Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Parcel post

The First Books-By-Mail Program in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 01, 2016
in WLA 125
stamp-us-parcel-72Parcel post, the delivery of packages through the mail, began in the United States on January 1, 1913.  Libraries had long lobbied for a special rate for library materials sent through the mail, and in 1914 the postmaster general authorized the shipment of books at the parcel post rate. This decision opened up significant possibilities for library service to geographically remote populations.  One of the first librarians to realize the potential of parcel post and library service was Matthew S. Dudgeon, the Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC). Under Dudgeon's leadership the WFLC began implementing a system in which any resident of the state could request a book from the major libraries in Madison including the University of Wisconsin Library and the State Historical Society Library. There was little red tape involved. All that was required was a letter requesting a book along with the postage. Under the new postal rates a book could be sent anywhere within a 150 mile radius of Madison for an average of six cents and for greater distances for eight cents. Implementation of this system was facilitated by the fact that the President of the University of Wisconsin and the Secretary of the Wisconsin Historical Society served on the WFLC board. An article about Dudgeon's parcel post system appeared in the December, 1915 issue of American Review of Reviews.


Popular Tags

Digital Collections Sarah Janice Kee books-by-mail Portage Public Library Irene W. Newman Frank Avery Hutchins People Exhibits Jerome P. Daniels Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends library legislation UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies John J. Jax Postcards Superior Carnegie Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Academic Librarians McMillan Memorial Library campaign Rusk County Community Library William J. Wilson campaign Charles Bunge Wisconsin State Law Library Hall of Fame 2012 Bernard Schwab Ruth Ann Montgomery Library Trustees Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Appleton Public Library hall of bed and breakfast Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2012 10 Public library systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries library exhibit Hall of Fame 2015 Tower Hill Wisconsin UW-Milwaukee Libraries WLA 125 Delia Ovitz Uncategorized library education Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Huff Stout COLAND American Library Association Library War Service James Duane Doty caly film Elroy Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2014 Pinback buttons Jane K. Billings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies S. Janice Kee Cam American Library Association Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Capitol Fire 1904 Library e Hall J. D. Witter caly film 14 Madison Public Library Lutie Stearns bookworm Katharine MacDonald Jones background Clarence Brown Lester 27 28 Clinton Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Cornelia Marving Pierce archives School of Library and Information Studies Evansville Wisconsin Library Buildings WHCLIS Ice Storm 20 Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards Campaign Hall fo Fame 2012 Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Ripon Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2010 Events & Meetings Eratus Swift Wilcox Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eager Free Public Library Special libraries Marketing-Publicity Klaus Linderfelt membership libraries Hall of Fame 2015 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Middleton Public Library State Law Library Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians trav Brown County Library Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Centennial Beaver Dam Public Library Black River Falls Campaign Hall of Fame 2013 traveling libraries Wisconsin Rapids Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Beloit Public Library Woman's Congress Ruby Roeder Library people Manitowoc Public Library Peter G. Hamon library memorabilia ca Nolan I. Neds campa White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2008 Historical Register Council on Library and Network Development Postcards Zona Gale state historical society 22 Library History Brown Deer Public Library Louise S. Robbins National Bookmobile Day Lowell W. Wilson 11 Black River Falls Public Library WLA 125 Publications Events Larry T. Nix Library celebrations 24 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Events & Meetings WLA 125 Library Buidlings School libraries Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library People Richard E. Krug anniversaries Carnegie libraries Anniversaries Hartford Public Library buil 21 Public libraries Wayne A. Wiegand John Miller Chancellor Carl Spitzweg Amer Hall of Fame 2017 Increase A. Lapham T. B. Scott Free Public Library presentations campaign Cooperative Children's Book Center caly film Library Artifacts Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Soughton Public Library 23 Hall of Fame 2009 CCBC Hall of Fame 2015 World War I Oshkosh Public Library Campaign Parcel post Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Library Association Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2011 National Library Week Pewaukee Public Library cam Matthew S. Dudgeon Gertrude Thurow Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Gilbert H. Doane WWI Library War Service Meter mail slogans Buttons Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Systems Milwaukee Public Library Bookmobiles WAAL Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends I Love Libraries Public libraries Inform Wisconsin

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo