Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies

Education for Librarianship in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, July 29, 2016
in WLA 125
Education for librarianship in Wisconsin dates back to 1895 when the newly created Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) sponsored the first Summer School of Library Economy.  The summer school was the idea of Frank Hutchins, the Commission's first Secretary.  The school was personally financed by library legislative champion Senator James H. Stout and was directed by Katharine Sharp, director of the Library School of the Armour Institute in Chicago. A full time Wisconsin Library School, still under the auspices of the WFLC, was founded in 1906 and housed on the second floor of the Madison Public Library. Mary Emogene Hazeltine was its first Perceptor or Principal. She served in this capacity until 1938. In 1938 administrative control of the library school was moved from the WFLC to the University of Wisconsin. It is now the School of Library and Information Studies at UW-Madison and it is fully accredited by the American Library Association.  More on its history can be found HERE. A second library school was established at UW-Milwaukee in 1976. It is now the School of Information Studies and is accredited by the American Library Association. It is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. 
The postcard above shows the second floor atrium of the Madison Public Library when it was located in the building financed by Andrew Carnegie, now razed.  It was here that the Wisconsin Library School was located from 1906 to 1938.  Carnegie gave additional funding to enable the library school to be located in the public library building. The message on the back of the postcard which was mailed in 1925 is from library school faculty member Winifred Davis to Mrs. N. A. Cushman, Librarian of the Reedsburg Public Library.  Davis invites Cushman to visit a library school exhibit at the University Exposition.


Popular Tags

bookworm campa Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2016 membership libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown County Library library exhibit Hall of Fame 2009 Wayne A. Wiegand Historical Register Exhibits COLAND James Duane Doty Edward Asahel Birge Black River Falls Public Library Library celebrations anniversaries Centennial Publications Library History library memorabilia Ice Storm J. D. Witter Academic Libraries Library people Postcards Wisconsin Rapids Charles Bunge ca Digital Collections National Bookmobile Day S. Janice Kee Delia Ovitz Hall Middleton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear campaign Zona Gale Hartford Public Library John Miller Chancellor Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Historical Society Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 23 White House Conference on Library and Information Services background Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Postcards Public library systems Campaign Frank Avery Hutchins Richard E. Krug Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Special libraries State Law Library Evansville Wisconsin archives Superior Carnegie Libraries WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Public libraries Academic Librarians Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center cam Library people Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2012 National Library Week Cornelia Marving Pierce Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Elroy Public Library Uncategorized I Love Libraries Milwaukee Public Library presentations library legislation WHCLIS Milwaukee Public Library Campaign 24 caly film Carl Spitzweg Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Clinton Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2012 Pewaukee Public Library Anniversaries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Ripon Public Library Meter mail slogans Capitol Fire 1904 Library Trustees Gertrude Thurow Campaign World War I Portage Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center books-by-mail campaign Events & Meetings 28 DeForest Area Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library caly film WLA 125 Bernard Schwab Parcel post T. B. Scott Free Public Library Postcards Manitowoc Public Library Cam Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 22 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Stearns Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Black River Falls Pinback buttons Beloit Public Library Events Hall of Fame 2015 American Library Association Amer Katharine MacDonald Jones Madison Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 School libraries Public libraries WWI Library War Service Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library People 21 library education Suring Area Public Library Nolan I. Neds Library Buidlings Clarence Brown Lester UW-Madison school of library and information studies Klaus Linderfelt Wilbur Lyle Eberhart People Buttons Sarah Janice Kee caly film buil Brown Deer Public Library 11 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Inform Wisconsin Eager Free Public Library Rusk County Community Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library Buildings Events & Meetings Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2013 William J. Wilson Carnegie libraries 14 hall of Wisconsin Free Library Commission Anniversaries Increase A. Lapham Tower Hill Wisconsin Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Library Bulletin 10 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Milwaukee Art Museum 20 Bookmobiles Council on Library and Network Development traveling libraries Peter G. Hamon American Library Association Library War Service bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2015 Larry T. Nix trav Appleton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies WLA 125 state historical society Marketing-Publicity McMillan Memorial Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns WAAL Hall of Fame 2015 27 Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2010 Matthew S. Dudgeon Eratus Swift Wilcox Library Systems CCBC Oshkosh Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Jane K. Billings WLA 125

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo