Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52
Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Milwaukee Art Museum

The Bookworm

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, December 10, 2008
in Postcards

pc-wi-bookworm-72.jpgThe original painting of a very popular image showing an elderly gentleman standing on a ladder in a library is owned by the Milwaukee Public Library. The painting is "The Bookworm" by Carl Spitzweg. The collector who donated the painting to the library also gave several Spitzweg paintings to the Milwaukee Art Museum. Shown here is the painting on a postcard. Prints and posters of the image are readily available on the Internet by searching "Spitzweg bookworm".


Popular Tags

campaign Robert Bocher Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 Woman's Congress WAAL Wisconsin Library Heritage Center caly film Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2008 Manitowoc Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2015 Gertrude Thurow Cam Orrilla Blackshear campaign state historical society Helen Adams Hall of Fame 2009 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs WLA 125 24 Library People Events & Meetings trav Cooperative Children's Book Center Katharine MacDonald Jones anniversaries American Library Association Library War Service Wisconsin State Law Library Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Postcards Brown Deer Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Black River Falls Public Library Library Trustees 14 Hartford Public Library Elroy Public Library Portage Public Library Gilbert H. Doane I Love Libraries Postcards DeForest Area Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Free Library Commission Larry T. Nix Library celebrations Bernard Schwab Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Milwaukee Public Library campaign 22 Louise S. Robbins Meter mail slogans Amer Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends archives Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Nolan I. Neds People Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Special libraries Parcel post James Huff Stout Events & Meetings Marketing-Publicity Academic Librarians Wayne A. Wiegand Pewaukee Public Library Jane K. Billings Hall Evansville Wisconsin books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2014 WHCLIS Tower Hill Wisconsin Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Appleton Public Library Campaign Wisconsin Rapids Soughton Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society National Library Week Wisconsin Library Bulletin Anniversaries library exhibit Superior Carnegie Libraries Anniversaries School of Library and Information Studies membership libraries School libraries Public library systems Hall of Fame 2012 World War I 20 James Duane Doty caly film Milwaukee Public Library Middleton Public Library Academic Libraries Madison Public Library Ruby Roeder 11 Carl Spitzweg Publications WLA 125 Library Systems Ice Storm Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 library memorabilia ca Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards Sarah Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Historical Register Clinton Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Library Association Uncategorized Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2013 10 28 Hall of Fame 2015 John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2015 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign Library e Rusk County Community Library Bob Bochfer Public libraries Digital Collections Dorothea M. Krause Lucy E. Smith Morris Brown County Library Increase A. Lapham hall of Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John Miller Chancellor UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library Artifacts library legislation 21 WWI Library War Service cam Hall of Fame 2011 Pinback buttons WLA 125 Exhibits Campaign Peter G. Hamon WLA 125 23 bed and breakfast Eratus Swift Wilcox Suring Area Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library History Buttons S. Janice Kee COLAND background caly film buil bookworm Brown Deer Public Library Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2010 Clarence Brown Lester Lowell W. Wilson Events Milwaukee Art Museum Ripon Public Library Public libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries J. D. Witter Carnegie libraries Bookmobiles Jerome P. Daniels Library Buildings campa Black River Falls Hall fo Fame 2012 presentations Inform Wisconsin Zona Gale Ruth Ann Montgomery Gerald A. Somers Centennial American Library Association Beaver Dam Public Library Delia Ovitz William J. Wilson 27 Hall of Fame 2018 Matthew S. Dudgeon Cornelia Marving Pierce Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies White House Conference on Library and Information Services Council on Library and Network Development State Law Library Richard E. Krug CCBC Library people Postcards library education Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Library people Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library Buidlings National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2018 Lutie Stearns Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo