Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

ALA Meets in Waukesha in 1901

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, March 30, 2016 in WLA 125
ala-waukesha-medal-72The American Library Association held its second conference in Wisconsin in Waukesha, WI in July of 1901 (the first was held in Milwaukee in 1886). As reported in the magazine Public Libraries: "The twenty-third annual meeting of the A. L. A. was held at Waukesha, Wis., with an enthusiasm and interest that has not been equaled more than two or three times in the history of the association."  The conference was held at the Fountain Spring House, Waukesha's premier resort (see postcard above). The Public Libraries article concluded: "A large majority of the people present attended their first conference of American librarians at Waukesha, and the interest, enthusiasm, and evident progress made at this meeting is due largely to that fact.  For months the local associations in the middle west were at work to interest the librarians of their different states in the importance of being present at Waukesha.  Their efforts were successful, and there was but one note sounded in regard to the meeting, and that was satisfaction."  One day of the conference was designated as “Madison Day” and conference attendees made the trip to Madison to see the new combined building of the Wisconsin Historical Society and the University of Wisconsin Library. More about that in a later post.
At early ALA Conferences, mementos were routinely given to participants. At the Waukesha conference, the attendees were given an elaborate medal and a book about Shakespeare. The image of the medal (at left above) is courtesy of the American Library Association Archives which has several examples in its collection. The book (see below) Shakespeare the Man by Walter Bagehot was published by McClure Phillips and Company of New York and 450 of the 1,000 copies published were designated specifically for distribution at the ALA conference.
book-ala-waukesha-72 wla125logo-small


Ginny Moore Kruse Thursday, March 31, 2016

What a treat it was to read about this ALA conference in Wisconsin. The event described strikes me as quaint, but it also seems so civilized and the opposite of hectic. Of course those librarians would appreciate receiving a book about Shakespeare in a limited distribution and a medal, too. Just think! A medal and a book for showing up!

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, February 24, 2018


Popular Tags

Gilbert H. Doane caly film 28 Library Systems Eratus Swift Wilcox Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Milwaukee Public Library Hall Library Artifacts Tower Hill Wisconsin Academic Libraries ca Digital Collections 21 Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 Jane K. Billings WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2010 Peter G. Hamon Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2015 Amer Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Publications background 27 WLA 125 Edward Asahel Birge campa Hall of Fame 2012 Library Trustees Postcards Academic Librarians library memorabilia Delia Ovitz Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Historical Society Brown Deer Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 Madison Public Library Postcards traveling libraries Ruby Roeder Orrilla Blackshear anniversaries Beloit Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Campaign Ripon Public Library WHCLIS Events & Meetings Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee J. D. Witter Woman's Congress CCBC Nolan I. Neds Gertrude Thurow Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library History Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2017 People Dianne McAfee Hopkins Cornelia Marving Pierce Public library systems Hall of Fame 2014 Carl Spitzweg cam Richard E. Krug Irene W. Newman 11 Jerome P. Daniels Meter mail slogans library exhibit Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library e Katharine MacDonald Jones campaign archives Evansville Wisconsin presentations Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries trav Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Carnegie libraries American Library Association Library War Service James Huff Stout Capitol Fire 1904 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library legislation John J. Jax Milwaukee Public Library Klaus Linderfelt bed and breakfast WAAL Events Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries books-by-mail Wisconsin Free Library Commission 23 Suring Area Public Library Library People John Miller Chancellor Library Buidlings Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2011 S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2008 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Charles Bunge campaign Gerald A. Somers Council on Library and Network Development National Library Week Anniversaries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2013 American Library Association library education Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Bernard Schwab Black River Falls Public Library Inform Wisconsin WLA 125 School libraries COLAND Centennial Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2012 Ruth Ann Montgomery Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Clarence Brown Lester Elroy Public Library WLA 125 Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2016 World War I Public libraries caly film Sarah Janice Kee Anniversaries Cam Appleton Public Library buil Events & Meetings Zona Gale Louise S. Robbins 20 Dorothea M. Krause Exhibits Black River Falls hall of Marketing-Publicity Larry T. Nix membership libraries Soughton Public Library state historical society Library people Postcards Historical Register Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Library Association State Law Library Parcel post Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library celebrations I Love Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2012 DeForest Area Public Library Library people Campaign 24 National Bookmobile Day Hall fo Fame 2012 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Pewaukee Public Library Eager Free Public Library 22 14 campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Portage Public Library Postcards UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies William J. Wilson Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Lutie Stearns T. B. Scott Free Public Library Ice Storm Buttons Wayne A. Wiegand Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Manitowoc Public Library Middleton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Public libraries James Duane Doty Clinton Public Library Pinback buttons Uncategorized UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart bookworm Brown County Library Special libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo