Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Meter mail slogans

National Library Week in WI

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, April 10, 2016
in WLA 125
Today is the first day of National Library Week with a national theme of “Libraries Transform”. Wisconsin has a long history of participating in National Library Week which began in 1958 as a joint project of the American Book Publishers Council and the American Library Association. Each state was expected to establish a statewide committee to promote the week, and WLA did so. WLA’s NLW Committee initiated a major public relations project under the leadership of Beryl Hoyt in 1961-62 involving the development of television public service spots. As an outgrowth of Wisconsin’s 1962 National Library Week program and under the leadership of Mrs. Bruno V. Bitker, the Friends of Wisconsin Libraries (FOWL) was founded on April 21, 1963. In 1964 WLA received the first Grolier Award for the most effective state National Library Week program in the nation.  National Library Week was promoted on mail with slogans produced by the meter postage machines of libraries and other organizations. Some examples of early National Library Week slogans on meter mail are shown above.


Popular Tags

Eratus Swift Wilcox 20 Beloit Public Library Marketing-Publicity Frank Avery Hutchins Lutie Eugenia Stearns Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Suring Area Public Library Buttons Sarah Janice Kee WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2011 Publications cam Hall Exhibits Parcel post Cooperative Children's Book Center Robert Bocher anniversaries Superior Carnegie Libraries library exhibit Hall of Fame 2012 Portage Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Library Buildings Soughton Public Library Library e Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee UW-Madison school of library and information studies National Library Week William J. Wilson James Huff Stout Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2015 DeForest Area Public Library Black River Falls Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2015 Madison Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Carl Spitzweg Orrilla Blackshear Library Systems School of Library and Information Studies 14 Ruth Ann Montgomery J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2012 archives Hall of Fame 2012 Clarence Brown Lester Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Rapids Lucy E. Smith Morris Library Buidlings WLA 125 Tower Hill Wisconsin Gertrude Thurow Special libraries Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2014 Meter mail slogans American Library Association Library War Service Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 28 Brown Deer Public Library CCBC McMillan Memorial Library buil Uncategorized Beaver Dam Public Library background 23 Library people Jane K. Billings Black River Falls Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Library History Charles Bunge Hartford Public Library Peter G. Hamon Historical Register hall of Public libraries Capitol Fire 1904 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends White House Conference on Library and Information Services Appleton Public Library Pewaukee Public Library WLA 125 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Bernard Schwab Library people Postcards bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 Rusk County Community Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Elroy Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Digital Collections World War I WLA 125 Zona Gale Cam 11 Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Historical Society School libraries S. Janice Kee Inform Wisconsin WHCLIS John J. Jax 10 Hall of Fame 2018 Campaign caly film Bookmobiles Campaign campaign WAAL Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2017 membership libraries Events & Meetings Matthew S. Dudgeon Centennial Wisconsin Free Library Commission 24 COLAND Events & Meetings Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Bob Bochfer T. B. Scott Free Public Library Increase A. Lapham Helen Adams library education trav I Love Libraries Postcards Lutie Stearns traveling libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Academic Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick Irene W. Newman 22 Library Artifacts Manitowoc Public Library Ripon Public Library campa Brown Deer Public Library Gilbert H. Doane People Wisconsin State Law Library bed and breakfast state historical society Hall of Fame 2013 Academic Librarians Library People Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2009 James Duane Doty Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Middleton Public Library Ice Storm campaign Ruby Roeder WWI Library War Service Louise S. Robbins UW-Milwaukee Libraries Public libraries Nolan I. Neds Hall fo Fame 2012 Gerald A. Somers Dorothea M. Krause Milwaukee Art Museum Edward Asahel Birge 27 John Miller Chancellor Campaign 21 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Anniversaries Klaus Linderfelt ca Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Amer Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries State Law Library Events Katharine MacDonald Jones American Library Association Public library systems caly film Wisconsin Library Association Council on Library and Network Development caly film presentations Postcards Woman's Congress Wayne A. Wiegand Larry T. Nix Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Eager Free Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center campaign library memorabilia Library celebrations Anniversaries Pinback buttons Dianne McAfee Hopkins library legislation Jerome P. Daniels Evansville Wisconsin Postcards National Bookmobile Day

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo