarah Janice Kee Library Trustees Bookmobiles Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Elroy Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 S. Janice Kee library exhibit Black River Falls Gilbert H. Doane Campaign Orrilla Blackshear anniversaries Library celebrations 27 11 Clinton Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2012 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 23 Ice Storm Hall WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2010 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library hall of William J. Wilson Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Uncategorized background Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Buttons Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campa Exhibits Jane K. Billings Postcards James Huff Stout Carnegie libraries Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Irene W. Newman Hartford Public Library state historical society Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Cornelia Marving Pierce Charles Bunge ca World War I Wisconsin Historical Society Council on Library and Network Development books-by-mail Appleton Public Library James Duane Doty CCBC J. D. Witter Wisconsin Library Heritage Center State Law Library Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Library Bulletin American Library Association Parcel post Wayne A. Wiegand Centennial Richard E. Krug COLAND Campaign Wisconsin Library Association American Library Association Library War Service 14 Nolan I. Neds Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers Inform Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin Free Library Commission Katharine MacDonald Jones Public library systems Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Events & Meetings Dianne McAfee Hopkins 22 presentations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Increase A. Lapham

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo