Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Lutie Stearns

Library Legislative Day 1895

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, February 02, 2016
in WLA 125

WLA's Library Legislative Day for 2016 will occur next week on February 9th. Library legislation like everything else connected to Wisconsin libraries also has a heritage. In his 1966 history of the Wisconsin Library Association Benton H. Wilcox wrote about WLA's first legislative victory. Lutie Stearns attended the American Library Association meeting in Lake Placid New York in 1894 where she was introduced to the idea of a state library commission. Stearns brought back copies of legislation establishing such commissions in New Hampshire and Massachuttes and was enthusiastic about establishing such a commission in Wisconsin. Wisconsin's first library legislative champion Senator James Huff Stout introduced the necessary legislation early in the 1895 legislative session. According to Wilcox this legislation was the principal subject of discussion at WLA's conference in Madison on February 13 and 14, 1895. At that conference, WLA enorsed the legislation and appointed a committee to work for its enactment.  Wilcox writes: "The legislature was less than enthusiastic but by holding the requested appropriation to only $500 per annum for expenses, Senator Stout was able to bring it through, and it became law late in April, 1895. The Association had achieved its first notable victory." So WLA has been involved in library legislation for 121 years. The result of that early success was the creation of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission which is now the Division for Libraries and Technology. Both Stearns and Stout were inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008.

Information about this year's legislative day can be found HERE. An important feature of this year's legislative day will be the kickoff of WLA's 125th Anniversary Celebration in the rotunda of the State Capitol at 12:00 noon.


Recent comment in this post Show all comments
  • Larry Nix says #
    This is a test.


Popular Tags

Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug McMillan Memorial Library 21 Brown Deer Public Library library education School libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones 22 Library History Public library systems Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 27 Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Cooperative Children's Book Center membership libraries Marketing-Publicity Larry T. Nix Library People Academic Libraries People Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign State Law Library J. D. Witter Wisconsin Free Library Commission UW-Milwaukee Libraries S. Janice Kee Brown Deer Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Zona Gale Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Rapids Tower Hill Wisconsin Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Public libraries 14 Matthew S. Dudgeon Inform Wisconsin Library Trustees Library e library memorabilia Exhibits Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2008 bookworm Evansville Wisconsin WHCLIS books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Association library exhibit Increase A. Lapham Amer Elroy Public Library Ripon Public Library Jerome P. Daniels 28 Special libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Milwaukee Public Library 20 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Gilbert H. Doane American Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 Bookmobiles caly film Hall Nolan I. Neds Library Systems T. B. Scott Free Public Library buil Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers Buttons Capitol Fire 1904 WWI Library War Service Rusk County Community Library 10 CCBC campa traveling libraries Carnegie libraries Eager Free Public Library Library people Sandra Friedman Dolnick Sarah Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards White House Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 caly film Cam Publications campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Madison Public Library Charles Bunge Hall fo Fame 2012 11 John J. Jax Bernard Schwab Lowell W. Wilson Library Artifacts World War I Ice Storm Academic Librarians WAAL Klaus Linderfelt trav Soughton Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Orrilla Blackshear ca Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 Frank Avery Hutchins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Black River Falls Public Library Campaign Library Buidlings National Library Week Lutie Stearns Hartford Public Library Dorothea M. Krause DeForest Area Public Library state historical society Appleton Public Library Library Buildings WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Anniversaries Milwaukee Art Museum American Library Association Library War Service School of Library and Information Studies John Miller Chancellor Middleton Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce library legislation campaign Louise S. Robbins I Love Libraries campaign Wisconsin State Law Library Jane K. Billings WLA 125 Black River Falls Brown County Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Meter mail slogans Peter G. Hamon Portage Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Parcel post Events & Meetings James Duane Doty Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Beloit Public Library presentations Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library Library people Postcards 23 Events Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 National Bookmobile Day Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee James Huff Stout Anniversaries Gertrude Thurow Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 caly film 24 Public libraries Clarence Brown Lester Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library celebrations archives Digital Collections hall of Postcards Pinback buttons Carl Spitzweg Ruby Roeder Woman's Congress WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2017 William J. Wilson anniversaries Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Beaver Dam Public Library bed and breakfast Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings Historical Register background Wisconsin Free Library Commission cam COLAND Delia Ovitz Pewaukee Public Library Centennial UW-Madison school of library and information studies Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2014

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo