Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Subscribe to feed Viewing entries tagged Lowell W. Wilson

Lowell W. Wilson, 2017 Library Hall of Fame Inductee

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 17, 2017
in Hall of Fame
Lowell W. Wilson will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame at the Wisconsin Library Association annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells on October 19, 2017.  
l wilson-trustee-blog-72Lowell W. Wilson (1916-2015) contributed to advancing library service in Wisconsin as a library professional and library trustee for nearly 70 years. He was instrumental in forming statewide professional organizations for audio-visual professionals and served as president of the Wisconsin Audio-Visual Association from 1973-1976. In 1975, Lowell became active in WLA as a member of the division for trustees, chairing the group in 1991.  He remained an active member of WLA and other organizations until the end of his life.  He also served as a trustee of the Lakeshores Library System for nearly 30 years.   Wilson was selected as the 2007 WLA Library Trustee of the Year.  Around the same time, the Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association (WEMTA) established the Lowell Wilson Scholarship for individuals wishing to pursue certification as a Library Media or Instructional Technology Specialist.
As a library trustee, Wilson was constantly learning and encouraging other trustees to participate in library association conferences and leadership opportunities. He has attended most, if not all, Library Legislative Days in Madison, and took his advocacy responsibilities very seriously. He was a consistent protector of intellectual freedom, adamantly opposed censorship and Internet filtering, while defending a library patron’s right to privacy and freedom of access to information.  He was described as a man in motion, always going forward.
Wilson retired in 1980 from the Janesville School District where he had taught Physics and was the Library Media Coordinator. In addition to his membership in professional organizations, Wilson was a pilot and member of the Experimental Aircraft Association. He was born in Union Grove on Nov. 11, 1916, and died at his home in Whitewater on June 30, 2015 at the age of 98.


Popular Tags

Ruth Ann Montgomery Eager Free Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Milwaukee Public Library 28 library memorabilia Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2016 Hall fo Fame 2012 Postcards John Miller Chancellor presentations Wisconsin Library Bulletin Special libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Larry T. Nix Anniversaries Postcards Library Buidlings Sandra Friedman Dolnick Richard E. Krug Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Anniversaries Black River Falls Buttons Brown Deer Public Library campaign Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign Ice Storm Gilbert H. Doane Wilbur Lyle Eberhart COLAND caly film Library People Lutie Stearns Soughton Public Library Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Meter mail slogans Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Historical Society Public libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Lutie Eugenia Stearns 21 24 Milwaukee Art Museum Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library History caly film Hall of Fame 2008 campa Hall of Fame 2009 McMillan Memorial Library Carnegie libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon Cooperative Children's Book Center Charles Bunge Gertrude Thurow School libraries Pewaukee Public Library WHCLIS Eratus Swift Wilcox Portage Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee American Library Association Library War Service Cam Library Buildings Events & Meetings 11 CCBC Louise S. Robbins Manitowoc Public Library Library people Rusk County Community Library membership libraries Ripon Public Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 Centennial cam Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries trav Campaign Jane K. Billings Gerald A. Somers Public library systems Hall of Fame 2017 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Jerome P. Daniels traveling libraries S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2015 Hall Edward Asahel Birge Uncategorized library legislation Bernard Schwab Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends World War I State Law Library caly film DeForest Area Public Library James Huff Stout 14 Public libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Beloit Public Library hall of Wisconsin Free Library Commission Clarence Brown Lester Oshkosh Public Library ca Elroy Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Bookmobile Day Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Library Systems Campaign Frank Avery Hutchins WWI Library War Service state historical society People William J. Wilson WLA 125 buil Wisconsin Free Library Commission WAAL American Library Association I Love Libraries James Duane Doty Wisconsin Rapids Sarah Janice Kee Black River Falls Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Evansville Wisconsin White House Conference on Library and Information Services Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2012 Academic Librarians 23 background 27 library exhibit Appleton Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wisconsin Library Association Clinton Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Capitol Fire 1904 campaign Middleton Public Library WLA 125 bed and breakfast archives Zona Gale Inform Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012 Library celebrations Orrilla Blackshear Academic Libraries Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2011 Parcel post School of Library and Information Studies 10 anniversaries Wisconsin State Law Library Madison Public Library Irene W. Newman Delia Ovitz Peter G. Hamon library education books-by-mail Publications J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2013 Exhibits Brown County Library Library Trustees campaign Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Woman's Congress John J. Jax Dorothea M. Krause Pinback buttons National Library Week Library Artifacts Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruby Roeder Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Marketing-Publicity Amer 22 Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Events Historical Register 20 bookworm Bookmobiles WLA 125 Library e Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings Carl Spitzweg

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo