Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians

Academic Libraries & WLA

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, April 20, 2016
in WLA 125
The Wisconsin Association of Academic Libraries (WAAL), one of the divisions of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA), is holding its spring conference this week at the Heidel House in Green Lake.  After its founding in 1891 the focus of WLA was primarily public library service. However, academic librarians participated in the Association from its beginning. Walter M. Smith, Librarian of the University of Wisconsin in Madison, was the first academic librarian elected president of WLA (1908). In 1954 the College and University Section, the predecessor of WAAL, was established in WLA. H. Vail Deale was one of the founders of the College and University Section and served as its first chair in 1955-56.  A complete history of WAAL can be found HERE.


Popular Tags

archives Tower Hill Wisconsin Library Trustees Frank Avery Hutchins ca Exhibits library exhibit School of Library and Information Studies Publications Amer Postcards Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Oshkosh Public Library American Library Association Matthew S. Dudgeon Library Artifacts Events & Meetings 23 campaign Pinback buttons Brown Deer Public Library Increase A. Lapham National Bookmobile Day WLA 125 Anniversaries Orrilla Blackshear Postcards UW-Milwaukee Libraries 11 American Library Association Library War Service Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Larry T. Nix Delia Ovitz Campaign Edward Asahel Birge Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Historical Register Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries buil Nolan I. Neds Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2015 Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Elroy Public Library Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2014 Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Middleton Public Library Campaign Hartford Public Library 24 28 WLA 125 Wisconsin Rapids Public libraries State Law Library J. D. Witter John Miller Chancellor Events & Meetings cam 21 Eager Free Public Library caly film Wayne A. Wiegand hall of Hall of Fame 2009 campaign Bookmobiles traveling libraries Anniversaries Milwaukee Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox caly film Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2011 Beloit Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Beaver Dam Public Library Library Buildings Bernard Schwab People Library celebrations National Library Week Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown County Library 10 Digital Collections Parcel post library memorabilia WLA 125 Evansville Wisconsin membership libraries bed and breakfast Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Clinton Public Library COLAND Council on Library and Network Development James Huff Stout WAAL Appleton Public Library Public library systems Wilbur Lyle Eberhart library education Soughton Public Library School libraries Academic Librarians Cooperative Children's Book Center CCBC Library History Sarah Janice Kee Gerald A. Somers caly film bookworm campa Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2015 library legislation Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2013 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library people 20 Library people Postcards Lutie Eugenia Stearns William J. Wilson Manitowoc Public Library Hall Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Historical Society Buttons Hall of Fame 2015 WLA 125 McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin State Law Library Library e Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 S. Janice Kee Hall fo Fame 2012 White House Conference on Library and Information Services James Duane Doty Richard E. Krug 22 Centennial Wisconsin Library Heritage Center anniversaries Carl Spitzweg Peter G. Hamon Jerome P. Daniels Brown Deer Public Library Uncategorized Zona Gale UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Marketing-Publicity Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries background Milwaukee Art Museum trav Events Special libraries Library People Capitol Fire 1904 presentations WWI Library War Service Portage Public Library Woman's Congress Public libraries Meter mail slogans state historical society Inform Wisconsin books-by-mail Dorothea M. Krause Academic Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Pewaukee Public Library campaign Madison Public Library WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2008 Library Systems World War I Cam Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin UW-Madison school of library and information studies Black River Falls Public Library 14 DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Ice Storm Clarence Brown Lester Cornelia Marving Pierce Library Buidlings Jane K. Billings Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2012 Suring Area Public Library Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 27 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Lutie Stearns

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo