Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Matthew S. Dudgeon

The First Books-By-Mail Program in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 01, 2016
in WLA 125
stamp-us-parcel-72Parcel post, the delivery of packages through the mail, began in the United States on January 1, 1913.  Libraries had long lobbied for a special rate for library materials sent through the mail, and in 1914 the postmaster general authorized the shipment of books at the parcel post rate. This decision opened up significant possibilities for library service to geographically remote populations.  One of the first librarians to realize the potential of parcel post and library service was Matthew S. Dudgeon, the Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC). Under Dudgeon's leadership the WFLC began implementing a system in which any resident of the state could request a book from the major libraries in Madison including the University of Wisconsin Library and the State Historical Society Library. There was little red tape involved. All that was required was a letter requesting a book along with the postage. Under the new postal rates a book could be sent anywhere within a 150 mile radius of Madison for an average of six cents and for greater distances for eight cents. Implementation of this system was facilitated by the fact that the President of the University of Wisconsin and the Secretary of the Wisconsin Historical Society served on the WFLC board. An article about Dudgeon's parcel post system appeared in the December, 1915 issue of American Review of Reviews.


Popular Tags

Campaign Rusk County Community Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Marketing-Publicity cam J. D. Witter McMillan Memorial Library Clarence Brown Lester Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Bookmobiles Beloit Public Library caly film Library e Hall 23 DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 library memorabilia Soughton Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Library Buildings State Law Library Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Cornelia Marving Pierce Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2014 Gilbert H. Doane Postcards 11 Special libraries Library People Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Bulletin campa WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2015 buil Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library American Library Association Library War Service Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2010 14 books-by-mail Bernard Schwab Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Brown Deer Public Library Campaign Katharine MacDonald Jones ca Council on Library and Network Development Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 James Duane Doty Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings James Huff Stout Campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Middleton Public Library Public libraries campaign Black River Falls Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Lutie Stearns Edward Asahel Birge campaign WWI Library War Service Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Free Library Commission COLAND library education Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Academic Libraries World War I Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 21 WHCLIS background Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Black River Falls Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Meter mail slogans presentations Buttons Delia Ovitz Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Historical Society Peter G. Hamon Brown County Library Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2015 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Library Association Carl Spitzweg Hall of Fame 2012 27 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Woman's Congress Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2009 I Love Libraries Academic Librarians Marjorie Sornson Malmberg anniversaries Ripon Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Inform Wisconsin Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library Trustees William J. Wilson UW-Madison school of library and information studies Historical Register Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 20 Orrilla Blackshear Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 24 Library people Hall of Fame 2008 Milwaukee Public Library library exhibit Uncategorized School libraries Library History Carnegie libraries caly film Dianne McAfee Hopkins Postcards caly film traveling libraries Dorothea M. Krause archives Wayne A. Wiegand UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Appleton Public Library library legislation bed and breakfast 28 Anniversaries Milwaukee Art Museum Pinback buttons Klaus Linderfelt Beaver Dam Public Library Ice Storm Madison Public Library Irene W. Newman Centennial 10 Library Buidlings Parcel post CCBC Postcards John Miller Chancellor state historical society Exhibits Brown Deer Public Library Hartford Public Library National Library Week Anniversaries Portage Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center hall of Pewaukee Public Library Library Systems Digital Collections Tower Hill Wisconsin Public libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Clinton Public Library S. Janice Kee Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2013 T. B. Scott Free Public Library bookworm Hall fo Fame 2012 Publications membership libraries Library people Postcards Suring Area Public Library WLA 125 American Library Association 22 trav Larry T. Nix Nolan I. Neds Amer WLA 125 Ruth Ann Montgomery Increase A. Lapham Elroy Public Library National Bookmobile Day Gerald A. Somers Cam Hall of Fame 2012 Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Events & Meetings campaign WAAL Zona Gale People Oshkosh Public Library Public library systems Jane K. Billings Events

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo