Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged UW-Madison school of library and information studies

Education for Librarianship in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, July 29, 2016
in WLA 125
Education for librarianship in Wisconsin dates back to 1895 when the newly created Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) sponsored the first Summer School of Library Economy.  The summer school was the idea of Frank Hutchins, the Commission's first Secretary.  The school was personally financed by library legislative champion Senator James H. Stout and was directed by Katharine Sharp, director of the Library School of the Armour Institute in Chicago. A full time Wisconsin Library School, still under the auspices of the WFLC, was founded in 1906 and housed on the second floor of the Madison Public Library. Mary Emogene Hazeltine was its first Perceptor or Principal. She served in this capacity until 1938. In 1938 administrative control of the library school was moved from the WFLC to the University of Wisconsin. It is now the School of Library and Information Studies at UW-Madison and it is fully accredited by the American Library Association.  More on its history can be found HERE. A second library school was established at UW-Milwaukee in 1976. It is now the School of Information Studies and is accredited by the American Library Association. It is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. 
The postcard above shows the second floor atrium of the Madison Public Library when it was located in the building financed by Andrew Carnegie, now razed.  It was here that the Wisconsin Library School was located from 1906 to 1938.  Carnegie gave additional funding to enable the library school to be located in the public library building. The message on the back of the postcard which was mailed in 1925 is from library school faculty member Winifred Davis to Mrs. N. A. Cushman, Librarian of the Reedsburg Public Library.  Davis invites Cushman to visit a library school exhibit at the University Exposition.


Popular Tags

22 20 Portage Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns 21 bookworm Jane K. Billings Matthew S. Dudgeon Library celebrations Meter mail slogans WWI Library War Service Buttons Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Clinton Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 11 Delia Ovitz Nolan I. Neds Campaign buil library memorabilia T. B. Scott Free Public Library Public libraries Council on Library and Network Development Tower Hill Wisconsin Eager Free Public Library Library History Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Larry T. Nix library exhibit Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall fo Fame 2012 Library Systems Frank Avery Hutchins Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2012 library education Digital Collections School of Library and Information Studies state historical society traveling libraries Milwaukee Public Library Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association presentations WLA 125 National Bookmobile Day Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries People Library Buildings Beloit Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Cornelia Marving Pierce Postcards World War I UW-Milwaukee Libraries Anniversaries Public libraries WLA 125 hall of Pewaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2016 Events & Meetings McMillan Memorial Library Library Trustees Pinback buttons Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 WAAL campaign State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Rapids 24 Beaver Dam Public Library Centennial Zona Gale 10 WLA 125 caly film campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Irene W. Newman Bernard Schwab Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Black River Falls John Miller Chancellor 27 Amer WHCLIS trav Superior Carnegie Libraries Hartford Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Events Milwaukee Art Museum Madison Public Library campaign Library People Academic Librarians Special libraries Inform Wisconsin Evansville Wisconsin Library Buidlings Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2014 Woman's Congress cam Library people Gertrude Thurow Library Artifacts Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Duane Doty Publications Wilbur Lyle Eberhart caly film Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide William J. Wilson Academic Libraries campa School libraries Black River Falls Public Library Suring Area Public Library 23 Postcards CCBC Appleton Public Library Brown County Library Wayne A. Wiegand Uncategorized Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 S. Janice Kee Exhibits Postcards ca Public library systems Wisconsin Historical Society 28 Manitowoc Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Events & Meetings Campaign Parcel post Hall of Fame 2009 Elroy Public Library Hall Lutie Stearns Campaign Dianne McAfee Hopkins Eratus Swift Wilcox Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Jerome P. Daniels I Love Libraries Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Gerald A. Somers Historical Register Soughton Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Carnegie libraries Edward Asahel Birge Rusk County Community Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services background James Huff Stout Sarah Janice Kee UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2015 National Library Week J. D. Witter library legislation Clarence Brown Lester Ice Storm Cooperative Children's Book Center Dorothea M. Krause membership libraries COLAND Richard E. Krug Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2012 DeForest Area Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 Oshkosh Public Library anniversaries Wisconsin Library Association American Library Association Library War Service Peter G. Hamon Cam UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 14 archives Marketing-Publicity bed and breakfast Wisconsin State Law Library Charles Bunge Library people Postcards

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo