Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged School of Library and Information Studies

Rachel Katherine Schenk (1899-1973)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
in Hall of Fame

Rachel SchenkRachel Katherine Schenk served as Director of the Wisconsin Library School (now the School of Library and Information Studies of the University of Wisconsin – Madison) from 1951 to 1963. Prior to becoming Director she was a faculty member at the school. While Director she was responsible for the implementation of the master’s program at the library school. After her retirement from the Madison library school she helped implement the library science program at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee. She received the WLA Citation of Merit in 1960.  She was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.

Further reading: Robbins, Louise S. "Chapter 4 Leave It to Rachel: The Schenk Years 1951-1963" in Tradition and Vision: Library and Information Studies at the University of Wisconsin, A Centennial History (Univ. of Wisconsin, 2006).


Popular Tags

Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign Hall of Fame 2014 Events & Meetings National Bookmobile Day Increase A. Lapham Black River Falls Public Library Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign 28 Library people Postcards Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Larry T. Nix Anniversaries Library celebrations WLA 125 White House Conference on Library and Information Services 10 Historical Register Tower Hill Wisconsin caly film Milwaukee Public Library Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Milwaukee Public Library CCBC Buttons Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 World War I caly film Library people WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2011 Black River Falls Pinback buttons Orrilla Blackshear cam Appleton Public Library presentations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Peter G. Hamon Library e Wisconsin Free Library Commission 27 Public library systems Madison Public Library campa Middleton Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Library People Manitowoc Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 DeForest Area Public Library Meter mail slogans traveling libraries Nolan I. Neds Bernard Schwab books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2015 bed and breakfast UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Beaver Dam Public Library state historical society 22 hall of Richard E. Krug William J. Wilson WLA 125 campaign Zona Gale Brown County Library School libraries 23 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Association Wisconsin State Law Library Library Artifacts UW-Madison school of library and information studies Publications Events Wisconsin Library Bulletin American Library Association Parcel post Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings Library Buildings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards James Huff Stout library exhibit Council on Library and Network Development Hartford Public Library McMillan Memorial Library 21 Jerome P. Daniels Beloit Public Library I Love Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society library education Edward Asahel Birge School of Library and Information Studies T. B. Scott Free Public Library library memorabilia Library History Ice Storm Ripon Public Library Elroy Public Library ca WWI Library War Service Hall of Fame 2013 Public libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon Pewaukee Public Library trav Lutie Stearns 11 Exhibits Portage Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library COLAND Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Anniversaries Eratus Swift Wilcox Postcards library legislation Centennial J. D. Witter Clarence Brown Lester Library Systems Evansville Wisconsin American Library Association Library War Service archives Gertrude Thurow buil campaign Postcards Woman's Congress campaign Sarah Janice Kee Hall fo Fame 2012 Dorothea M. Krause UW-Milwaukee Libraries Marketing-Publicity Ruth Ann Montgomery Brown Deer Public Library Hall 20 Library Buidlings membership libraries Digital Collections Wisconsin Rapids Amer Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends anniversaries Uncategorized caly film Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 24 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Superior Carnegie Libraries 14 Milwaukee Art Museum National Library Week Academic Libraries background Frank Avery Hutchins Wayne A. Wiegand S. Janice Kee Special libraries WAAL Campaign Klaus Linderfelt Eager Free Public Library John Miller Chancellor Jane K. Billings Library Trustees Wilbur Lyle Eberhart bookworm Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 WHCLIS James Duane Doty State Law Library Hall of Fame 2016 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Rusk County Community Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Irene W. Newman People Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2012 Cornelia Marving Pierce Cam Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Public libraries Bookmobiles Delia Ovitz Inform Wisconsin Academic Librarians Suring Area Public Library Charles Bunge

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo