Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged WAAL

Academic Libraries & WLA

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, April 20, 2016
in WLA 125
The Wisconsin Association of Academic Libraries (WAAL), one of the divisions of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA), is holding its spring conference this week at the Heidel House in Green Lake.  After its founding in 1891 the focus of WLA was primarily public library service. However, academic librarians participated in the Association from its beginning. Walter M. Smith, Librarian of the University of Wisconsin in Madison, was the first academic librarian elected president of WLA (1908). In 1954 the College and University Section, the predecessor of WAAL, was established in WLA. H. Vail Deale was one of the founders of the College and University Section and served as its first chair in 1955-56.  A complete history of WAAL can be found HERE.


Popular Tags

Matthew S. Dudgeon Zona Gale Cam Hall of Fame 2011 Klaus Linderfelt 21 Wisconsin Library Association William J. Wilson Charles Bunge Inform Wisconsin Ripon Public Library Woman's Congress Middleton Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery WHCLIS James Huff Stout Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library Systems Hall of Fame 2015 28 11 Hall T. B. Scott Free Public Library Postcards traveling libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Black River Falls Public Library School libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2013 background Suring Area Public Library state historical society Black River Falls Uncategorized State Law Library World War I John J. Jax Library Buildings Helen Adams Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library library education Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Nolan I. Neds Increase A. Lapham I Love Libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Milwaukee Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Meter mail slogans Gertrude Thurow campa Special libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Larry T. Nix American Library Association Bob Bochfer UW-Milwaukee Libraries bed and breakfast campaign Campaign Lutie Eugenia Stearns DeForest Area Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Beaver Dam Public Library caly film 20 Evansville Wisconsin WWI Library War Service Campaign library exhibit Madison Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum 10 campaign WLA 125 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2017 Library History Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lucy E. Smith Morris Parcel post Academic Libraries Eager Free Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies caly film WAAL Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends School of Library and Information Studies WLA 125 John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2015 ca National Bookmobile Day People Events & Meetings Elroy Public Library Historical Register Publications Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library celebrations Clinton Public Library COLAND Brown Deer Public Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2009 Bookmobiles Peter G. Hamon Library e Events & Meetings White House Conference on Library and Information Services Postcards Wayne A. Wiegand Library people Postcards Appleton Public Library membership libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Beloit Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Ice Storm Robert Bocher 23 Hall of Fame 2012 27 Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Buttons Carnegie libraries campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center presentations Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2010 Gilbert H. Doane bookworm Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2014 Sandra Friedman Dolnick J. D. Witter Library People Lowell W. Wilson hall of Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Jane K. Billings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 24 Library people Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2016 Anniversaries trav Wisconsin Rapids cam Bernard Schwab Superior Carnegie Libraries WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries archives Milwaukee Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins books-by-mail anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruby Roeder Marketing-Publicity Public libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Portage Public Library Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2015 McMillan Memorial Library Brown Deer Public Library S. Janice Kee Wilbur Lyle Eberhart James Duane Doty buil Brown County Library Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2015 Digital Collections Orrilla Blackshear Oshkosh Public Library Public libraries library legislation library memorabilia National Library Week Events Soughton Public Library Centennial Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Delia Ovitz Jerome P. Daniels Amer Sarah Janice Kee WLA 125 Dorothea M. Krause UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Eratus Swift Wilcox caly film Exhibits Gerald A. Somers Carl Spitzweg Pinback buttons Hall fo Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Wisconsin Free Library Commission Clarence Brown Lester Pewaukee Public Library Louise S. Robbins Library Trustees Academic Librarians Dianne McAfee Hopkins Library Buidlings 14 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Public library systems Tower Hill Wisconsin Lutie Stearns Wisconsin State Law Library CCBC 22 Rusk County Community Library Library Artifacts

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo