Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged WHCLIS

The 1979 White House Conference on Library and Information Services

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 18, 2016
in WLA 125
The first White House Conference on Library and Information Services (WHCLIS) took place in Washington, D. C. on November 15-19, 1979.  Preceding WHCLIS each state in the nation held a pre-conference.  In September, 1978 148 delegates representing communities and institutions from around Wisconsin gathered in Madison for the Wisconsin Governor’s Conference on Library and Information Services.  The Governor’s Conference had been preceded by meetings of hundreds of citizens in ten areas of the state in June-July, 1978 to discuss their concerns and needs for library and information services. Four delegates selected at the Governor’s Conference represented Wisconsin at WHCLIS.  They were James White, La Crosse; Jenelle Elder, Milwaukee; Jan Coombs, Marshfield; and John J. Jax, Menomenee Falls. The delegates at WHCLIS passed 64 resolutions to improve the quality and access to library and information services.  A second WHCLIS took place in 1991.  It too was pre-ceded by state level conferences including one in Wisconsin that took place in Madison in February, 1991. 


Popular Tags

Superior Carnegie Libraries Anniversaries Inform Wisconsin anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 books-by-mail archives Eager Free Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2015 School libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library 10 Rusk County Community Library Library History Lowell W. Wilson Woman's Congress American Library Association 11 Hartford Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Stearns Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library COLAND Library people Postcards People Events & Meetings campaign Black River Falls 24 Wisconsin Historical Society T. B. Scott Free Public Library Public libraries Library Artifacts Library Buidlings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Increase A. Lapham Middleton Public Library Campaign Tower Hill Wisconsin Events Madison Public Library Manitowoc Public Library John Miller Chancellor I Love Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Louise S. Robbins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Zona Gale Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends caly film Hall Academic Libraries Library people 27 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Black River Falls Public Library campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clarence Brown Lester UW-Milwaukee Libraries caly film Postcards Amer campaign cam Peter G. Hamon Public library systems Larry T. Nix Public libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services library exhibit Dorothea M. Krause library legislation Historical Register Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries WAAL Library Buildings James Huff Stout Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 23 Ruby Roeder Milwaukee Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Buttons Wisconsin State Law Library Soughton Public Library Centennial bed and breakfast Digital Collections Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 14 Library e Wisconsin Rapids traveling libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Uncategorized DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 22 Beloit Public Library Special libraries Gilbert H. Doane Campaign Orrilla Blackshear Cornelia Marving Pierce Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall fo Fame 2012 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2009 Bernard Schwab Charles Bunge WHCLIS Jerome P. Daniels trav ca Wisconsin Library Association National Bookmobile Day caly film Clinton Public Library buil 28 Library Trustees WLA 125 Ruth Ann Montgomery Irene W. Newman Events & Meetings Library Systems background Hall of Fame 2011 library education Appleton Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Anniversaries Library celebrations CCBC Delia Ovitz Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2015 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Library People WWI Library War Service Marketing-Publicity Parcel post state historical society Hall of Fame 2015 Capitol Fire 1904 Milwaukee Art Museum Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2008 Matthew S. Dudgeon campa Cam Gertrude Thurow Oshkosh Public Library Jane K. Billings Suring Area Public Library hall of Brown Deer Public Library Ripon Public Library Bookmobiles WLA 125 Council on Library and Network Development Academic Librarians bookworm Hall of Fame 2016 Wayne A. Wiegand James Duane Doty presentations J. D. Witter Pinback buttons Richard E. Krug Gerald A. Somers State Law Library S. Janice Kee Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 21 Nolan I. Neds National Library Week American Library Association Library War Service Brown County Library Postcards Wilbur Lyle Eberhart library memorabilia membership libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission UW-Madison school of library and information studies World War I Hall of Fame 2017 Elroy Public Library John J. Jax Klaus Linderfelt Publications Milwaukee Public Library Pewaukee Public Library 20 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Evansville Wisconsin WLA 125 McMillan Memorial Library Exhibits WLA 125 Postcards Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2012 Cooperative Children's Book Center Ice Storm Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 School of Library and Information Studies Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo