Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

WLA’s 125th Celebration

This year marks the 125th anniversary of the founding of the Wisconsin Library Association. A special task force has been established to plan for the celebration of this  milestone.  The members of the Task Force believe that it is not only important to recognize our past but also to envision our future. To help ensure that our celebration includes as many voices as possible, we are inviting Wisconsin's library community to consider ways to participate in this celebration by focusing on the history and contributions of all Wisconsin libraries.
The 125th anniversary celebration was kicked off at WLA's 2015 Conference in Middleton, and will continue throughout 2016. Another major kickoff event will occur on February 9th during WLA Legislative Day at 12 noon in the Capitol rotunda. This event which will occur just two days before the February 11th founding day of WLA is open to the public. So please encourage library staff, trustees, and friends to attend this event.
On the night before Legislative Day ((Monday, February 8) at 7:00 p.m. at the Madison Public Library, the Task Force and the Library Legislative Day Planning Committee will sponsor a special event, “Portrait of a Legislative Success Story: The Development and Passage of Public Library System Legislation in Wisconsin”, presented by Charles Bunge, Professor Emeritus, School of Library and Information Studies, UW-Madison (and WI Library Hall of Fame member).
The 2016 WLA Annual Conference in Milwaukee will provide an opportunity to conclude the celebration in grand fashion.
The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center website and blog will be the place to keep up with other activities related to this event.  Regular blog posts on the site will recount stories of Wisconsin's library history. Subscribe to the blog at http://heritage.wisconsinlibraries.org/ to follow these stories.
Other information about WLA's history and the 125th anniversary celebration can be found at the following links:
125th Anniversary Task Force Members
Paul Nelson, Chair
Sara L. Andrews, Wisconsin Historical Society
Roxane Bartelt, Retired Librarian
Janis Berg,DeForest Area Library 
Cate Booth, WLA Foundation  
John DeBacher, Department of Public Instruction 
Plumer Lovelace, WLA
Larry T. Nix, Retired Librarian 
Brigitte Rupp Vacha, WLA


Popular Tags

Marketing-Publicity Library e Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Library Trustees campa Inform Wisconsin 27 Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2014 library education Library History Ice Storm Exhibits Wilbur Lyle Eberhart I Love Libraries CCBC Special libraries archives UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Peter G. Hamon Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends state historical society trav caly film Charles Bunge anniversaries 23 campaign Postcards UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library People Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee WLA 125 James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall American Library Association Library War Service Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Madison Public Library Historical Register John Miller Chancellor Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2011 Cornelia Marving Pierce School libraries Library Buidlings Brown Deer Public Library caly film Orrilla Blackshear Zona Gale William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2015 bookworm library exhibit Jane K. Billings Amer 11 Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2016 Rusk County Community Library Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2009 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Public libraries buil Manitowoc Public Library Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2013 Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends library memorabilia Hartford Public Library Suring Area Public Library WWI Library War Service 20 DeForest Area Public Library Publications Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter books-by-mail Klaus Linderfelt campaign State Law Library Middleton Public Library Campaign Jerome P. Daniels Events & Meetings Events hall of Matthew S. Dudgeon WAAL Campaign Pinback buttons Library people Black River Falls Academic Librarians Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2012 Library Systems National Bookmobile Day People Wayne A. Wiegand 14 WHCLIS Campaign Library celebrations Delia Ovitz Portage Public Library Academic Libraries bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2008 Gilbert H. Doane Larry T. Nix Gerald A. Somers UW-Madison school of library and information studies Postcards Eratus Swift Wilcox Postcards presentations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries COLAND Appleton Public Library Lutie Stearns National Library Week Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Historical Society background Centennial 21 Milwaukee Public Library Richard E. Krug Increase A. Lapham Ruth Ann Montgomery Meter mail slogans Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries cam Eager Free Public Library Ripon Public Library library legislation Uncategorized Cam 24 Tower Hill Wisconsin Woman's Congress Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin World War I Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center WLA 125 Library people Postcards Bookmobiles Library Artifacts caly film James Duane Doty traveling libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns McMillan Memorial Library Clarence Brown Lester Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Parcel post Digital Collections Oshkosh Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Library Association Council on Library and Network Development Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Brown County Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library School of Library and Information Studies WLA 125 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 10 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 28 Buttons Events & Meetings ca Katharine MacDonald Jones Beloit Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Clinton Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Black River Falls Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Public library systems White House Conference on Library and Information Services campaign Bernard Schwab Public libraries Wisconsin State Law Library Library Buildings S. Janice Kee Carl Spitzweg Cooperative Children's Book Center membership libraries Anniversaries Wisconsin Rapids Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 American Library Association 22 Gertrude Thurow Frank Avery Hutchins Elroy Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo